You are not logged in.

#1 2013-10-27 08:20:17

CrazyTux
Member
Registered: 2013-08-23
Posts: 32

Failed to load session "cinnamon"

I just did a pacman -Syu, and it upgraded cinnamon to 2.0.6. When I restarted for something else, I got this error message while trying to log in. What happened? When I typed startx from the CLI, with 'exec cinnamon-session' in .xinitrc, I got the same thing.
I'm using GDM 3.10.0.1 and Cinnamon 2.0.6

Last edited by CrazyTux (2013-10-27 08:20:32)

Offline

#2 2013-10-27 08:26:53

mkdy
Member
Registered: 2013-10-07
Posts: 11

Re: Failed to load session "cinnamon"

same problem

Offline

#3 2013-10-27 09:06:10

messo8080
Member
Registered: 2013-10-25
Posts: 4

Re: Failed to load session "cinnamon"

same here.

Ittle info:
[2013-10-27 09:54] [PACMAN] upgraded cinnamon-desktop (2.0.1-1 -> 2.0.2-1)
[2013-10-27 09:54] [PACMAN] upgraded muffin (2.0.1-1 -> 2.0.3-1)
[2013-10-27 09:54] [PACMAN] upgraded cinnamon (2.0.2-2 -> 2.0.6-1)
[2013-10-27 09:54] [PACMAN] upgraded cinnamon-control-center (2.0.2-1 -> 2.0.5-1)
[2013-10-27 09:54] [PACMAN] upgraded cinnamon-screensaver (2.0.0-1 -> 2.0.3-1)
[2013-10-27 09:54] [PACMAN] upgraded nemo (2.0.0-2 -> 2.0.2-1)

Offline

#4 2013-10-27 09:09:49

CrazyTux
Member
Registered: 2013-08-23
Posts: 32

Re: Failed to load session "cinnamon"

Any way to stop that? Do you know if something has changed?

Offline

#5 2013-10-27 10:55:51

dif
Member
From: Stalowa Wola, Poland
Registered: 2009-12-22
Posts: 114

Re: Failed to load session "cinnamon"

As a temporary solution I have reinstalled to the previous version:

# pacman -U cinnamon-2.0.2-2-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz

from the /var/cache/pacman/pkg/ directory.
I did not reinstall the other cinnamon elements, and it worked.

I am not sure, but the environment feels a tiny fraction of a second slower now. Or maybe it is a false impression.

Offline

#6 2013-10-27 11:04:21

marc-andre
Member
From: Perpignan, France
Registered: 2013-01-11
Posts: 4
Website

Re: Failed to load session "cinnamon"

Same problem here.
Journalctl gives an error: Unable to find required component 'cinnamon-fallback-mount-helper', but nothing else.

Offline

#7 2013-10-27 11:07:41

marc-andre
Member
From: Perpignan, France
Registered: 2013-01-11
Posts: 4
Website

Re: Failed to load session "cinnamon"

dif wrote:

As a temporary solution I have reinstalled to the previous version:

# pacman -U cinnamon-2.0.2-2-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz

from the /var/cache/pacman/pkg/ directory.
I did not reinstall the other cinnamon elements, and it worked.

Thanks dif for that temporary fix suggestion.

Offline

#8 2013-10-27 11:18:58

HaRDi
Member
Registered: 2013-10-27
Posts: 1

Re: Failed to load session "cinnamon"

I used downgrader

downgrader cinnamon 

All of cinnamon packages where updated excepte for cinnamon-settings-daemon where cinnamon-fallback-mount-helper lives, which I think the cause of the error.

Offline

#9 2013-10-27 11:45:29

messo8080
Member
Registered: 2013-10-25
Posts: 4

Re: Failed to load session "cinnamon"

I downgrade cinnamon-control-center from 2.0.5-1 to version 2.0.2-1 and same error.
you have to downgrade package  cinnamon to previouse version.

for begginers:

sudo pacman -U /var/cache/pacman/pkg/cinnamon-2.0.2-2-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz

Last edited by messo8080 (2013-10-27 11:46:27)

Offline

#10 2013-10-27 14:01:27

dfanz0r
Member
Registered: 2013-10-27
Posts: 16

Re: Failed to load session "cinnamon"

I have the same error, but i recently cleared pacmans cache.... So another solution would be nice.

Offline

#11 2013-10-27 15:25:01

silent
Member
Registered: 2008-08-05
Posts: 51

Re: Failed to load session "cinnamon"

dfanz0r wrote:

I have the same error, but i recently cleared pacmans cache.... So another solution would be nice.

You can download it from the New ARM (x64 version) New ARM (i686 version). See the ARM Wiki for details.

Last edited by silent (2013-10-27 15:28:27)

Offline

#12 2013-10-27 15:25:51

cecar
Member
Registered: 2013-03-10
Posts: 39

Re: Failed to load session "cinnamon"

dfanz0r. I put up a link to my dropbox you can download the old version from.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/h33ob43s4xzlz … pkg.tar.xz

Offline

#13 2013-10-27 15:29:14

sergi34
Member
Registered: 2010-01-20
Posts: 23

Re: Failed to load session "cinnamon"

same problem here.

I've changed "exec cinnamon-session" for "startxfce4" until it is solved

Offline

#14 2013-10-27 16:40:57

dfanz0r
Member
Registered: 2013-10-27
Posts: 16

Re: Failed to load session "cinnamon"

silent wrote:
dfanz0r wrote:

I have the same error, but i recently cleared pacmans cache.... So another solution would be nice.

You can download it from the New ARM (x64 version) New ARM (i686 version). See the ARM Wiki for details.

hmm, didnt know about that, Thanks.

Offline

#15 2013-10-27 17:46:34

klindqvist
Member
Registered: 2013-10-27
Posts: 1

Re: Failed to load session "cinnamon"

I too have this problem, tried running it as a diffrent user with a clean home directory but it did not help

Offline

#16 2013-10-27 17:50:40

baenre
Member
Registered: 2013-09-22
Posts: 1

Re: Failed to load session "cinnamon"

Had the same issue, downgrading the "cinnamon" package through the ARM worked. Thanks for the tip.

Offline

#17 2013-10-27 19:59:42

clfarron4
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2013-06-28
Posts: 2,149
Website

Re: Failed to load session "cinnamon"

I see this has been reported as a bug here: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/37517

Please vote it up as I can confirm I am also having this problem as well. This is the entry from journalctl -b:

$ journalctl -b
-- Logs begin at Tue 2013-10-15 14:33:42 BST, end at Sun 2013-10-27 19:56:13 GMT. --
Oct 27 19:48:50 claire systemd[391]: Failed to open private bus connection: Failed to connect to socket /run/user/1002/dbus/user_bus_socket: No such file or directory
Oct 27 19:48:50 claire systemd[391]: Stopped target Sound Card.
Oct 27 19:48:50 claire systemd[391]: Starting Default.
Oct 27 19:48:50 claire systemd[391]: Reached target Default.
Oct 27 19:48:50 claire systemd[391]: Startup finished in 38ms.
Oct 27 19:48:53 claire pulseaudio[415]: [pulseaudio] bluetooth-util.c: org.bluez.Manager.GetProperties() failed: org.freedesktop.systemd1.LoadFailed: Unit dbus-org.bluez
Oct 27 19:48:54 claire cinnamon-session[397]: WARNING: Unable to find required component 'cinnamon-fallback-mount-helper'
Oct 27 19:49:15 claire pulseaudio[518]: [pulseaudio] bluetooth-util.c: org.bluez.Manager.GetProperties() failed: org.freedesktop.systemd1.LoadFailed: Unit dbus-org.bluez
Oct 27 19:49:15 claire cinnamon-session[500]: WARNING: Unable to find required component 'cinnamon-fallback-mount-helper'
Oct 27 19:49:35 claire pulseaudio[610]: [pulseaudio] bluetooth-util.c: org.bluez.Manager.GetProperties() failed: org.freedesktop.systemd1.LoadFailed: Unit dbus-org.bluez
Oct 27 19:49:36 claire cinnamon-session[592]: WARNING: Unable to find required component 'cinnamon-fallback-mount-helper'

Each Cinnamon-session warning corresponds to a log-in with the cinnamon package at 2.0.6-1

This my last update from /var/log/pacman,log:

[2013-10-27 19:46] [PACMAN] upgraded cinnamon-desktop (2.0.1-1 -> 2.0.2-1)
[2013-10-27 19:46] [PACMAN] upgraded muffin (2.0.1-1 -> 2.0.3-1)
[2013-10-27 19:46] [PACMAN] upgraded cinnamon (2.0.2-2 -> 2.0.6-1)
[2013-10-27 19:46] [PACMAN] upgraded cinnamon-control-center (2.0.2-1 -> 2.0.5-1)
[2013-10-27 19:46] [PACMAN] upgraded cinnamon-screensaver (2.0.0-1 -> 2.0.3-1)
[2013-10-27 19:47] [PACMAN] upgraded nemo (2.0.0-2 -> 2.0.2-1)

I use gdm-old 2.20 as a display manager.

Last edited by clfarron4 (2013-10-27 20:16:33)


Claire is fine.
Problems? I have dysgraphia, so clear and concise please.
My public GPG key for package signing
My x86_64 package repository

Offline

#18 2013-10-27 20:02:55

CrazyTux
Member
Registered: 2013-08-23
Posts: 32

Re: Failed to load session "cinnamon"

How do you vote it up?

Offline

#19 2013-10-27 20:05:58

clfarron4
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2013-06-28
Posts: 2,149
Website

Re: Failed to load session "cinnamon"

CrazyTux wrote:

How do you vote it up?

You'll need to create an account on the bugtracker, log-in with it and then you can vote it up.

EDIT: Ok, so I see rumblings on the github that it doesn't just effect us. I am going to do some testing on my Linux Mint installation and see whether that is affected as well.

Last edited by clfarron4 (2013-10-27 20:25:20)


Claire is fine.
Problems? I have dysgraphia, so clear and concise please.
My public GPG key for package signing
My x86_64 package repository

Offline

#20 2013-10-28 01:44:11

solomonix
Member
From: Louisville, KY
Registered: 2013-05-02
Posts: 1

Re: Failed to load session "cinnamon"

cecar wrote:

dfanz0r. I put up a link to my dropbox you can download the old version from.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/h33ob43s4xzlz … pkg.tar.xz

Thanks a lot.  I decided to give Cinnamon a try today, so I of course didn't have a previous version in cache.  This worked like a charm.

Offline

#21 2013-10-28 03:39:00

Roland Deschain
Member
Registered: 2013-09-23
Posts: 5

Re: Failed to load session "cinnamon"

Exact same issue here. I just set up my desktop with Cinnamon this morning and had the issue. My laptop was updated, but I'm fine with just leaving it on until upstream can fix it.

I ocassonally see updates for Cinnamon componets rolling in, so hopefully it will be fixed soon.

Offline

#22 2013-10-28 05:20:35

silent
Member
Registered: 2008-08-05
Posts: 51

Re: Failed to load session "cinnamon"

Offline

#23 2013-10-28 06:56:42

FrankLee
Member
Registered: 2013-10-08
Posts: 2

Re: Failed to load session "cinnamon"

dif wrote:

As a temporary solution I have reinstalled to the previous version:

# pacman -U cinnamon-2.0.2-2-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz

from the /var/cache/pacman/pkg/ directory.
I did not reinstall the other cinnamon elements, and it worked.

I am not sure, but the environment feels a tiny fraction of a second slower now. Or maybe it is a false impression.

Thanks for the temporary solution smile

Offline

#24 2013-10-28 09:27:08

clfarron4
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2013-06-28
Posts: 2,149
Website

Re: Failed to load session "cinnamon"

Latest package Cinnamon at 2.0.6-2 in the repos resolves this problem. Just tested it, so update to it.

Last edited by clfarron4 (2013-10-28 09:27:54)


Claire is fine.
Problems? I have dysgraphia, so clear and concise please.
My public GPG key for package signing
My x86_64 package repository

Offline

#25 2013-10-28 17:36:51

messo8080
Member
Registered: 2013-10-25
Posts: 4

Re: Failed to load session "cinnamon"

Yeah, solved

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB