You are not logged in.

#1 2013-10-15 03:35:12

hexadecagram
Member
Registered: 2011-05-20
Posts: 23

Wacom Intuos Pro aka Intuos 5 kernel module not loading

Just got one of these and kernel module is not loading under kernel 3.11.2-1-ARCH.

% lsusb | grep -i wacom
Bus 004 Device 003: ID 056a:0315 Wacom Co., Ltd
% grep -i wacom /proc/bus/input/devices
% xsetwacom --list devices
% pacman -Qqs wacom
libwacom
wacom-drivers
wacom-udev
wacom-utility
xf86-input-wacom

Any thoughts?

Offline

#2 2013-10-15 12:46:03

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: Wacom Intuos Pro aka Intuos 5 kernel module not loading

Please update your system, reboot and try again.

Offline

#3 2013-10-16 05:25:56

hexadecagram
Member
Registered: 2011-05-20
Posts: 23

Re: Wacom Intuos Pro aka Intuos 5 kernel module not loading

Thanks, but no luck.

% uname -a
Linux ares 3.11.5-1-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Oct 14 08:31:43 CEST 2013 x86_64 GNU/Linux
% lsmod | grep -i wacom
%

Manually loading the module works now (it didn't before):

% sudo modprobe wacom
% lsmod | grep -i wacom
wacom                  47875  0 
usbcore               178119  11 btusb,wacom,usb_storage,usbserial,ehci_hcd,ehci_pci,pl2303,usbhid,ftdi_sio,xhci_hcd
%

Adding it to /etc/modules-load.d/wacom.conf and rebooting still fails to get it functioning under X, however:

% echo wacom | sudo tee /etc/modules-load.d/wacom.conf > /dev/null
% sudo shutdown -r now
% lsmod | grep -i wacom
wacom                  47875  0 
usbcore               178119  11 btusb,wacom,usb_storage,usbserial,ehci_hcd,ehci_pci,pl2303,usbhid,ftdi_sio,xhci_hcd
% xsetwacom --list devices
%

I have installed xf86-input-wacom-git as prescribed in the ArchWiki, rebooted, and still nothing.

Last edited by hexadecagram (2013-10-16 06:04:07)

Offline

#4 2013-10-16 05:45:24

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,415

Re: Wacom Intuos Pro aka Intuos 5 kernel module not loading

And what is the output of pacman -Qi linux
???


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Online

#5 2013-10-16 06:05:11

hexadecagram
Member
Registered: 2011-05-20
Posts: 23

Re: Wacom Intuos Pro aka Intuos 5 kernel module not loading

ewaller wrote:

And what is the output of pacman -Qi linux
???

% pacman -Qi linux
Name           : linux
Version        : 3.11.5-1
Description    : The Linux kernel and modules
Architecture   : x86_64
URL            : http://www.kernel.org/
Licenses       : GPL2
Groups         : base
Provides       : kernel26=3.11.5
Depends On     : coreutils  linux-firmware  kmod  mkinitcpio>=0.7
Optional Deps  : crda: to set the correct wireless channels of your country
                 [installed]
Required By    : virtualbox-host-modules
Optional For   : None
Conflicts With : kernel26
Replaces       : kernel26
Installed Size : 67081.00 KiB
Packager       : Tobias Powalowski <tpowa@archlinux.org>
Build Date     : Mon 14 Oct 2013 12:33:38 AM MDT
Install Date   : Tue 15 Oct 2013 10:54:31 PM MDT
Install Reason : Explicitly installed
Install Script : Yes
Validated By   : Signature

Offline

#6 2013-10-16 09:08:05

Giniu
Trusted User (TU)
From: Wrocław/Poland
Registered: 2007-04-02
Posts: 61
Website

Re: Wacom Intuos Pro aka Intuos 5 kernel module not loading

hexadecagram wrote:

Just got one of these and kernel module is not loading under kernel 3.11.2-1-ARCH.

Are you sure it should work? If you check linuxwacom-announce mailing list, you will see that for your device (Intuos Pro):

- X11 support is added by xf86-input-wacom 0.23.0
- configuration support is added in libwacom 0.8
- kernel support is added in input-wacom 0.19 but isn't in mainline kernel yet - on 28'th Spet Jason said: "We don't yet have support for the  new "Intuos" line, but we expect our next release in six weeks' time to include it."

I'd say you have to wait for newer kernel, or try installing input-wacom on your own risk (different thing from xf86-input-wacom). Patch for mainline kernel reached Dmitry Torokhov's input tree - but isn't merged with official kernel yet, even 3.12rc5 still does not have those patches.


My GPG fingerprint: 7170 26A9 D477 9FC5 3940  7266 40F5 57B7 3149 6106

Offline

#7 2013-10-20 02:57:20

hexadecagram
Member
Registered: 2011-05-20
Posts: 23

Re: Wacom Intuos Pro aka Intuos 5 kernel module not loading

Thanks for responding, Giniu. No I wasn't sure it should work, but I'm pressed for time at the moment so I couldn't look too deeply into it. Thanks for putting forth the effort.

I think you're right, I'm going to have to wait it out. I may give patching a spin if I get the time but I think it will likely be merged before I get the opportunity.

Offline

#8 2013-10-23 05:53:43

demizer
Member
From: Santa Clara
Registered: 2010-03-03
Posts: 109
Website

Re: Wacom Intuos Pro aka Intuos 5 kernel module not loading

If you previously compiled and installed wacom-next-linux-git, it will have to be rebuilt on each successive kernel update. Kernel modules are compiled to target the version of the kernel they are built against. Once the updated kernel modules are installed, remove the old version with "rmmod wacom" and the use "modprobe wacom" to load the new module. Then all you have to do is reconnect the tablet and you should then get output from "xsetwacom --list devices".

Last edited by demizer (2013-10-23 05:56:22)

Offline

#9 2013-10-23 06:59:41

hexadecagram
Member
Registered: 2011-05-20
Posts: 23

Re: Wacom Intuos Pro aka Intuos 5 kernel module not loading

demizer wrote:

If you previously compiled and installed wacom-next-linux-git

I have not. Please also note my comments here:

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/waco … linux-git/

Last edited by hexadecagram (2013-10-23 07:00:50)

Offline

#10 2013-10-23 20:12:06

Giniu
Trusted User (TU)
From: Wrocław/Poland
Registered: 2007-04-02
Posts: 61
Website

Re: Wacom Intuos Pro aka Intuos 5 kernel module not loading

wacom-next-linux-git is very old, it had almost no users and was broken very often, so I've left it. Anyway, even if it worked, it won't solve your issue. I've checked what is in next line, and those patches aren't merged yet. It means your best bet is following this guide: input-wacom install guide. Sorry, but it isn't packaged in AUR afaik, but I cannot say I've searched carefully, just glanced trough search results.


My GPG fingerprint: 7170 26A9 D477 9FC5 3940  7266 40F5 57B7 3149 6106

Offline

#11 2013-10-24 02:11:34

hexadecagram
Member
Registered: 2011-05-20
Posts: 23

Re: Wacom Intuos Pro aka Intuos 5 kernel module not loading

Thanks for the information and the pointers. As I mentioned I'm swamped right now, but if I get a moment I'll take a stab at patching if it doesn't get merged first.

Last edited by hexadecagram (2013-10-24 02:11:51)

Offline

#12 2013-12-06 21:39:46

apicici
Member
Registered: 2013-09-17
Posts: 4

Re: Wacom Intuos Pro aka Intuos 5 kernel module not loading

Giniu wrote:

wacom-next-linux-git is very old, it had almost no users and was broken very often, so I've left it. Anyway, even if it worked, it won't solve your issue. I've checked what is in next line, and those patches aren't merged yet. It means your best bet is following this guide: input-wacom install guide. Sorry, but it isn't packaged in AUR afaik, but I cannot say I've searched carefully, just glanced trough search results.

I had the same problem, and Giniu's suggestion worked perfectly. Compiling the module(s) is really easy, but I was getting tired of doing it at each kernel update, so I packaged a DKMS version of input-wacom on AUR:

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/input-wacom-dkms/

Offline

#13 2014-01-10 03:59:01

hexadecagram
Member
Registered: 2011-05-20
Posts: 23

Re: Wacom Intuos Pro aka Intuos 5 kernel module not loading

apicici wrote:

I packaged a DKMS version of input-wacom on AUR

Thanks for doing that.

I'm currently doing the following in order to get them to work:

% cd /usr/lib/modules/$(uname -r)/kernel/drivers/input/tablet
% sudo mv wacom.ko.gz wacom.ko.gz.old
% gzip -c wacom.ko | sudo tee wacom.ko.gz > /dev/null
% cd ../touchscreen
% sudo mv wacom_w8001.ko.gz wacom_w8001.ko.gz.old
% gzip -c wacom_w8001.ko | sudo tee wacom_w8001.ko.gz > /dev/null
% sudo modprobe wacom
% sudo modprobe wacom_w8001
% xsetwacom --list devices
Wacom Intuos Pro M Pen stylus           id: 15  type: STYLUS    
Wacom Intuos Pro M Pen eraser           id: 16  type: ERASER    
Wacom Intuos Pro M Pen cursor           id: 17  type: CURSOR    
Wacom Intuos Pro M Pen pad              id: 18  type: PAD       
Wacom Intuos Pro M Finger touch         id: 19  type: TOUCH     

Is there a more appropriate way of ensuring that the modules from input-wacom-dkms are installed and loaded on boot rather than the ones that ship with the kernel with each upgrade?

Last edited by hexadecagram (2014-01-10 04:08:26)

Offline

#14 2014-02-24 15:06:30

apicici
Member
Registered: 2013-09-17
Posts: 4

Re: Wacom Intuos Pro aka Intuos 5 kernel module not loading

hexadecagram wrote:

Is there a more appropriate way of ensuring that the modules from input-wacom-dkms are installed and loaded on boot rather than the ones that ship with the kernel with each upgrade?

Sorry for the really late answer. Installing automatically on each upgrade is exactly what I created the package for! You need to have the dkms service enabled to automatically build and install on boot. Check the DKMS page on the wiki for more information.

EDIT: By the way, it seems that the latest input-wacom was merged upstream in kernel 13.5, as my Intuos pro is working now.

Last edited by apicici (2014-02-24 16:09:08)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB