You are not logged in.

#1 2013-10-17 15:48:36

codesplice
Member
Registered: 2013-10-17
Posts: 3

ALC665 No Sound Through Speakers, Works With Headphones

My laptop is a Dell/Alienware M11X (R1), and I'm having one hell of a time getting any audio despite the Wiki entry which states that the sound should work out of the box.  I've gone through the ALSA wiki entry to no avail, and I've also done quite a bit of searching both here and elsewhere around the Internet.  The few threads I've found that seem to describe my exact issue don't appear to have a resolution.

Note: the issue *is* with a laptop but it also seems to be Kernel/Hardware-related, and though I'm new to Arch I'm not new to Linux.  Apologies if I've dropped this thread in the wrong spot.

(hopefully) Relevant Information:

jbowdre@GryHvns ~ $ uname -a
Linux GryHvns 3.11.5-1-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Oct 14 08:31:43 CEST 2013 x86_64 GNU/Linux
jbowdre@GryHvns ~ $ lspci | grep -i audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
01:00.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation High Definition Audio Controller (rev a1)
jbowdre@GryHvns ~ $ dmesg | grep -i hda
[  +0.056296] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1b.0: irq 45 for MSI/MSI-X
[  +0.020074] hda_codec: ALC665: SKU not ready 0x598301f0
[  +0.002084] input: HDA Digital PCBeep as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/input/input8
[  +0.000316] input: HDA Intel Headphone as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/sound/card0/input9
[  +0.000060] input: HDA Intel Headphone as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/sound/card0/input10
[  +0.000053] input: HDA Intel Mic as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/sound/card0/input11
[  +0.000555] hda_intel: Disabling MSI
[  +0.000012] hda-intel 0000:01:00.1: Handle VGA-switcheroo audio client
[  +0.083366] input: HDA NVidia HDMI/DP,pcm=9 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.1/sound/card1/input15
[  +0.000144] input: HDA NVidia HDMI/DP,pcm=8 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.1/sound/card1/input16
[  +0.000098] input: HDA NVidia HDMI/DP,pcm=7 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.1/sound/card1/input17
[  +0.000097] input: HDA NVidia HDMI/DP,pcm=3 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.1/sound/card1/input18
jbowdre@GryHvns ~ $ cat /proc/asound/cards
 0 [Intel          ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
                      HDA Intel at 0xf1600000 irq 45
 1 [NVidia         ]: HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
                      HDA NVidia at 0xf1000000 irq 17
jbowdre@GryHvns ~ $ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC665 Analog [ALC665 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
jbowdre@GryHvns ~ $ head /proc/asound/card0/codec#0
Codec: Realtek ALC665
Address: 0
AFG Function Id: 0x1 (unsol 1)
Vendor Id: 0x10ec0665
Subsystem Id: 0x10280443
Revision Id: 0x100003
No Modem Function Group found
Default PCM:
    rates [0x560]: 44100 48000 96000 192000
    bits [0xe]: 16 20 24
jbowdre@GryHvns ~ $ lsmod | grep '^snd' | column -t
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     30616   4
snd_hda_codec_realtek  37032   1
snd_hda_intel          36520   7
snd_hda_codec          148129  3   snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep              6332    1   snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                77765   3   snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
snd_page_alloc         7234    2   snd_pcm,snd_hda_intel
snd_timer              18718   1   snd_pcm
snd                    59141   21  snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hwdep,snd_timer,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_pcm,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel

I've tried reloading the snd_hda_intel module with different models enabled (3stack and a few others based upon best-guesses from this, but it doesn't seem to call out the ALC665 so I'm not exactly sure what to try) but haven't had much luck there either.

So far, nothing I have tried has yielded any sound output with speaker-test or any other audio source.

Any ideas?

Cheers,
John

Last edited by codesplice (2013-10-17 19:01:06)

Offline

#2 2013-10-17 17:18:17

dare023
Member
Registered: 2010-04-21
Posts: 62

Re: ALC665 No Sound Through Speakers, Works With Headphones

I also had same troubles and command "alsactl init" was solution, try it.
Not same card, but might work.

Last edited by dare023 (2013-10-17 17:20:35)

Offline

#3 2013-10-17 18:09:16

codesplice
Member
Registered: 2013-10-17
Posts: 3

Re: ALC665 No Sound Through Speakers, Works With Headphones

dare023 wrote:

I also had same troubles and command "alsactl init" was solution, try it.
Not same card, but might work.

Thanks for the suggestion.  I had tried that previously (as a part of the Troubleshooting portion of the ALSA wiki page), but I gave it another go just in case:

jbowdre@GryHvns ~ $ alsactl init                                                                                                                                   
Found hardware: "HDA-Intel" "Realtek ALC665" "HDA:10ec0665,10280443,00100003" "0x1028" "0x0443"
Hardware is initialized using a generic method
jbowdre@GryHvns ~ :( $ 

At any rate, no change either with speaker-test or any other audio sources.

Also, audio works through headphones, just not through the speakers.  Maybe it's not correctly detecting whether or not the jack is plugged? pavucontrol correctly swaps inputs based on whether or not the phones are in the jack, so that's not it.  Any other guesses?

Cheers,
John

Last edited by codesplice (2013-10-17 21:42:19)

Offline

#4 2013-10-17 21:58:48

codesplice
Member
Registered: 2013-10-17
Posts: 3

Re: ALC665 No Sound Through Speakers, Works With Headphones

I also ran the alsa-info.sh script; output can be found here.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB