You are not logged in.

#1 2013-11-12 22:33:48

Aeyoun
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2013-11-12
Posts: 5
Website

Forum account registration form problem

The forum registration question is one of the weirder ones I have ever seen. It is also specific to one platform. (Does it accept GNU/Linux, for example?)

I did ran into a technical problem with the form itself. After having completed the riddle, I pasted the result and then pressed Enter. My answer was rejected. I went back and forth a few times before I found the problem: I had to click the Register button instead of pressing the Enter key to submit the form.

Could the already difficult registration process at least be made keyboard accessible, please?

Offline

#2 2013-11-12 23:20:11

bulletmark
Member
From: Brisbane, Australia
Registered: 2013-10-22
Posts: 278

Re: Forum account registration form problem

I think it is intended to fend off Ubuntu users ..

Offline

#3 2013-11-12 23:24:45

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,946
Website

Re: Forum account registration form problem

To put it another way, it's more a way of ensuring people can follow basic instructions and solve problems on their own. If people are unable to do even that, they won't find these forums very forgiving.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#4 2013-11-12 23:27:05

Aeyoun
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2013-11-12
Posts: 5
Website

Re: Forum account registration form problem

I took it as a “f*off” to keyboard users more than anything else. hmm There is also no written instruction that you must click the button. This is really an accessibility issue more than it should be a policy issue.

Last edited by Aeyoun (2013-11-12 23:28:23)

Offline

#5 2013-11-12 23:28:21

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,946
Website

Re: Forum account registration form problem

I use a keyboard, and I have no problem answering it..

EDIT: Maybe it's a problem with your browser? I've never seen a form submit in different ways like you're describing.

Last edited by WorMzy (2013-11-12 23:31:05)


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#6 2013-11-12 23:29:11

Aeyoun
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2013-11-12
Posts: 5
Website

Re: Forum account registration form problem

I do not object to the technical question. I am criticizing the mouse-focused implementation of how the form must be submitted.

Offline

#7 2013-11-12 23:32:21

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,946
Website

Re: Forum account registration form problem

I appreciate that, and I've amended my post. Could you tell us which browser you're using?


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#8 2013-11-12 23:34:05

bulletmark
Member
From: Brisbane, Australia
Registered: 2013-10-22
Posts: 278

Re: Forum account registration form problem

I actually agree with you Aeyoun. I remember encountering this same issue when I registered. It's annoying and unnecessary. Just looks like a bug which reflects poorly on the Arch forums.

Offline

#9 2013-11-12 23:47:02

Aeyoun
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2013-11-12
Posts: 5
Website

Re: Forum account registration form problem

bulletmark, thank you for confirming. I had a friend confirm the issue as well.

I am using Firefox 25.


Just to clarify how the problem happens:

1. Fill in the form
2. Fill in the geek test answer
3. Press Enter while focus is still in the last input field (the geek test)

Error message claiming the answer was incorrect,

4. Fill in the geek test answer
5. Click the Register button

Profit.

Last edited by Aeyoun (2013-11-12 23:47:43)

Offline

#10 2013-11-12 23:50:49

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,946
Website

Re: Forum account registration form problem

Oh, we have a captcha now too? I can see how that'd mess everything up. You should probably open a bug report on the bug tracker about it.

One thing though, can you use the tab index to escape the captcha box, or does it override that too?


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#11 2013-11-12 23:52:28

2ManyDogs
Member
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 1,760

Re: Forum account registration form problem

4. Fill in the geek test answer
5. Press Tab to select the "Register" button
6. Press Enter.

works for me.

Last edited by 2ManyDogs (2013-11-12 23:52:40)

Offline

#12 2013-11-13 05:20:59

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: Forum account registration form problem

@2ManyDogs - So you have to explicitly focus on the Register button first before pressing Enter?

Last edited by anonymous_user (2013-11-13 05:21:18)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB