You are not logged in.

#1 2006-01-16 02:10:16

MillTek
Member
Registered: 2005-01-30
Posts: 442

Can Gimp batch process??

Hi,
I have several hundred holiday photos that I want to scale to a specific size and jpeg quality.  Is there a way to get the Gimp to do it?  I've looked on their web-site and in the docs but haven't found anything that will help.


J

Offline

#2 2006-01-16 03:46:51

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

Re: Can Gimp batch process??

This sounds like a job for ImageMagik, ~if~ I understand what you want to do.

Say you have all these pictures in one directory on your computer.  Now you wish to make them all one size, say 100x300

for i in *.jpg; do
convert -size 100x300 $[i}; done

Something like that. 

I'm not sure how to do the quality.  (Nor am I sure that gimp can't do this, I just know that ImageMagick is good for command line work with images.)

For a quick ImageMagick tutorial

http://www-128.ibm.com/developerworks/l … ca=dnt-428

Hope this helps.

Offline

#3 2006-01-16 03:58:29

stonecrest
Member
From: Boulder
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 1,190

Re: Can Gimp batch process??

http://archlinux.org/packages.php?id=5418 - I've never used it though.


I am a gated community.

Offline

#4 2006-01-16 11:25:40

zen_guerrilla
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2002-12-22
Posts: 259

Re: Can Gimp batch process??

Actually ImageMagick is the best choice & it's quite fast. I use it all the time to resize scanned docs at work via cron.
Check also the mogrify tool (included in ImageMagick), which does the editing and overwrites the original files.

Offline

#5 2006-01-16 18:44:13

MillTek
Member
Registered: 2005-01-30
Posts: 442

Re: Can Gimp batch process??

I used the Gimp dbp extension and it worked great.  Thanks for all the replies.  It's a really seamless extension that's very well integrated with Gimp.



Jim

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB