You are not logged in.

#1 2014-01-13 18:17:36

scap
Member
Registered: 2011-05-28
Posts: 7

updating with pacman fails

I am trying to run a pacman -Syu and get the following error.

error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: virtualbox-guest-utils: requires X-ABI-VIDEODRV_VERSION<15

Is there a way around this?

Offline

#2 2014-01-13 18:19:49

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 5,078

Re: updating with pacman fails

Yeah, wait for virtualbox-guest-utils to be updated (update is in the [testing] repo, just hasn't been pushed to [community] yet).

Offline

#3 2014-01-13 18:27:24

scap
Member
Registered: 2011-05-28
Posts: 7

Re: updating with pacman fails

This box hasn't been updated in a long time and needs security patches. Is there any way to have pacman just ignore the packages in question and update everything else?

Offline

#4 2014-01-13 18:31:07

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 5,078

Re: updating with pacman fails

The update should happen within hours at the most.

Last edited by Scimmia (2014-01-13 18:32:06)

Offline

#5 2014-01-13 18:57:33

vanquish
Member
Registered: 2013-12-28
Posts: 43

Re: updating with pacman fails

If you want to hold a package edit your /etc/pacman.conf

IgnorePkg  = virtualbox-guest-utils

Be careful! You should have very closely look on package dependency (pacman -Qi virtualbox-guest-utils) and only doing temporary!
In this case I would wait this few hours. Especially as your system is not current.

Offline

#6 2014-01-13 19:01:53

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 5,078

Re: updating with pacman fails

vanquish wrote:

If you want to hold a package edit your /etc/pacman.conf

IgnorePkg  = virtualbox-guest-utils

If you do that, X won't work. You'll also need to ignore xorg-server and everything that's built against the new ABI.

Offline

#7 2014-01-13 19:32:51

vanquish
Member
Registered: 2013-12-28
Posts: 43

Re: updating with pacman fails

Why this will breaking X? In worst case virtualbox isn't working anymore. There is no package depending on virtualbox-guest-utils itself. For virtualbox it's the same. The package (virtualbox-guest-utils) depends on virtualbox-guest-modules gcc-libs libxmu xorg-xrandr libxfixes X-ABI-VIDEODRV_VERSION<15). Or is there anything I've overseen. Don't bash for unknowing asking.

To be safe you can just ignore the whole virtualbox package. Or better deinstall the whole package and then upgrade.

Offline

#8 2014-01-13 20:03:50

scap
Member
Registered: 2011-05-28
Posts: 7

Re: updating with pacman fails

I did just that uninstalled and updated then reinstalled. It worked but I didn't like that I had to do that. Can someone explain what is actually going on here that causes this problem.

Offline

#9 2014-01-13 20:12:58

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 5,078

Re: updating with pacman fails

vanquish wrote:

Why this will breaking X? In worst case virtualbox isn't working anymore. There is no package depending on virtualbox-guest-utils itself. For virtualbox it's the same. The package (virtualbox-guest-utils) depends on virtualbox-guest-modules gcc-libs libxmu xorg-xrandr libxfixes X-ABI-VIDEODRV_VERSION<15). Or is there anything I've overseen. Don't bash for unknowing asking.

To be safe you can just ignore the whole virtualbox package. Or better deinstall the whole package and then upgrade.

virtualbox-guest-utils is only installed when Arch is installed in a VM, not as the host. It contains the xorg drivers for running inside of VirtualBox.

Offline

#10 2014-01-13 20:21:58

scap
Member
Registered: 2011-05-28
Posts: 7

Re: updating with pacman fails

actually it looks like I may have just broke my install

[scap@dev ~]$ sudo pacman -S virtualbox-guest-utils
[sudo] password for scap: 
resolving dependencies...
warning: cannot resolve "X-ABI-VIDEODRV_VERSION<15", a dependency of "virtualbox-guest-utils"
:: The following package cannot be upgraded due to unresolvable dependencies:
      virtualbox-guest-utils

:: Do you want to skip the above package for this upgrade? [y/N] 
error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: virtualbox-guest-utils: requires X-ABI-VIDEODRV_VERSION<15

Guess I will have to wait a few hours and try again.

Last edited by scap (2014-01-13 20:22:39)

Offline

#11 2014-01-13 20:22:07

vanquish
Member
Registered: 2013-12-28
Posts: 43

Re: updating with pacman fails

Thank you @ Scimmia!

Last edited by vanquish (2014-01-13 20:23:07)

Offline

#12 2014-01-13 20:25:12

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 5,078

Re: updating with pacman fails

scap, is there some problem with waiting until the new package hits [community]? I warned you that it would break X.

Offline

#13 2014-01-13 21:34:55

scap
Member
Registered: 2011-05-28
Posts: 7

Re: updating with pacman fails

You did warn me. I guess I am more or less upset that this could even occur at all. Not really sure what the circumstances are that cause this but it seems to me that if this happens to me a lot it would be unacceptable. I shouldn't have to wait hours or days to install or upgrade an OS and expect that it works. Maybe I am asking for something unreasonable but I don't think that  I am. I needed the updates to get my work done. Now instead of doing work I am sitting here waiting for a package to get pushed out...

Offline

#14 2014-01-13 21:43:08

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 19,058
Website

Re: updating with pacman fails

scap wrote:

You did warn me. I guess I am more or less upset that this could even occur at all. Not really sure what the circumstances are that cause this but it seems to me that if this happens to me a lot it would be unacceptable. I shouldn't have to wait hours or days to install or upgrade an OS and expect that it works. Maybe I am asking for something unreasonable but I don't think that  I am. I needed the updates to get my work done. Now instead of doing work I am sitting here waiting for a package to get pushed out...


Yes, it is quite unacceptable. Those lazy developers are clearly just wasting your time by not devoting enough of their spare time to pushing out packages immediately.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#15 2014-01-13 22:11:35

vanquish
Member
Registered: 2013-12-28
Posts: 43

Re: updating with pacman fails

I'm sorry for posting this solution. I didn't know this arch installation is running on a virtual machine. If I had known this I have warned more for using this solution.

@ scap: I know it's to late. But I insist you to switch your filesystem to btrfs. I think it's essential nowdays. Snapshots are a great advantage compared to the past. Especially on Distributions like Archlinux or Gentoo.

Offline

#16 2014-01-13 22:58:26

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 5,078

Re: updating with pacman fails

scap wrote:

I needed the updates to get my work done. Now instead of doing work I am sitting here waiting for a package to get pushed out...

This is why I asked if it was a problem to wait. If it is, enabling [testing] and [community-testing] is an option, although not a great option since it potentially can add packages that haven't been shown to be stable. Using the ARM (https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ar … ck_Machine) is another option, you can update the entire system to yesterday before the xorg-server upgrade happened.

Offline

#17 2014-01-13 23:09:04

mir91
Member
Registered: 2013-11-17
Posts: 115

Re: updating with pacman fails

jasonwryan wrote:
scap wrote:

You did warn me. I guess I am more or less upset that this could even occur at all. Not really sure what the circumstances are that cause this but it seems to me that if this happens to me a lot it would be unacceptable. I shouldn't have to wait hours or days to install or upgrade an OS and expect that it works. Maybe I am asking for something unreasonable but I don't think that  I am. I needed the updates to get my work done. Now instead of doing work I am sitting here waiting for a package to get pushed out...


Yes, it is quite unacceptable. Those lazy developers are clearly just wasting your time by not devoting enough of their spare time to pushing out packages immediately.

I'm on this forum because I've been wondering about that pacman message too.
I know where you're coming from, saying that sarcastic stuff, but unfortunately no matter how much time gets devoted, breaking stuff is still a bad thing.

Offline

#18 2014-01-13 23:32:38

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,608
Website

Re: updating with pacman fails

Enable [community-testing] in /etc/pacman.conf and then refresh and update.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#19 2014-01-13 23:39:10

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 19,058
Website

Re: updating with pacman fails

mir91 wrote:
jasonwryan wrote:
scap wrote:

You did warn me. I guess I am more or less upset that this could even occur at all. Not really sure what the circumstances are that cause this but it seems to me that if this happens to me a lot it would be unacceptable. I shouldn't have to wait hours or days to install or upgrade an OS and expect that it works. Maybe I am asking for something unreasonable but I don't think that  I am. I needed the updates to get my work done. Now instead of doing work I am sitting here waiting for a package to get pushed out...


Yes, it is quite unacceptable. Those lazy developers are clearly just wasting your time by not devoting enough of their spare time to pushing out packages immediately.

I'm on this forum because I've been wondering about that pacman message too.
I know where you're coming from, saying that sarcastic stuff, but unfortunately no matter how much time gets devoted, breaking stuff is still a bad thing.

I have no sympathy for someone who shows up here saying there machine has not been updated in "a long time" and then complains that packages are not available when they want them. That's not breakage, that's just PEBKAC.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#20 2014-01-14 00:52:40

smokex
Member
Registered: 2014-01-14
Posts: 1

Re: updating with pacman fails

I wonder if has made a comparison to other operating systems/distributions. Crying about waiting a day for THE LATEST STABLE SOFTWARE? On no other operating system/distribution could you even dream of having this set of recent, stable software.

Offline

#21 2014-01-14 01:35:53

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,142

Re: updating with pacman fails

Last I checked, Arch was free -- as in beer.  It is also maintained by people who give freely of their personal time.  Please say "Thank you for your efforts" and they will be happy.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#22 2014-01-14 02:27:03

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,371

Re: updating with pacman fails

If only Arch gave users the ability to compile their own packagess, so they wouldn't have to wait for updates that they can't wait for...


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

#23 2014-01-14 02:33:23

thiagowfx
Member
Registered: 2013-07-09
Posts: 532

Re: updating with pacman fails

jasonwryan wrote:

PEBKAC.

Today I learned a new term.

Fortunately there is ARM. But I think OP could use the pacman cache if his system had been upgraded often...

Last edited by thiagowfx (2014-01-14 02:35:22)

Offline

#24 2014-01-14 02:54:52

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,416
Website

Re: updating with pacman fails

If only someone had filed a bug saying virtualbox had not been moved from [testing] with Xorg-1.15...   Then it could have been fixed immediately.

Offline

#25 2014-01-14 03:38:23

frank604
Member
From: BC, Canada
Registered: 2011-04-20
Posts: 1,007
Website

Re: updating with pacman fails

Allan wrote:

If only someone had filed a bug saying virtualbox had not been moved from [testing] with Xorg-1.15...   Then it could have been fixed immediately.

Why file a bug report and get the issue fixed right away, or any other solution, when you can ...

scap wrote:

instead of doing work I am sitting here waiting for a package to get pushed out...

Last edited by frank604 (2014-01-14 03:38:39)


github       bible       blog       screenshot

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB