You are not logged in.

#1 2013-11-20 08:59:39

mjb
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2012-01-28
Posts: 66

Is it possible to install Arch from an old install medium?

Hello!

I want to erase my harddisc and install Arch.

The problem is: ever since 2013/03 the install mediums won't boot on my computer. They use gummiboot which does not work for me (and many others). A bug report is filed here but has low priority (for reasons that I don't understand. it prevents people from even booting the live medium. probably because it is most likely an upstream problem?).

The last install medium that worked was 2013/02.

The question is: Is it possible to just boot this live medium and still install Arch with the newest packages without problems?

Any help is much appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by mjb (2013-11-20 09:04:05)

Offline

#2 2013-11-20 09:16:09

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,431

Re: Is it possible to install Arch from an old install medium?

It's only a live disk, you always install up to date packages.
If yo have any problems, just come here and post the error messages etc/

Offline

#3 2013-11-20 14:33:34

clfarron4
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2013-06-28
Posts: 2,162
Website

Re: Is it possible to install Arch from an old install medium?

I've been using the 201305 installation disk for a few months, and it seems to be working fine. However, once another big change happens, I'll have to use a new media.

Last edited by clfarron4 (2013-11-20 19:53:50)


Claire is fine.
Problems? I have dysgraphia, so clear and concise please.
My public GPG key for package signing
My x86_64 package repository

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB