You are not logged in.

#1 2013-10-09 11:58:52

marcus-aurelius
Member
Registered: 2013-10-09
Posts: 2

Move from chromium to firefox

Hello everybody,

I want to move my data from Chromium to Firefox on Arch Linux. Unfortunatley if I launch Firefox and try to import the data with the import assistant in the bookmarks manager the program tells me that it is not able to find any other webbrowser which is perfectly wrong. Both are installed. Any ideas what's wrong?

Perhaps I have to move/rename some folder of Chromium so that Firefox does recognize everything I want?

Thank you in advance

Offline

#2 2013-10-09 12:04:47

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,427

Re: Move from chromium to firefox

Have you tried exporting your bookmarks to html file and importing that file to firefox?

Offline

#3 2013-10-09 16:08:12

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Move from chromium to firefox

I think it might help to try to figure out what it is that Firefox is actually looking for in its search for "any other webbrowser".  I am not a Firfox user, nor am I a Chromium user, so I cannot really help in that regard. 

But I do think that karol's idea of simply exporting the bookmarks to a file seem the most sane to me.

Offline

#4 2013-10-09 16:42:54

vik_k
Member
From: Pune, India
Registered: 2009-07-12
Posts: 227
Website

Re: Move from chromium to firefox

out of curiousity, WonderWoofy which one do you use ?


"First learn computer science and all the theory. Next develop a programming style. Then forget all that and just hack." ~ George Carrette

Offline

#5 2013-10-09 16:46:15

cris9288
Member
Registered: 2013-01-07
Posts: 347

Re: Move from chromium to firefox

That solution worked for me before. Have chromium export your bookmarks as an HTML file and have firefox import that file. Worked out fine for me.

Offline

#6 2013-10-09 16:58:07

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Move from chromium to firefox

Offline

#7 2013-10-09 18:57:22

marcus-aurelius
Member
Registered: 2013-10-09
Posts: 2

Re: Move from chromium to firefox

I already know of the export to and import from html solution. Of course that would work. But that wouldn't help for passwords, and – especially – not for history. Therefore I would prefer to use the described function.

I think that's a bug that it doesn't work. But from the arch-package or from firefox directly? Is there really nobody who wanted to switch from one browser to the other?

Last edited by marcus-aurelius (2013-10-09 19:01:35)

Offline

#8 2013-10-09 18:59:54

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Move from chromium to firefox

I think it might be a bit premature to call it a bug.  Again, you should try to figure out what it is that Firefox is looking for in identifying an additional browser.  If, for instance, it is looking for a .desktop file, and chromium has one, then that would likely be a bug.  But I really have no idea what it would actually be looking for.

Offline

#9 2013-10-10 01:57:57

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,661

Re: Move from chromium to firefox

Mozilla's site only mentions being able to do this for IE and Chrome. Are you sure Chromium is supported?


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#10 2013-10-10 03:29:28

ANOKNUSA
Member
Registered: 2010-10-22
Posts: 2,141

Re: Move from chromium to firefox

I'd hardly consider it a flaw that you have to punch your password in one more time.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB