You are not logged in.

#1 2013-09-06 08:33:19

rezahousseini
Member
Registered: 2013-09-06
Posts: 17

YADE installation

Hello everyone

I'm trying to compile YADE on my Arch System. I wrote a PKGBUILD file:

pkgname=yade
pkgver=0.70.0
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="Extensible open-source framework for discrete numerical models, focused on Discrete Element Method. The computation parts are written in c++ using flexible object model, allowing independent implementation of new algorithms and interfaces. Python is used for rapid and concise scene construction, simulation control, postprocessing and debugging."
arch=('any')
url='https://yade-dem.org'
license=('GPLv2')
depends=('freeglut' 'loki-lib' 'boost' 'fakeroot' 'python' 'ipython' 'python-matplotlib'
         'sqlite'
         'python-numpy' 'tk' 'gnuplot' 'gts' 'pygts' 'python-pygraphviz' 'vtk' 'eigen3'
         'python-xlib' 'python-pyqt4' 'gtk-engines' 'qt4' 'python-imaging'
         'python-sphinx' 'libxmu' 'libxi' 'gmp' 'cgal' 'help2man'
         'suitesparse' 'metis' 'openblas')
makedepends=('cmake')
optdepends=('jquery: javascript library for documentation'
            'python-bibtex: parsing bibtex with python for documentation')
source=('git://github.com/yade/trunk.git')
sha1sums=('SKIP')

build() {
	mkdir -p build
	cd build
	cmake ../trunk \
		-DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release \
		-DCHUNKSIZE=2
}

package() {
	cd build
	make DESTDIR="$pkgdir" install
}

But their are certain problems with the Cmake build:

-- Found Qt4: /usr/bin/qmake-qt4 (found version "4.8.5") 
-- Version is set to 2013-09-04.git-dfb9745
-- GTS using gts-config /usr/bin/gts-config
-- Using GTS from /usr
-- Boost version: 1.54.0
-- Found the following Boost libraries:
--   python
--   thread
--   date_time
--   filesystem
--   iostreams
--   regex
--   serialization
--   Boost_VERSION: 105400
--   Boost_LIB_VERSION: 1_54
--   Boost_INCLUDE_DIRS: /usr/include
--   Boost_LIBRARIES: /usr/lib64/libboost_python.so/usr/lib64/libboost_thread.so/usr/lib64/libboost_date_time.so/usr/lib64/libboost_filesystem.so/usr/lib64/libboost_iostreams.so/usr/lib64/libboost_regex.so/usr/lib64/libboost_serialization.so
-- Found Eigen3
-- Found VTK
-- Found OpenMP
-- GTS using gts-config /usr/bin/gts-config
-- Using GTS from /usr
-- Found GTS
-- Found Qt4: /usr/bin/qmake-qt4 (found version "4.8.5") 
-- GUI-LIBS NOT found
-- GMP libs: /usr/lib64/libgmp.so /usr/lib64/libgmpxx.so
-- GMP libs: /usr/lib64/libgmp.so /usr/lib64/libgmpxx.so
-- Found CGAL
-- Could NOT find OpenBlas (missing:  OPENBLAS_LIBRARY) 
-- CHOLMOD NOT found, LINSOLV disabled
-- Found GL2PS
Yade will be installed to default path /usr/local, if you want to override it use -DINSTALL_PREFIX option.
-- Suffix is set to -2013-09-04.git-dfb9745
-- LIBRARY_OUTPUT_PATH is set to lib64
-- runtimePREFIX is set to /usr/local
-- Could NOT find gts (missing:  PY_gts) 
-- Use embedded version of gts. Please, consider installing the corresponding package
-- Could NOT find minieigen (missing:  PY_minieigen) 
-- Use embedded version of minieigen. Please, consider installing the corresponding package
CMake Error at /usr/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:108 (message):
  Could NOT find Tkinter (missing: PY_Tkinter)
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  /usr/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:315 (_FPHSA_FAILURE_MESSAGE)
  cMake/FindPythonModule.cmake:22 (FIND_PACKAGE_HANDLE_STANDARD_ARGS)
  CMakeLists.txt:354 (find_python_module)


-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!

What is the problem with PY_Tkinter why does Cmake not find the installation. Also gts is not found altought it is installed.

Thanks for any advice

Cheers reza

Offline

#2 2013-09-06 12:31:03

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 11,866

Re: YADE installation

It looks like YADE has trouble finding the correct python bindings, this is often caused by a program requiring python 2.x , while dependencies are python 3 versions.


The pkgbuild for pygts specifically uses python2 , althought it has python-numpy as a dependency, which is the python3 version !

The https://yade-dem.org/doc/installation.html doesn't list which python version is used, best check with the YADE devs which python version they require.

Some comments about the pkgbuild :

You're creating a git package , check the VCS PKGBUILD guidelines in the wiki.

/usr/local is normally not used on archlinux, adding -DINSTALL_PREFIX=/usr   to the cmake line will correct this.


Added :
LIBRARY_OUTPUT_PATH: path to install libraries (lib by default)

Seems you also should use -DLIBRARY_OUTPUT_PATH=/usr/lib

Last edited by Lone_Wolf (2013-09-06 12:33:34)


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.


(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#3 2013-09-09 06:34:04

rezahousseini
Member
Registered: 2013-09-06
Posts: 17

Re: YADE installation

Thanks Lone_Wolf for the tipps!

I checked and they are using python2.x version. The problem is now I have both 2.x and 3 installed. How do I tell to only use python2.x?

Offline

#4 2013-09-12 22:13:48

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 11,866

Re: YADE installation

The YADE source doesn't seem to mention python2 or python3 at all.

However, cmake uses 2 functions to find python stuff, FindPythonInterp.cmake and FindPythonLibs.cmake (both are located in /usr/share/cmake-2.8/Modules  ).

In the sourcecode of FindPythonLibs.cmake  there are these lines :

# If you'd like to specify the installation of Python to use, you should modify
# the following cache variables:
#  PYTHON_LIBRARY             - path to the python library
#  PYTHON_INCLUDE_DIR         - path to where Python.h is found

adding DPYTHON_LIBRARY=/usr/bin/python2.7 and DPYTHON_INCLUDE_DIR=/usr/include/python2.7 might work.


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.


(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#5 2013-10-12 00:49:02

jqvillanova
Member
From: Madrid, Spain
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 17

Re: YADE installation

For me it doesn't build, and i have loki-libs installed (from aur) , also i can't i can't find loki-libs files even with GNU find as root...




-   Boost_VERSION: 105400
--   Boost_LIB_VERSION: 1_54
--   Boost_INCLUDE_DIRS: /usr/include
--   Boost_LIBRARIES: /usr/lib64/libboost_python.so/usr/lib64/libboost_thread.so/usr/lib64/libboost_date_time.so/usr/lib64/libboost_filesystem.so/usr/lib64/libboost_iostreams.so/usr/lib64/libboost_regex.so/usr/lib64/libboost_serialization.so/usr/lib64/libboost_system.so
CMake Error at /usr/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:108 (message):
  Could NOT find Loki (missing: LOKI_INCLUDE_DIR LOKI_LIBRARY)
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  /usr/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:315 (_FPHSA_FAILURE_MESSAGE)
  cMake/FindLoki.cmake:14 (FIND_PACKAGE_HANDLE_STANDARD_ARGS)
  CMakeLists.txt:78 (FIND_PACKAGE)


-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
See also "/home/joaquin/yade/src/build/CMakeFiles/CMakeOutput.log".
See also "/home/joaquin/yade/src/build/CMakeFiles/CMakeError.log".

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB