You are not logged in.

#1 2013-12-14 18:21:07

keepitsimpleengineer
Member
From: San Joaquin Valley, CA
Registered: 2012-06-25
Posts: 285
Website

(solved) Language at aur.archlinux.org..?

I'm guessing that this is the appropriate forum...

Strange that aur.archlinux.org opens for me in the Catalan language.

This happens when using Google-chrome(31.0.1650.63), but not Firefox(26.0) or Chromium-31.0.1650.63 (238485).

This is recent behavior.  From google-chrome source: view-source:https://aur.archlinux.org/

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN"
 "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml"
	xml:lang="ca" lang="ca">
  <head>
    <title>AUR (ca) - Inici</title>
	<link rel='stylesheet' type='text/css' href='/css/archweb.css' />
	<link rel='stylesheet' type='text/css' href='/css/aur.css' />
	<link rel='shortcut icon' href='/images/favicon.ico' />
	<link rel='alternate' type='application/rss+xml' title='Newest Packages RSS' href='/rss/' />

Source from Firefox

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN"
 "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml"
	xml:lang="en" lang="en">
  <head>
    <title>AUR (en) - Home</title>
	<link rel='stylesheet' type='text/css' href='/css/archweb.css' />
	<link rel='stylesheet' type='text/css' href='/css/aur.css' />
	<link rel='shortcut icon' href='/images/favicon.ico' />
	<link rel='alternate' type='application/rss+xml' title='Newest Packages RSS' href='/rss/' />
	<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8" /

My account specifies language as "English", I checked.

Last edited by keepitsimpleengineer (2013-12-15 00:13:06)


Al Einstein: "Man soll die Dinge so einfach machen wie möglich ~ aber nicht einfacher." (Things should be as simple as possible ~ but not too simple.)

Offline

#2 2013-12-14 18:31:20

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: (solved) Language at aur.archlinux.org..?

keepitsimpleengineer wrote:

Strange that aur.archlinux.org opens for me in the Catalan language.

Do you mean that you get Catalan when you click https://aur.archlinux.org/ or when you click a link to a package that you found with e.g. google?
Set the language back to English and try again.

Offline

#3 2013-12-14 21:37:56

keepitsimpleengineer
Member
From: San Joaquin Valley, CA
Registered: 2012-06-25
Posts: 285
Website

Re: (solved) Language at aur.archlinux.org..?

karol wrote:
keepitsimpleengineer wrote:

Strange that aur.archlinux.org opens for me in the Catalan language.

Do you mean that you get Catalan when you click https://aur.archlinux.org/ or when you click a link to a package that you found with e.g. google?
Set the language back to English and try again.

When I open aur… from archlinux.org or by typing in URL box aur… (autofill) I get the page in Catalan language.  Subsequently linking from this page the new pages are in Catalan.

Searching from google (i.e."site:aur.archlinux.org  google") I get to choose language, e.g.

AUR (de) - google-talkplugin - Arch Linux…
AUR (hr) - ttf-google-fonts-git - Arch Linux…
AUR (en) - ttf-google-fonts-git - Arch Linux…
&c…

However when the language shown as …(en) always returns whatever was selected prior.

For instance, if I select "AUR (ru) - google-chrome" then select "AUR (en) - ttf-google-fonts-git - Arch Linux" the latter page will be in Russian.

And now, since testing, aur… is in Russian.

Hope this clarifies the anomaly. 

Only in Google-chrome, and I have reported it to google via "report and issue…"

Edit: My language is English. unchanged since joining....

Last edited by keepitsimpleengineer (2013-12-14 21:40:43)


Al Einstein: "Man soll die Dinge so einfach machen wie möglich ~ aber nicht einfacher." (Things should be as simple as possible ~ but not too simple.)

Offline

#4 2013-12-14 21:42:16

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: (solved) Language at aur.archlinux.org..?

There is a drop down selection area in the upper right of the page.  Use it to select en (which might take some trial and error if you're currently in Russian).  Does the problem persist after that?

Offline

#5 2013-12-14 21:42:58

dodo3773
Member
Registered: 2011-03-17
Posts: 798

Re: (solved) Language at aur.archlinux.org..?

Are you behind a proxy / vpn etc..? Also, have you tried clearing your web browser cache?

Offline

#6 2013-12-14 21:55:04

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: (solved) Language at aur.archlinux.org..?

keepitsimpleengineer wrote:

Searching from google (i.e."site:aur.archlinux.org  google") I get to choose language, e.g.

AUR (de) - google-talkplugin - Arch Linux…
AUR (hr) - ttf-google-fonts-git - Arch Linux…
AUR (en) - ttf-google-fonts-git - Arch Linux…
&c…

However when the language shown as …(en) always returns whatever was selected prior.

For instance, if I select "AUR (ru) - google-chrome" then select "AUR (en) - ttf-google-fonts-git - Arch Linux" the latter page will be in Russian.

And now, since testing, aur… is in Russian.

It has been like this for me (I use firefox) for a long time. Irritating but harmless.

WonderWoofy wrote:

There is a drop down selection area in the upper right of the page.  Use it to select en (which might take some trial and error if you're currently in Russian).  Does the problem persist after that?

It's fixed until you click on a non-English AUR link again.

Last edited by karol (2013-12-14 21:56:46)

Offline

#7 2013-12-15 00:12:06

keepitsimpleengineer
Member
From: San Joaquin Valley, CA
Registered: 2012-06-25
Posts: 285
Website

Re: (solved) Language at aur.archlinux.org..?

WonderWoofy wrote:

There is a drop down selection area in the upper right of the page.  Use it to select en (which might take some trial and error if you're currently in Russian).  Does the problem persist after that?

Solution found. (but you have to also press the go button next to it, my previous failing)

BTW - the drop down box says "en" even when the page is presented another language, and pressing it then also changes the language displayed to English.

Thanks...


Al Einstein: "Man soll die Dinge so einfach machen wie möglich ~ aber nicht einfacher." (Things should be as simple as possible ~ but not too simple.)

Offline

#8 2013-12-15 00:14:21

keepitsimpleengineer
Member
From: San Joaquin Valley, CA
Registered: 2012-06-25
Posts: 285
Website

Re: (solved) Language at aur.archlinux.org..?

dodo3773 wrote:

Are you behind a proxy / vpn etc..? Also, have you tried clearing your web browser cache?


Thanks, but I regularly delete my cache....


Al Einstein: "Man soll die Dinge so einfach machen wie möglich ~ aber nicht einfacher." (Things should be as simple as possible ~ but not too simple.)

Offline

#9 2013-12-15 00:17:13

keepitsimpleengineer
Member
From: San Joaquin Valley, CA
Registered: 2012-06-25
Posts: 285
Website

Re: (solved) Language at aur.archlinux.org..?

karol wrote:

It has been like this for me (I use firefox) for a long time. Irritating but harmless.

Agreed..!


Al Einstein: "Man soll die Dinge so einfach machen wie möglich ~ aber nicht einfacher." (Things should be as simple as possible ~ but not too simple.)

Offline

#10 2014-02-24 16:18:50

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: (solved) Language at aur.archlinux.org..?

Feature request has been filed: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/39027

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB