You are not logged in.

#1 2006-01-20 23:34:04

Southern_Trendkiller
Member
Registered: 2005-09-27
Posts: 31

How to add support for K8T800pro agpgart?

Hello everybody,
after some time with winslows xp i grew tired of M$'s crap once more and returned to arch. Although this time i'm here to stay (if i get this damn issue resolved, that is...). I'm having a hard time getting any hardware acceleration ( GF4 MX440 and GF6600) to work on my Asus A8V-Deluxe Mainboard (with a K8T800pro chipset on it), and i think it's because the kernel does not have an interface to the AGP.

Is there any solution to this? Is it possible to add an agpgart-driver to the kernel? I'm not a very advanced Arch user, but i know the *nix basics, i think.

Southern_Trendkiller

Offline

#2 2006-01-20 23:52:27

kth5
Member
Registered: 2004-04-29
Posts: 655
Website

Re: How to add support for K8T800pro agpgart?

tried probing via-agpsmile


I recognize that while theory and practice are, in theory, the same, they are, in practice, different. -Mark Mitchell

Offline

#3 2006-01-21 00:54:59

MNKyDeth
Member
From: MI
Registered: 2003-09-13
Posts: 89

Re: How to add support for K8T800pro agpgart?

There are 2 solutions for this.

1. If using the nvidia driver make sure you have Option "NvAGP" "3" in your xorg.conf file under the Driver "nvidia" name.

2. I am assuming this is an A64 setup from the chipset spec, so you can enable the A64 on chip gart. Snippet from the kernel: AMD Opteron/Athlon64 on-CPU GART support
Enable that if it's not. Maybe check out the help on this as well as there looks to be some good info there.

Well, those would be the first two I would try.

Offline

#4 2006-01-21 01:43:39

Southern_Trendkiller
Member
Registered: 2005-09-27
Posts: 31

Re: How to add support for K8T800pro agpgart?

kth5 -> i tried probing via-agp, but i didn't get lucky; i couldn't start up X.

MNKyDeth -> I tried your first option without succeeding, and i think that the A64 module is already loaded... but i got no clue why the heck the two GeForce cards i tried won't work. They both do their job under Window$, AFTER i installed the via-agp driver.

This is what i get when i enter "lsmod | grep agp" in a rootshell:

root@CFH$ lsmod | grep agp
amd64_agp               8904  1
agpgart                27048  1 amd64_agp

Thanks for the help so far, i had no idea where i should start looking for errors.

Southern_Trendkiller

Offline

#5 2006-01-21 07:42:51

MNKyDeth
Member
From: MI
Registered: 2003-09-13
Posts: 89

Re: How to add support for K8T800pro agpgart?

If you do have the amd64_agp being loaded make sure you have the nvidia drivers installed properly.

Should look something like this.

    Identifier  "GFFX 6800"
    Driver      "nvidia"
    Option      "NvAGP" "3"
    Option      "Coolbits" "1"

Now, if that is setup right, make sure glx is uncommented, no # in front of it. Like this.

    Load       "glx"

Make sure Load "dri" and Load "glcore" are commented out or removed from the xorg.conf file as they conflict with the nvidia driver. One this is set type, glxinfo | grep direct

If it says this,

direct rendering: Yes

Then everything is working properly for 3d accell. Oh, make sure composite is disabled.

Offline

#6 2006-01-21 10:33:46

Southern_Trendkiller
Member
Registered: 2005-09-27
Posts: 31

Re: How to add support for K8T800pro agpgart?

Thanx again for the help, but it didn't work this time either, the screen just blacks out and the system hangs.
But i really don't get why that happens, i'm not having any problems modprobing my nvidia-module. As soon as i start x again, the system hangs. This is really weird, and it must have something to do with that mainboard - On my old K7S5A mainboard, the older GeForce MX440 worked perfectly under linux.(i haven't tried to install the GeForce 6600 on the K7S5A.... yet.)

Any further clues as to why the nvidia driver isn't working are very appreciated.. and thanks for the help so far.

edit: typo

Offline

#7 2006-01-23 11:07:27

Southern_Trendkiller
Member
Registered: 2005-09-27
Posts: 31

Re: How to add support for K8T800pro agpgart?

I grew tired of my mainboard, so i switched to using the old one instead. Everything works with the K7S5A.


Southern_Trendkiller

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB