You are not logged in.

#1 2013-11-29 19:16:27

POINTS
Member
Registered: 2013-11-29
Posts: 15

[Solved] Steam - Network: "Select a Network" is blank

I'm running 64-bit Arch without a Desktop Environment. When I first started up steam, it asked for Language settings etc., and then when it got to "Network - Configure your network settings - Select a Network", it was blank.

Network settings works okay on my Ubuntu PC. I thought maybe there was a package missing that Steam needs for Network settings (especially since that net-tools is not installed by default because it is deprecated). I tried install both "net-tools" and "networkmanager" but the Steam Network Settings is still blank.

Is there a package that Steam needs for Network Settings or could there be something else causing this issue? I'm using a wired Ethernet connection.

Edit:
I fixed this by installing the 32-bit NetworkManager from: https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/lib3 … rkmanager/ and enabling NetworkManager on startup:

systemctl enable NetworkManager

I got the information for NetworkManager at: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ne … orkManager

Last edited by POINTS (2013-12-09 07:59:34)

Offline

#2 2013-11-30 14:41:02

Spider.007
Member
Registered: 2004-06-20
Posts: 1,143
Website

Re: [Solved] Steam - Network: "Select a Network" is blank

According to https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Steam:

Note that the libraries will have to be 32-bit, which means you may have to download some from the AUR if on x86_64, such as NetworkManager.
Once you've done this, run steam again with STEAM_RUNTIME=0 steam and verify it's not loading anything outside of the handful of steam support libraries:

Offline

#3 2013-12-03 17:43:43

POINTS
Member
Registered: 2013-11-29
Posts: 15

Re: [Solved] Steam - Network: "Select a Network" is blank

Thanks. I didn't read the Steam wiki well enough when I started. It makes sense that it needs the 32-bit version of Network Manager.

I'm having problems installing some of the 32-bit libs but I hope when that's resolved, I can get the Steam Network Manager working.

Offline

#4 2013-12-08 04:23:26

POINTS
Member
Registered: 2013-11-29
Posts: 15

Re: [Solved] Steam - Network: "Select a Network" is blank

I got the 32-bit libs installed and can now run Steam with STEAM_RUNTIME=0. However, the Steam Network Manager still does not detect my network settings and some games do not launch. I'll have to spend some more time later looking into the issue.

Offline

#5 2013-12-09 06:34:27

bond
Member
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2009-05-05
Posts: 62

Re: [Solved] Steam - Network: "Select a Network" is blank

There is an issue on the steam-for-linux github https://github.com/ValveSoftware/steam- … ssues/3009

Offline

#6 2013-12-09 07:56:36

POINTS
Member
Registered: 2013-11-29
Posts: 15

Re: [Solved] Steam - Network: "Select a Network" is blank

It's working now. I had the the 32-bit version of NetworkManger installed and I needed to have NetworkManager run at start up:

systemctl enable NetworkManager

I got the information from: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/NetworkManager

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB