You are not logged in.

#1 2013-12-30 03:35:45

jwhendy
Member
Registered: 2010-04-01
Posts: 621

Where is the ati-agp module?

I'm on an older Thinkpad T400 which has an integrated Intel chipset and a dedicated ATI/Radeon card as well. I was updating some .pacnew files today, including /etc/mkinitcpio.conf and noticed I had intel_agp in my modules list... which made me wonder which graphics card I was actually using! Checking, looks like ATI, not intel:

$ lspci
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RV620/M82 [Mobility Radeon HD 3450/3470]

There's no intel graphics card listed, so I don't think there's any dual card stuff going on -- it's just using the dedicated ATI card. Not having done anything special for it, I thought I'd peruse the Arch wiki on the subject. My packages look to be in good shape:

$ pacman -Q | grep ati
ati-dri 10.0.1-1
xf86-video-ati 1:7.2.0-1

$ pacman -Ss mesa
extra/glu 9.0.0-2 [installed]
extra/mesa 10.0.1-1 [installed]
extra/mesa-libgl 10.0.1-1 [installed]

I noted this from the Arch wiki:

For AGP support it is necessary to add the AGP driver for your chipset (e.g. intel_agp, ali_agp, ati_agp, amd_agp, amd64_agp, etc.) before the radeon module.

So, I added ati_agp to mkinitcpio and re-generated my initramfs:

$ sudo mkinitcpio -p linux
==> Building image from preset: /etc/mkinitcpio.d/linux.preset: 'default'
  -> -k /boot/vmlinuz-linux -c /etc/mkinitcpio.conf -g /boot/initramfs-linux.img
==> Starting build: 3.12.6-1-ARCH
  -> Running build hook: [base]
  -> Running build hook: [udev]
  -> Running build hook: [autodetect]
  -> Running build hook: [block]
  -> Running build hook: [encrypt]
  -> Running build hook: [filesystems]
  -> Running build hook: [keyboard]
  -> Running build hook: [shutdown]
==> ERROR: module not found: `ati_agp'
==> Generating module dependencies

Hmmm, ati_agp isn't found! I tried to modprobe it manually and it's not found either (both ati_agp and ati-agp, as I've seen people use both). I also don't find it with updatedb and locate *agp* (but I do find the intel_agp module). I wondered if it was supported, but the Xorg page seems to indicate that it is:

SUPPORTED HARDWARE

The radeon driver supports PCI, AGP, and PCIE video cards based on the following ATI chips (note: list is non-exhaustive):
...
...
RV620/RV635     Radeon HD 3410/3430/3450/3470/3650/3670

Just to be safe, looks like relevant modules are loaded:

$ lsmod | grep radeon
radeon               1285507  27 
ttm                    63507  1 radeon
drm_kms_helper         36286  1 radeon
drm                   238206  29 ttm,drm_kms_helper,radeon
i2c_algo_bit            5399  1 radeon
i2c_core               24164  5 drm,i2c_i801,drm_kms_helper,i2c_algo_bit,radeon

Is there a package I'm missing? Or does Arch's default kernel ship without this module and I need to build a custom kernel for this? In thinking about the latter (and being pretty unfamiliar with ATI), I wanted to check on Arch's kernel config, so I did and am not seeing anything obviously related to ATI + agp:

$ zcat /proc/config.gz > ~/Desktop/arch-default-config

$ grep -i agp ~/Desktop/arch-default-config 
CONFIG_AGP=y
CONFIG_AGP_AMD64=y
CONFIG_AGP_INTEL=m
CONFIG_AGP_SIS=m
CONFIG_AGP_VIA=m

$ grep -i ati ~/Desktop/arch-default-config 
[bunch of false hits removed (such as all lines matching *ation)]
CONFIG_PATA_ATIIXP=m
CONFIG_INPUT_ATI_REMOTE2=m
CONFIG_RC_ATI_REMOTE=m
CONFIG_SND_ATIIXP=m
CONFIG_SND_ATIIXP_MODEM=m

$ grep -i radeon ~/Desktop/arch-default-config 
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON=m
# CONFIG_DRM_RADEON_UMS is not set
# CONFIG_FB_RADEON is not set

Any thoughts?

Offline

#2 2013-12-30 23:44:34

Potomac
Member
Registered: 2011-12-25
Posts: 528

Re: Where is the ati-agp module?

jwhendy wrote:

I noted this from the Arch wiki:

For AGP support it is necessary to add the AGP driver for your chipset (e.g. intel_agp, ali_agp, ati_agp, amd_agp, amd64_agp, etc.) before the radeon module.

So, I added ati_agp to mkinitcpio and re-generated my initramfs:

don't confuse "agp card" and "agp chipset", it's 2 different things,

in your laptop you have an intel chipset,  the chipset manages the agp port on the motherboard,

so you just have to add "intel_agp" module in the mkinitcpio.conf

Last edited by Potomac (2013-12-30 23:47:54)

Offline

#3 2014-01-12 22:58:31

jwhendy
Member
Registered: 2010-04-01
Posts: 621

Re: Where is the ati-agp module?

@Potomac: Interesting! How might I deduce chipset vs. card on my own? Here's the full lspci output, which didn't strike me as having much to do with Intel with respect to graphics:

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Memory Controller Hub (rev 07)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset PCI Express Graphics Port (rev 07)
00:03.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset MEI Controller (rev 07)
00:03.3 Serial controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset AMT SOL Redirection (rev 07)
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82567LM Gigabit Network Connection (rev 03)
00:1a.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 03)
00:1a.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 03)
00:1a.2 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #6 (rev 03)
00:1a.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 03)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 03)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 5 (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 93)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation ICH9M-E LPC Interface Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801IBM/IEM (ICH9M/ICH9M-E) 4 port SATA Controller [AHCI mode] (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RV620/M82 [Mobility Radeon HD 3450/3470]
03:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 5100 AGN [Shiloh] Network Connection
15:00.0 CardBus bridge: Ricoh Co Ltd RL5c476 II (rev ba)
15:00.1 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Ricoh Co Ltd R5C832 IEEE 1394 Controller (rev 04)

I also need to reboot into BIOS, as I tried removing xf86-video-intel and the system found no screens... I'm thinking it sees the card, but that I may have set it to use the intel card from the BIOS and just didn't realize that! It definitely didn't like just trying to roll with radeon, or perhaps as you said, it needs both drivers since one's sort of "managing" the card itself?

I appreciate the input; graphics isn't something I know much about.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB