You are not logged in.

#1 2013-10-20 23:39:31

muh3
Member
Registered: 2013-10-20
Posts: 8

Can't start Systemsettings in KDE4

Hi,

i'm using Arch 64-Bit with KDE4. Everything is up-to-date.

My problem is, i can't start the KDE systemsettings.

If I start it from kickoff, every window goes to the background and gets inaktive, but no new active window appeared.
If I type "systemsetting" in a terminal windows, again, nothing happens...every window gets inactive but the systemsettings don't show up. I also don't get a error message or something.
Terminal output:

[michi@michi-pc ~]$ systemsettings
QDBusConnection: session D-Bus connection created before QCoreApplication. Application may misbehave.
QDBusConnection: session D-Bus connection created before QCoreApplication. Application may misbehave.
[michi@michi-pc ~]$

i also checked every log file in /var/log but there's nothing spezial. also journald dosn't show something related.

It is hard to google this problem wink (because i don't have a error message)

Can somebody help me?
Are there somewhere additional logfiles to look at?

thx!

EDIT:
I just figured something out. If i start krunner (alt+f2) and type "systemsettings" the first item says something like "active running window on workspace 1". I'm not sure, because my KDE is german. It seems systemsettings is running somewhere in the background after i startet it once via kickoff. But selecting the item doesn't help...every windows gets inactive but no systemsettings showing

EDIT2:
if i'm running "kdesu systemsettings" via krunner i get the systemsettings window with a title "systemsettings <2>" but i don't want to change the root preferences...

Last edited by muh3 (2013-10-21 00:19:18)

Offline

#2 2013-10-21 01:18:57

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,662

Re: Can't start Systemsettings in KDE4

Can you switch to it using alt + tabbing? As you would to switch windows generally. I find sometimes I can get windows to foreground which KDE otherwise refuses to make visible even though they are there.

Otherwise you could try

kill $(ps -C systemsettings -o pid=)

to kill the current instance.


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#3 2013-10-21 01:33:27

muh3
Member
Registered: 2013-10-20
Posts: 8

Re: Can't start Systemsettings in KDE4

oh yeah...nice idea to look at the ps output

if i start systemsettings via kickoff and look at ps, there is systemsettings with a -session flag following by a sessionid or something...
i can kill the process. Now if i start systemsettings via terminal everything works fine!

thx wink

the problem seems to be solved....but:
why starts kickoff the systemsettings with this session flag? is it necessary? bug?

Last edited by muh3 (2013-10-21 01:33:38)

Offline

#4 2013-10-21 01:37:43

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,662

Re: Can't start Systemsettings in KDE4

I'm not sure. I imagine it is designed to assure a unique instance so you don't try to change settings in conflicting ways in different instances. However, starting it from the traditional menu (i.e. not kickoff):

/usr/bin/systemsettings -caption System Settings --icon preferences-system

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#5 2013-10-25 13:00:43

muh3
Member
Registered: 2013-10-20
Posts: 8

Re: Can't start Systemsettings in KDE4

ok i have some new information...

kickoff menu does _not_ set the session flag!

last time...is startet a terminal and the window titel says something like "terminal <2>" ... so i looked at ps and there are 2 terminals. the first one also with this -session flag.

ps -aux | grep session says there are a lot of running applications with this session flag...it seems that KDE has a problem with restoring my last session (i never close apps before shutdown but there never came up after a boot/login)

so this problem is not systemsettings related, but a kde global problem...

any idea?

P.S.: some applications work, like kmix starts with this sessionflag (ps says this) and it starts fine, but the most applications like systemsettings or the terminal not

Last edited by muh3 (2013-10-25 13:02:58)

Offline

#6 2013-10-26 00:30:31

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,662

Re: Can't start Systemsettings in KDE4

Are the settings in Startup & Shutdown > Session Management set appropriately? I can't remember what KDE does by default but make sure "restore previous session" is set.


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#7 2013-11-09 14:21:22

muh3
Member
Registered: 2013-10-20
Posts: 8

Re: Can't start Systemsettings in KDE4

cfr wrote:

Are the settings in Startup & Shutdown > Session Management set appropriately? I can't remember what KDE does by default but make sure "restore previous session" is set.

it is/was set. I unchecked it and KDE works fine. No Problems with broken session restore. But now I doesn't have a session restore at all.

the annoying processes are gone, cause KDE don't try to start them.

should i mark this as solved?

i don't solved the bug...i just deactivate the feature which causes the bug.

Last edited by muh3 (2013-11-09 14:21:54)

Offline

#8 2013-11-10 04:15:27

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,662

Re: Can't start Systemsettings in KDE4

No. I think it should work. However, session restore is not as good as it used to be in KDE. Although some things get restored, others don't. And what gets restored doesn't necessarily correspond to what was running when the last session finished. So I'm not sure what's going on.

Maybe try resetting it to enabled now you've hopefully cleared whatever it didn't like. See if it does better starting from a fresh slate. ?


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB