You are not logged in.

#1 2013-11-15 00:20:06

weehooherod
Member
Registered: 2013-07-07
Posts: 9

[SOLVED] Installed linux-3.12-1 but "uname -r" outputs 3.11.6-1-ARCH.

I upgraded linux today to 3.12-1 which also let me upgrade the nvidia drivers for my system. The nvidia drivers are all messed up now so none of my screens work. nvidia-325.15-11 requires linux 3.12 which I think may be the problem given that uname -r outputs "3.11.6-1-ARCH". Pacman insists that linux 3.12 is installed though.

Does anybody have any suggestions?

Last edited by weehooherod (2013-11-15 01:36:54)

Offline

#2 2013-11-15 00:24:18

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 4,715

Re: [SOLVED] Installed linux-3.12-1 but "uname -r" outputs 3.11.6-1-ARCH.

UEFI or BIOS? What booloader/menu?

Offline

#3 2013-11-15 00:28:25

weehooherod
Member
Registered: 2013-07-07
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] Installed linux-3.12-1 but "uname -r" outputs 3.11.6-1-ARCH.

I'm almost 100% sure I'm using BIOS since I never had to create the UEFI partition when installing. I'm also using Grub2.

Offline

#4 2013-11-15 00:32:58

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,329
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Installed linux-3.12-1 but "uname -r" outputs 3.11.6-1-ARCH.

Did you reboot after the kernel update?

Offline

#5 2013-11-15 00:38:59

weehooherod
Member
Registered: 2013-07-07
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] Installed linux-3.12-1 but "uname -r" outputs 3.11.6-1-ARCH.

Allan wrote:

Did you reboot after the kernel update?

Yes I did. If I run "uname -r" it shows linux 3.11. Then I run pacman -S linux and it reinstalls linux 3.12. Then once again "uname -r" shows 3.11. Then once I reboot uname -r still shows 3.11 while pacman says "warning: linux-3.12-1 is up to date -- reinstalling".

Offline

#6 2013-11-15 00:43:13

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,423

Re: [SOLVED] Installed linux-3.12-1 but "uname -r" outputs 3.11.6-1-ARCH.

Does grub point to the right place?

Offline

#7 2013-11-15 01:06:16

weehooherod
Member
Registered: 2013-07-07
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] Installed linux-3.12-1 but "uname -r" outputs 3.11.6-1-ARCH.

karol wrote:

Does grub point to the right place?

I have no idea. Any suggestions or links to some info on how to change grub to point to the right place?

Offline

#8 2013-11-15 01:29:30

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: [SOLVED] Installed linux-3.12-1 but "uname -r" outputs 3.11.6-1-ARCH.

Do you have a separate /boot partition, and was it mounted when you did the upgrade?

Offline

#9 2013-11-15 01:36:29

weehooherod
Member
Registered: 2013-07-07
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] Installed linux-3.12-1 but "uname -r" outputs 3.11.6-1-ARCH.

WonderWoofy wrote:

Do you have a separate /boot partition, and was it mounted when you did the upgrade?

That did the trick! I think I had commented out the line mounting /boot in fstab when I was messing around with installing Windows 8. All is well now, thank you!

Offline

#10 2013-11-17 10:05:42

katta
Member
Registered: 2013-09-29
Posts: 3

Re: [SOLVED] Installed linux-3.12-1 but "uname -r" outputs 3.11.6-1-ARCH.

the command

mkinitcpio -p linux

produce any errors?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB