You are not logged in.

#1 2013-12-12 17:14:45

Arakis
Member
From: Hamminkeln - Germany
Registered: 2013-08-11
Posts: 44
Website

Grub issues

Hello guys,
what happend with the latest grub-update? Why is the Version so "unnormal"?

grub-2.00.5086-1 --> grub-1:2.00.1282.g5ae5c54-1

Why is there a ":" in the version? It seems, it's an rollback to an older version.

This issues are new since this "new" version:
- out of memory / parse error while doing grub-mkconfig (solveable via disabling submenus in /etc/default/grub)
- missing modules during install (for example gpt.mod)
- missing symbol grub_real_boot_time on boot

The question is not, how to solve that. The question is more, is it a rollback from source control ( 1:2.00.1282.g5ae5c54-1 ) and why it makes so many problems?

(i was affected from "all" issues above, on "every" arch machine i have. I simple put a IgnorePkg = grub into the pacman.conf to "solve" the issues).

Greetings from Germany,
Sebastian

Offline

#2 2013-12-12 17:19:51

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: Grub issues

Offline

#3 2013-12-12 17:53:14

Arakis
Member
From: Hamminkeln - Germany
Registered: 2013-08-11
Posts: 44
Website

Re: Grub issues

Ah ok.

But is there any news, why it was rolled back? What problems had the actual grub? It makes no sense to roll back to an older version, when the older version makes more problems than the actual version.

Offline

#4 2013-12-12 17:58:30

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: Grub issues

I see that the epoch has been introduced to grub package version on October 23th https://projects.archlinux.org/svntogit … f3f01e3810
The latest change is https://projects.archlinux.org/svntogit … 4467f1c104

If I'm reading this right, there was no downgrade: https://projects.archlinux.org/svntogit … kages/grub
2.00.900 -> 2.00.963 -> 2.00.1282

Last edited by karol (2013-12-12 17:59:18)

Offline

#5 2013-12-15 18:31:24

twelveeighty
Member
From: Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2011-09-04
Posts: 318

Re: Grub issues

Arakis wrote:

- out of memory / parse error while doing grub-mkconfig (solveable via disabling submenus in /etc/default/grub)

EDIT: never mind, ignore https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 8#p1078788, use GRUB_DISABLE_SUBMENU=y in /etc/default/grub to get passed the out of memory / parse error.

Last edited by twelveeighty (2013-12-15 18:46:11)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB