You are not logged in.

#1 2014-01-10 03:50:09

gsingh93
Member
Registered: 2013-07-19
Posts: 96

[SOLVED] How to use latest kernel?

I installed the linux-git package using yaourt. The build went fine, and I see a vmlinuz-linux-git in /boot along with the old vmlinuz-linux. I thought that on boot the kernel image with the latest version number is chosen, so I rebooted, but uname -a still shows 3.12.6 instead of 3.13.0-rc7. How do I set which kernel to use?

Last edited by gsingh93 (2014-01-10 04:50:11)

Offline

#2 2014-01-10 04:01:52

HalosGhost
Forum Moderator
From: Twin Cities, MN
Registered: 2012-06-22
Posts: 2,095
Website

Re: [SOLVED] How to use latest kernel?

gsingh93 wrote:

I installed the linux-git package using yaourt. The build went fine, and I see a vmlinuz-linux-git in /boot along with the old vmlinuz-linux. I thought that on boot the kernel image with the latest version number is chosen, so I rebooted, but uname -a still shows 3.12.6 instead of 3.13.0-rc7. How do I set which kernel to use?

You tell your bootloader which to load.

All the best,

-HG

Offline

#3 2014-01-10 04:07:55

gsingh93
Member
Registered: 2013-07-19
Posts: 96

Re: [SOLVED] How to use latest kernel?

Oops, I should have mentioned I was using GRUB. In /etc/grub.d/10_linux, it looks like it should pick the latest kernel for me:

#! /bin/sh
set -e

# grub-mkconfig helper script.
# Copyright (C) 2006,2007,2008,2009,2010  Free Software Foundation, Inc.
#
# GRUB is free software: you can redistribute it and/or modify
# it under the terms of the GNU General Public License as published by
# the Free Software Foundation, either version 3 of the License, or
# (at your option) any later version.
#
# GRUB is distributed in the hope that it will be useful,
# but WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of
# MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.  See the
# GNU General Public License for more details.
#
# You should have received a copy of the GNU General Public License
# along with GRUB.  If not, see <http://www.gnu.org/licenses/>.

prefix="/usr"
exec_prefix="/usr"
datarootdir="/usr/share"

. "${datarootdir}/grub/grub-mkconfig_lib"

export TEXTDOMAIN=grub
export TEXTDOMAINDIR="${datarootdir}/locale"

CLASS="--class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os"

if [ "x${GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR}" = "x" ] ; then
  OS=Linux
else
  OS="${GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR} Linux"
  CLASS="--class $(echo ${GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR} | tr 'A-Z' 'a-z' | cut -d' ' -f1|LC_ALL=C sed 's,[^[:alnum:]_],_,g') ${CLASS}"
fi

# loop-AES arranges things so that /dev/loop/X can be our root device, but
# the initrds that Linux uses don't like that.
case ${GRUB_DEVICE} in
  /dev/loop/*|/dev/loop[0-9])
    GRUB_DEVICE=`losetup ${GRUB_DEVICE} | sed -e "s/^[^(]*(\([^)]\+\)).*/\1/"`
  ;;
esac

if [ "x${GRUB_DEVICE_UUID}" = "x" ] || [ "x${GRUB_DISABLE_LINUX_UUID}" = "xtrue" ] \
    || ! test -e "/dev/disk/by-uuid/${GRUB_DEVICE_UUID}" \
    || uses_abstraction "${GRUB_DEVICE}" lvm; then
  LINUX_ROOT_DEVICE=${GRUB_DEVICE}
else
  LINUX_ROOT_DEVICE=UUID=${GRUB_DEVICE_UUID}
fi

GRUBFS="`${grub_probe} --device ${GRUB_DEVICE} --target=fs 2>/dev/null || true`"

if [ x"$GRUBFS" = x ]; then
    GRUBFS="$(stat -f --printf=%T / || true)"
fi

case x"$GRUBFS" in
    xbtrfs)
	rootsubvol="`make_system_path_relative_to_its_root /`"
	rootsubvol="${rootsubvol#/}"
	if [ "x${rootsubvol}" != x ]; then
	    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="rootflags=subvol=${rootsubvol} ${GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX}"
	fi;;
    xzfs)
	rpool=`${grub_probe} --device ${GRUB_DEVICE} --target=fs_label 2>/dev/null || true`
	bootfs="`make_system_path_relative_to_its_root / | sed -e "s,@$,,"`"
	LINUX_ROOT_DEVICE="ZFS=${rpool}${bootfs}"
	;;
esac

title_correction_code=

linux_entry ()
{
  os="$1"
  version="$2"
  type="$3"
  args="$4"

  if [ -z "$boot_device_id" ]; then
      boot_device_id="$(grub_get_device_id "${GRUB_DEVICE}")"
  fi
  if [ x$type != xsimple ] ; then
      case $type in
	  recovery)
	      title="$(gettext_printf "%s, with Linux %s (recovery mode)" "${os}" "${version}")" ;;
	  fallback)
	      title="$(gettext_printf "%s, with Linux %s (Fallback initramfs)" "${os}" "${version}")" ;;
	  *)
	      title="$(gettext_printf "%s, with Linux %s" "${os}" "${version}")" ;;
      esac
      if [ x"$title" = x"$GRUB_ACTUAL_DEFAULT" ] || [ x"Previous Linux versions>$title" = x"$GRUB_ACTUAL_DEFAULT" ]; then
	  replacement_title="$(echo "Advanced options for ${OS}" | sed 's,>,>>,g')>$(echo "$title" | sed 's,>,>>,g')"
	  quoted="$(echo "$GRUB_ACTUAL_DEFAULT" | grub_quote)"
	  title_correction_code="${title_correction_code}if [ \"x\$default\" = '$quoted' ]; then default='$(echo "$replacement_title" | grub_quote)'; fi;"
	  grub_warn "$(gettext_printf "Please don't use old title \`%s' for GRUB_DEFAULT, use \`%s' (for versions before 2.00) or \`%s' (for 2.00 or later)" "$GRUB_ACTUAL_DEFAULT" "$replacement_title" "gnulinux-advanced-$boot_device_id>gnulinux-$version-$type-$boot_device_id")"
      fi
      echo "menuentry '$(echo "$title" | grub_quote)' ${CLASS} \$menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-$version-$type-$boot_device_id' {" | sed "s/^/$submenu_indentation/"
  else
      echo "menuentry '$(echo "$os" | grub_quote)' ${CLASS} \$menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-$boot_device_id' {" | sed "s/^/$submenu_indentation/"
  fi      
  if [ x$type != xrecovery ] && [ x$type != xfallback ] ; then
      save_default_entry | grub_add_tab
  fi

  # Use ELILO's generic "efifb" when it's known to be available.
  # FIXME: We need an interface to select vesafb in case efifb can't be used.
  if [ "x$GRUB_GFXPAYLOAD_LINUX" = x ]; then
      echo "	load_video" | sed "s/^/$submenu_indentation/"
      if grep -qx "CONFIG_FB_EFI=y" "${config}" 2> /dev/null \
	  && grep -qx "CONFIG_VT_HW_CONSOLE_BINDING=y" "${config}" 2> /dev/null; then
	  echo "	set gfxpayload=keep" | sed "s/^/$submenu_indentation/"
      fi
  else
      if [ "x$GRUB_GFXPAYLOAD_LINUX" != xtext ]; then
	  echo "	load_video" | sed "s/^/$submenu_indentation/"
      fi
      echo "	set gfxpayload=$GRUB_GFXPAYLOAD_LINUX" | sed "s/^/$submenu_indentation/"
  fi

  echo "	insmod gzio" | sed "s/^/$submenu_indentation/"

  if [ x$dirname = x/ ]; then
    if [ -z "${prepare_root_cache}" ]; then
      prepare_root_cache="$(prepare_grub_to_access_device ${GRUB_DEVICE} | grub_add_tab)"
    fi
    printf '%s\n' "${prepare_root_cache}" | sed "s/^/$submenu_indentation/"
  else
    if [ -z "${prepare_boot_cache}" ]; then
      prepare_boot_cache="$(prepare_grub_to_access_device ${GRUB_DEVICE_BOOT} | grub_add_tab)"
    fi
    printf '%s\n' "${prepare_boot_cache}" | sed "s/^/$submenu_indentation/"
  fi

  message="$(gettext_printf "Loading Linux %s ..." "${version}")"
  sed "s/^/$submenu_indentation/" << EOF
	echo	'$(echo "$message" | grub_quote)'
	linux	${rel_dirname}/${basename} root=${linux_root_device_thisversion} rw ${args}
EOF
  if test -n "${initrd}" ; then
    # TRANSLATORS: ramdisk isn't identifier. Should be translated.
    message="$(gettext_printf "Loading initial ramdisk ...")"
    sed "s/^/$submenu_indentation/" << EOF
	echo	'$(echo "$message" | grub_quote)'
	initrd	${rel_dirname}/${initrd}
EOF
  fi
  sed "s/^/$submenu_indentation/" << EOF
}
EOF
}

machine=`uname -m`
case "x$machine" in
    xi?86 | xx86_64)
	list=`for i in /boot/vmlinuz-* /vmlinuz-* /boot/kernel-* ; do
                  if grub_file_is_not_garbage "$i" ; then echo -n "$i " ; fi
              done` ;;
    *) 
	list=`for i in /boot/vmlinuz-* /boot/vmlinux-* /vmlinuz-* /vmlinux-* /boot/kernel-* ; do
                  if grub_file_is_not_garbage "$i" ; then echo -n "$i " ; fi
	     done` ;;
esac

case "$machine" in
    i?86) GENKERNEL_ARCH="x86" ;;
    mips|mips64) GENKERNEL_ARCH="mips" ;;
    mipsel|mips64el) GENKERNEL_ARCH="mipsel" ;;
    arm*) GENKERNEL_ARCH="arm" ;;
    *) GENKERNEL_ARCH="$machine" ;;
esac

prepare_boot_cache=
prepare_root_cache=
boot_device_id=
title_correction_code=

# Extra indentation to add to menu entries in a submenu. We're not in a submenu
# yet, so it's empty. In a submenu it will be equal to '\t' (one tab).
submenu_indentation=""

is_top_level=true
while [ "x$list" != "x" ] ; do
  linux=`version_find_latest $list`
  gettext_printf "Found linux image: %s\n" "$linux" >&2
  basename=`basename $linux`
  dirname=`dirname $linux`
  rel_dirname=`make_system_path_relative_to_its_root $dirname`
  version=`echo $basename | sed -e "s,^[^0-9]*-,,g"`
  alt_version=`echo $version | sed -e "s,\.old$,,g"`
  linux_root_device_thisversion="${LINUX_ROOT_DEVICE}"

  if test -e "/etc/arch-release" ; then
    if echo "${basename}" | grep -q 'vmlinuz-linux' ; then
      version="`echo "${basename}" | sed -e 's,vmlinuz-linux,,g'`"
      
      if [ "x${version}" = "x" ] ; then
        version="core repo kernel"
      else
        version="`echo "${version}" | sed -e 's,-,,g'`"
        version="${version} kernel"
      fi
    fi
  fi
  
  initrd=
  initrd_arch="`echo "${basename}" | sed -e 's,vmlinuz,initramfs,g'`"

  for i in "initrd.img-${version}" "initrd-${version}.img" "initrd-${version}.gz" \
	   "initrd-${version}" "initramfs-${version}.img" \
	   "initrd.img-${alt_version}" "initrd-${alt_version}.img" \
	   "initrd-${alt_version}" "initramfs-${alt_version}.img" \
	   "initramfs-genkernel-${version}" \
	   "initramfs-genkernel-${alt_version}" \
	   "initramfs-genkernel-${GENKERNEL_ARCH}-${version}" \
	   "initramfs-genkernel-${GENKERNEL_ARCH}-${alt_version}" \
	   "${initrd_arch}.img" ; do
    if test -e "${dirname}/${i}" ; then
      initrd="$i"
      break
    fi
  done

  config=
  for i in "${dirname}/config-${version}" "${dirname}/config-${alt_version}" "/etc/kernels/kernel-config-${version}" ; do
    if test -e "${i}" ; then
      config="${i}"
      break
    fi
  done

  initramfs=
  if test -n "${config}" ; then
      initramfs=`grep CONFIG_INITRAMFS_SOURCE= "${config}" | cut -f2 -d= | tr -d \"`
  fi

  if test -n "${initrd}" ; then
    gettext_printf "Found initrd image: %s\n" "${dirname}/${initrd}" >&2
  elif test -z "${initramfs}" ; then
    # "UUID=" and "ZFS=" magic is parsed by initrd or initramfs.  Since there's
    # no initrd or builtin initramfs, it can't work here.
    linux_root_device_thisversion=${GRUB_DEVICE}
  fi

  if test -e "/etc/arch-release" ; then
    is_first_entry="false"
    
    linux_entry "${OS}" "${version}" true \
              "${GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX} ${GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT}"
    
    for i in "${initrd_arch}-fallback.img" "initramfs-${version}-fallback.img" ; do
      if test -e "${dirname}/${i}" ; then
        initrd="${i}"
        linux_entry "${OS}" "${version}" fallback \
                    "${GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX} ${GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT}"
        break
      fi
    done
  fi

  if [ "x$is_top_level" = xtrue ] && [ "x${GRUB_DISABLE_SUBMENU}" != xy ]; then
    linux_entry "${OS}" "${version}" simple \
    "${GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX} ${GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT}"

    submenu_indentation="$grub_tab"
    
    if [ -z "$boot_device_id" ]; then
	boot_device_id="$(grub_get_device_id "${GRUB_DEVICE}")"
    fi
    # TRANSLATORS: %s is replaced with an OS name
    echo "submenu '$(gettext_printf "Advanced options for %s" "${OS}" | grub_quote)' \$menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-advanced-$boot_device_id' {"
    is_top_level=false
  fi

  if ! test -e "/etc/arch-release" ; then
  linux_entry "${OS}" "${version}" advanced \
              "${GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX} ${GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT}"
  fi

  if [ "x${GRUB_DISABLE_RECOVERY}" != "xtrue" ]; then
    linux_entry "${OS}" "${version}" recovery \
                "single ${GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX}"
  fi

  list=`echo $list | tr ' ' '\n' | grep -vx $linux | tr '\n' ' '`
done

# If at least one kernel was found, then we need to
# add a closing '}' for the submenu command.
if ! test -e "/etc/arch-release" ; then
if [ x"$is_top_level" != xtrue ]; then
  echo '}'
fi
fi

echo "$title_correction_code"

Specifically, look at:

linux=`version_find_latest $list`

Shouldn't that take care of it?

Offline

#4 2014-01-10 04:26:56

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 5,211

Re: [SOLVED] How to use latest kernel?

Did you regenerate your /boot/grub/grub.cfg? grub finds the kernel image when you (re)create its configuration, not during boot.


| alias CUTF='LANG=en_XX.UTF-8@POSIX ' |

Offline

#5 2014-01-10 04:44:31

gsingh93
Member
Registered: 2013-07-19
Posts: 96

Re: [SOLVED] How to use latest kernel?

Ah, I forgot to run grub-mkconfig, thanks. Although, I did run into this issue, in case someone stumbles on this thread: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1357811

Offline

#6 2014-01-10 04:48:10

HalosGhost
Forum Moderator
From: Twin Cities, MN
Registered: 2012-06-22
Posts: 2,095
Website

Re: [SOLVED] How to use latest kernel?

gsingh93 wrote:

Ah, I forgot to run grub-mkconfig, thanks. Although, I did run into this issue, in case someone stumbles on this thread: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1357811

Glad you got it worked out. Please remember to mark the thread as [Solved].

All the best,

-HG

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB