You are not logged in.

#26 2006-01-15 06:18:14

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: 2.6.15-archck1

Performed the download into the folder and ran makepkg: result:
===========================================================
[root@n6re kernel26archck]# makepkg
==> Making package: kernel26archck 2.6.15.archck1-1 (Sat Jan 14 22:13:17 PST 2006)
==> Checking Runtime Dependencies...
==> Checking Buildtime Dependencies...
==> Retrieving Sources...
==>     Using local copy of linux-2.6.15.tar.bz2
==>     Found patch-2.6.15-archck1.bz2 in build dir
==>     Found config in build dir
==> Validating source files with MD5sums
    linux-2.6.15.tar.bz2 ... Passed
    patch-2.6.15-archck1.bz2 ... Passed
    config ... Passed
==> Extracting Sources...
==>     tar --use-compress-program=bzip2 -xf linux-2.6.15.tar.bz2
tar: Skipping to next header
tar: Archive contains obsolescent base-64 headers

bzip2: Data integrity error when decompressing.
        Input file = (stdin), output file = (stdout)

It is possible that the compressed file(s) have become corrupted.
You can use the -tvv option to test integrity of such files.

You can use the `bzip2recover' program to attempt to recover
data from undamaged sections of corrupted files.

tar: Child returned status 2
tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors
==> ERROR: Failed to extract linux-2.6.15.tar.bz2
==> Aborting...
[root@n6re kernel26archck]#   
=============================================================
I have re-installed bzip2 previously and had re-downloaded the tar.bz2 previously after clearing it from the cache.  Same result.
Blame this one on Zawahiri!


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#27 2006-01-15 09:04:21

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,835

Re: 2.6.15-archck1

_Gandalf_ wrote:

As someone mentioned earlier about a problem with gensplash

Yeah, that was me, and if you re-read the post, you'll see the only problem I had was my own particular style of dumbness. smile

_Gandalf_ wrote:

i have this issue too

No - if you're working in verbose mode, you have a different issue. I like my boot messages, so I only use verbose. Did you do everything here to get it going?

_Gandalf_ wrote:
title  Arch Linux 2.6.15-ck1 + Splash

This is trivial, but would you not call it "2.6.15-archck1"? iphitus has a whole lot more in there, apart from the ck stuff.

Offline

#28 2006-01-15 10:01:36

Searinox
Member
Registered: 2004-09-14
Posts: 44

Re: 2.6.15-archck1

Is anyone else having problems with the new archck and the nvidia drivers?
They compile fine with the stock 2.6.15 kernel but with archck and the pkgbuild from the wiki,
the installer log looks like this:

nvidia-installer log file '/var/log/nvidia-installer.log'
creation time: Sat Jan 14 20:20:05 2006

option status:
  license pre-accepted    : true
  update                  : false
  force update            : false
  expert                  : false
  uninstall               : false
  driver info             : false
  no precompiled interface: true
  no ncurses color        : false
  query latest driver ver : false
  OpenGL header files     : false
  no questions            : true
  silent                  : false
  no backup               : false
  kernel module only      : false
  sanity                  : false
  add this kernel         : false
  no runlevel check       : true
  no network              : true
  no ABI note             : false
  no RPMs                 : false
  force tls               : (not specified)
  force compat32 tls      : (not specified)
  X install prefix        : /usr/X11R6
  OpenGL install prefix   : /usr
  compat32 install prefix : (not specified)
  installer install prefix: /usr
  utility install prefix  : /usr
  kernel name             : (not specified)
  kernel include path     : (not specified)
  kernel source path      : (not specified)
  kernel output path      : (not specified)
  kernel install path     : (not specified)
  proc mount point        : /proc
  ui                      : none
  tmpdir                  : /tmp
  ftp mirror              : ftp://download.nvidia.com
  RPM file list           : (not specified)

Using built-in stream user interface
-> License accepted by command line option.
-> Not probing for precompiled kernel interfaces.
-> Performing CC test with CC="cc".
-> Kernel source path: '/lib/modules/2.6.15-archck1/build'
-> Kernel output path: '/lib/modules/2.6.15-archck1/build'
-> Performing rivafb check.
-> Performing nvidiafb check.
-> Cleaning kernel module build directory.
   executing: 'cd ./usr/src/nv; make clean'...
   rm -f -f nv.o nv-vm.o os-agp.o os-interface.o os-registry.o nv.o nv-vm.o os-
   agp.o os-interface.o os-registry.o nvidia.mod.o
   rm -f -f build-in.o nv-linux.o *.d .*.{cmd,flags}
   rm -f -f nvidia.{o,ko,mod.{o,c}} nv_compiler.h *~
   rm -f -f stprof stprof.o symtab.h
   rm -f -rf .tmp_versions
-> Building kernel module:
   executing: 'cd ./usr/src/nv; make module SYSSRC=/lib/modules/2.6.15-archck1/
   build SYSOUT=/lib/modules/2.6.15-archck1/build'...
   
   NVIDIA: calling KBUILD...
   make CC=cc  KBUILD_VERBOSE=1 -C /lib/modules/2.6.15-archck1/build SUBDIRS=/o
   pt/nvidia/NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-8178-pkg0/usr/src/nv modules
   /usr/src/linux-2.6.15-archck1/arch/i386/Makefile:38: /usr/src/linux-2.6.15-a
   rchck1/arch/i386/Makefile.cpu: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
   make[2]: *** Keine Regel, um »/usr/src/linux-2.6.15-archck1/arch/i386/Makefi
   le.cpu« zu erstellen.  Schluss.
   NVIDIA: left KBUILD.
   nvidia.ko failed to build!
   make[1]: *** [mdl] Fehler 1
   make: *** [module] Fehler 2
-> Error.
ERROR: Unable to build the NVIDIA kernel module.
ERROR: Installation has failed.  Please see the file
       '/var/log/nvidia-installer.log' for details.  You may find suggestions
       on fixing installation problems in the README available on the Linux
       driver download page at www.nvidia.com.

Offline

#29 2006-01-15 11:19:44

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: 2.6.15-archck1

I have no idea, and the build log is in german hmm

I run nvidia fine on mine, so it may be the extra patches that Arch has included in nvidia that are causing the problem? im not sure.

Yeah, to reiterate, the latest NVIDIA driver from their website works perfectly with ArchCK, so any further issues with it are either cause by the packaging or user.

Offline

#30 2006-01-15 15:41:38

mouse256
Member
From: Antwerpen, Belgium
Registered: 2005-08-24
Posts: 247

Re: 2.6.15-archck1

I'm a little confused about gensplash :?

I would like to use it, but I also do need an initrd because I'm using software raid0 for booting. Is there any way to make them work together? As you normally need to replace the initrd line in grub for gensplash, I think there is a problem...

Offline

#31 2006-01-15 16:11:50

lucke
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-11-30
Posts: 4,017

Re: 2.6.15-archck1

About nvidia issue:

Just 'touch /usr/src/linux-2.6.15-archck1/arch/i386/Makefile.cpu'.

Offline

#32 2006-01-15 16:23:47

Searinox
Member
Registered: 2004-09-14
Posts: 44

Re: 2.6.15-archck1

Thanks, I'm going to try that soon

Offline

#33 2006-01-15 17:06:21

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,636

Re: 2.6.15-archck1

Maybe you should change the pkgbuild like in the stock kernel!

http://cvs.archlinux.org/cgi-bin/viewcv … ag=CURRENT

Online

#34 2006-01-15 17:13:41

_Gandalf_
Member
Registered: 2006-01-12
Posts: 735

Re: 2.6.15-archck1

tomk wrote:
_Gandalf_ wrote:

As someone mentioned earlier about a problem with gensplash

Yeah, that was me, and if you re-read the post, you'll see the only problem I had was my own particular style of dumbness. smile

_Gandalf_ wrote:

i have this issue too

No - if you're working in verbose mode, you have a different issue. I like my boot messages, so I only use verbose. Did you do everything here to get it going?

Well yeah actually i got it working by following that guide, i got the config of the kernel 2.6.14archck4 and i just added IPW2200 support inside it, i didn't touch anything else, oh and btw there's some kind of error complaining about suspend2 cannot work unless i specify suspend2= i can see it first while boot
below my files
PKGBUILD
config
kernel26.install

tomk wrote:
_Gandalf_ wrote:
title  Arch Linux 2.6.15-ck1 + Splash

This is trivial, but would you not call it "2.6.15-archck1"? iphitus has a whole lot more in there, apart from the ck stuff.

LOL, well that title i choosed because i had almost 4 others in grub while i was testing between my main distro an the one i installed on another partition just to not mess up my main one big_smile

Offline

#35 2006-01-16 05:35:36

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: 2.6.15-archck1

I will post my PKGBUILDs for initramfs + archck tonight, and maybe see if I can get the package into community...

They will allow all the fancy things you would normally use an initrd for, except allow fbsplash. initramfs FTW!

As for the fbsplash issues... has anyone actually got fbsplash working yet? with no problems? I have to look into that one...

iphitus

Offline

#36 2006-01-16 10:11:58

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,835

Re: 2.6.15-archck1

AndyRTR wrote:

Maybe you should change the pkgbuild like in the stock kernel!

http://cvs.archlinux.org/cgi-bin/viewcv … ag=CURRENT

Yeah, that's the best solution touching Makefile.cpu may work, but having the actual file would be better, right? I've added this to dibble's wiki PKGBUILD, which is the one I always use.

_Gandalf_ wrote:

there's some kind of error complaining about suspend2 cannot work unless i specify suspend2=

That's more or less right. If you're using suspend2, you need to specify where the suspend image should be read from when resuming, by supplying a boot parameter like this:

resume2=swap:/dev/hda5

There are various options - have a look for previous threads, or head over to the suspend2 webste fo more details.

iphitus wrote:

I will post my PKGBUILDs for initramfs + archck tonight

A treat in store - TIA, iph. big_smile

iphitus wrote:

has anyone actually got fbsplash working yet? with no problems?

Yeah - following my initial glitch (entirely my own fault), I have fbsplash working just as I want it. No changes were required to my setup, which I've been using since I first started with it, many kernels ago. smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB