You are not logged in.

#1 2006-01-06 14:45:27

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,293
Website

Mounting points in Arch?

I am making a config (Fvwm) to mount different devices. I found a sample config in Fvwm Forums, but I am not sure what device mounting points are applicable in Arch.
http://fvwm.lair.be/viewtopic.php?t=527

I know how to mount cdrom (/dev/cdrom), floppy (/dev/fd0) and thumb drive (/dev/sda1), but not the other devices. If they apply in Arch, how do you mount them? Also fstab seems to be better than mtab.
Partial copy of the config:

#!/bin/bash

floppy=`grep -c floppy < /etc/mtab`
cdrom=`grep -c cdrom < /etc/mtab`
mp3player=`grep -c mp3player < /etc/mtab`
digital_camera=`grep -c digital_camera < /etc/mtab`
removable=`grep -c removable < /etc/mtab`
doc=`grep -c doc < /etc/mtab`
multimedia=`grep -c multimedia < /etc/mtab`
sounds=`grep -c sounds < /etc/mtab`

Markku

Offline

#2 2006-01-06 16:03:38

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Mounting points in Arch?

Your best bet is to read the fstab and generate the device list from that. Hard coded lists of devices that you have to maintain is just plain stupid, especially when that is the purpose of fstab in the first place!

Dusty

Offline

#3 2006-01-07 02:37:16

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,293
Website

Re: Mounting points in Arch?

Dusty wrote:

Hard coded lists of devices that you have to maintain is just plain stupid, especially when that is the purpose of fstab in the first place!

Fstab doesn't mount a device if the hardware is not plugged in at booting e.g. CD in cdrom or thumb drive in USB port. Do you have an advice how to do?


Markku

Offline

#4 2006-01-07 03:06:56

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Mounting points in Arch?

rasat wrote:

CD in cdrom or thumb drive in USB port. Or do you have an advice how to do?

note I said fstab, not mtab. Both my CDROM and my USB drive are listed in fstab:

/dev/hda     /mnt/cd   auto      ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
/dev/sdc1       /mnt/palm       vfat    user,noauto     0       0

So what I was suggesting was rather than trying to 'guess' which devices might be plugged in from some hardcoded list of devices you might include in your code, read the fstab file to grab the above lines. Perhaps everything with a 'noauto' in it is something you would want to look for.

Unfortunately, even this might not be enough for all devices, since new automounting stuff may or may not use fstab entries (I have no idea one way or the other).

HTH,
Dusty

Offline

#5 2006-01-07 07:50:54

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,293
Website

Re: Mounting points in Arch?

Dusty wrote:

.. read the fstab file to grab the above lines. Perhaps everything with a 'noauto' in it is something you would want to look for.

I was also thinking in this line using fstab when noticing mtab is not the place. Thanks for confirming. I will study how fstab works.

EDIT:
Using fstab was an exellant solution. First time in my "linux history" got a mounting what works.  8) ... first click mount, second umount with "<b>mount $0 || umount $0</b>".

Partial copy of the startup script: "MountMenu-Functions"

# First a mount/unmount function
# used in the file MenuMount generated by Mount.sh
DestroyFunc ToggleMount
AddToFunc ToggleMount
+ I PipeRead 'mount $0 || umount $0'
+ I Exec exec $[USERDIR]/etc/rc.s/MountMenu.sh
+ I Read $[USERDIR]/tmp/MenuMount

MountMenu.conf (for user configure)

#Config:MountMenu.conf
#

floppy=`grep -c fl < /etc/fstab`
cdrom=`grep -c cd < /etc/fstab`
dvd=`grep -c dvd < /etc/fstab`
removable=`grep -c sda < /etc/fstab`
multimedia=`grep -c sdc < /etc/fstab`
mp3player=`grep -c mp3 < /etc/fstab`
digital_camera=`grep -c digital < /etc/fstab`
document=`grep -c doc < /etc/fstab`

Mountmenu.sh (the engine)

#!/bin/bash
# Scripts:Mountmenu.sh
# Original from Fvwm Forums by bricem13
# URL: http://fvwm.lair.be/viewtopic.php?t=527
# Edited by Rasat <rasat@user-contributions.org>
# Date: 7-Jan-2006
#

. $HOME/.fvwm/archwd-user/etc/conf.d/MountMenu.conf

TMP="$HOME/.fvwm/archwd-user/tmp"

[ -e $TMP/MenuMount ] && rm  $TMP/MenuMount

case $floppy in
   1)
   echo '+ "Floppy"   Function ToggleMount /mnt/fl*' >> $TMP/MenuMount
   ;;
esac

case $cdrom in
   1)
   echo '+ "Cdrom"   Function ToggleMount /mnt/cd*' >> $TMP/MenuMount
   ;;
esac

case $dvd in
   1)
   echo '+ "Dvd"   Function ToggleMount /mnt/dvd' >> $TMP/MenuMount
   ;;
esac

case $removable in
   1)
   echo '+ "Removable"   Function ToggleMount /mnt/usb' >> $TMP/MenuMount
   ;;
esac

case $multimedia in
   1)
   echo '+ "Multimedia"   Function ToggleMount /mnt/multi*' >> $TMP/MenuMount
   ;;
esac

case $mp3player in
   1)
   echo '+ "Mp3player"   Function ToggleMount /mnt/mp3*' >> $TMP/MenuMount
   ;;
esac

case $digital_camera in
   1)
   echo '+ "Digital camera"   Function ToggleMount /mnt/digital*' >> $TMP/MenuMount
   ;;
esac

case $document in
   1)
   echo '+ "Document"   Function ToggleMount /mnt/doc*' >> $TMP/MenuMount
   ;;
esac

Markku

Offline

#6 2006-01-07 09:20:43

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,293
Website

Re: Mounting points in Arch?

mountmenu.jpg


Markku

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB