You are not logged in.

#1 2013-11-26 23:18:19

sighter
Member
Registered: 2008-11-23
Posts: 13

mdadm does not detect array with SiI 3132 Serial ATA Raid II Controlle

Hello everyone.

I have a fakeraid with two hard disks. mdadm cannot assemble the raid automatically. I guess this is because it cannot read the superblock data.
I can build and assemble the raid in a manual manner by issuing the following command

mdadm --build --verbose /dev/md1 --level=1 --raid-devices=2 /dev/sdb /dev/sdc

Since i have problems to get the raid working at startup with own systemd scrips or normal bash scripts, it would be cool to find a way to assemble it on startup automatically.

Do you have any ideas regarding this?


Some Info:

mdadm --detail /dev/md1

/dev/md1:
        Version : 
  Creation Time : Tue Nov 26 12:39:18 2013
     Raid Level : raid1
     Array Size : 1953514584 (1863.02 GiB 2000.40 GB)
  Used Dev Size : 1953514584 (1863.02 GiB 2000.40 GB)
   Raid Devices : 2
  Total Devices : 2

          State : clean 
 Active Devices : 2
Working Devices : 2
 Failed Devices : 0
  Spare Devices : 0

    Number   Major   Minor   RaidDevice State
       0       8       16        0      active sync   /dev/sdb
       1       8       32        1      active sync   /dev/sdc

mdadm --detail --scan

ARRAY /dev/md1 metadata=

lspci |grep -i raid

01:00.0 RAID bus controller: Silicon Image, Inc. SiI 3132 Serial ATA Raid II Controller (rev 01)

If you want to see the problems with the manual systemd startup you can find the info here:
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=172208

Last edited by sighter (2013-11-26 23:20:38)

Offline

#2 2013-12-12 11:11:26

Vamp898
Member
From: ドイツではまだ住んでいる
Registered: 2009-01-03
Posts: 866
Website

Re: mdadm does not detect array with SiI 3132 Serial ATA Raid II Controlle

Just for clearification.

You are using a Fake-RAID to provide you the harddisks and then you create a Software RAID with that?

So you create a Software RAID on top of a Fake RAID on top of Physical Hard Disks? Is this correct?

If you use mdadm (and so dont use the FakeRAID), i highly recommend to disable the FakeRAID completely!

Offline

#3 2013-12-12 12:29:37

benjamin
Member
Registered: 2013-10-15
Posts: 13

Re: mdadm does not detect array with SiI 3132 Serial ATA Raid II Controlle

Agreed. You should just use pure mdadm if possible.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB