You are not logged in.

#1 2014-01-23 23:38:42

jowijo
Member
From: United States
Registered: 2014-01-23
Posts: 17

Building "Dream" in Arch Linux.

Hello fellow Archers, wondering if I could get some assistance in trying to build Dream on my Arch machine -- it is a critical part of a GNURadio graph I am putting together.

Since there are no builds in the AUR... nor any other thread I could find among the internet about building it here, I might as well start a thread.

I already have Jack and QT4 installed as they are needed for other packages, the Gentoo build guide, the closest thing to Arch they have; seems slightly outdated.

Anyway, thank you in advance. :)

Last edited by jowijo (2014-01-23 23:39:23)

Offline

#2 2014-01-23 23:59:23

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: England
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 4,873

Re: Building "Dream" in Arch Linux.

Seems pretty easy to build with qt5.. Is it essential that you build with qt4? If not, how far are you getting?


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Online

#3 2014-01-24 00:27:22

jowijo
Member
From: United States
Registered: 2014-01-23
Posts: 17

Re: Building "Dream" in Arch Linux.

2.1 supports QT5... However when I follow their instructions I get nothing. There doesn't appear to be a makefile anywhere in their source tarball.

Last edited by jowijo (2014-01-24 00:28:55)

Offline

#4 2014-01-24 00:31:29

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: England
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 4,873

Re: Building "Dream" in Arch Linux.

Well no, you have to generate one using the .pro file.

If you're interested, I've written a PKGBUILD and uploaded it to the AUR:  https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/dream-svn/

Let me know if you use it and run in to any problems, I don't use qt apps, or radio apps, so once the bugs are ironed out, I'll probably put it up for adoption. If you're interested in maintaining it, let me know in a reply and it's all yours.

Last edited by WorMzy (2014-01-24 00:34:28)


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Online

#5 2014-01-24 00:35:40

jowijo
Member
From: United States
Registered: 2014-01-23
Posts: 17

Re: Building "Dream" in Arch Linux.

If I had the time I would, I can't be the only one who would love to have this in the AUR.

Though, the build seems to run into a snag:

compilation terminated.
Makefile:10387: recipe for target 'obj/main.o' failed

I'll attempt to work with the source I have and see if I can build here.

Offline

#6 2014-01-24 00:41:11

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 2,143

Re: Building "Dream" in Arch Linux.

If you need qt4, you should be able to build Dream 1.17 with qmake followed by make.

: /tmp/dream $ qmake-qt4 
Project MESSAGE: Qt 4 release GUI mode
Project MESSAGE: with qwt
Project MESSAGE: with pulseaudio
Project MESSAGE: with pcap
Project MESSAGE: with libsndfile
Project MESSAGE: with fftw3
: /tmp/dream $ make
... (currently compiling, no error yet)

Edit: I have an older qwt version (v6.0, http://seblu.net/a/arm/packages/q/qwt/ )

Last edited by progandy (2014-01-24 00:55:30)

Offline

#7 2014-01-24 00:43:20

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: England
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 4,873

Re: Building "Dream" in Arch Linux.

If you could upload the full output to a pastebin, that might help isolate the problem. It builds in a clean chroot though, so I suspect the problem is with one or more of your local (unsupported) packages.. your 'pacman -Qm' output might be useful in that case.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Online

#8 2014-01-24 00:52:50

jowijo
Member
From: United States
Registered: 2014-01-23
Posts: 17

Re: Building "Dream" in Arch Linux.

Build in QTCreator ran fine. I'll throw up a pastebin in a sec.  Thank you for the pointers....it would've taken me awhile to investigate the .pro extension. Not used to building QT apps.

Offline

#9 2014-01-24 01:15:14

jowijo
Member
From: United States
Registered: 2014-01-23
Posts: 17

Re: Building "Dream" in Arch Linux.

Interestingly enough, it mentions there is JACK support and I see said Jack support in the QT Creator, however it doesn't build with JACK support.

By default it builds with Pulseaudio support which is unacceptable for my system as it needs JACK. Where do I insert makeflags or enable JACK support? I looked at sound.h and it looks like it can be done but I'm not sure how to call it as a definition for JACK doesn't exist in the .pro file.

Last edited by jowijo (2014-01-24 01:15:26)

Offline

#10 2014-01-24 01:42:00

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: England
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 4,873

Re: Building "Dream" in Arch Linux.

Replace libpulse with portaudio in the depends array. I built with libpulse (pulseaudio) as it's more commonly used, the two are interchangeable at compile time, and the compilation will use whichever it finds, though apparently neither are compiled in, so you might be able to use either if I remove libpulse from the depends array and add both to the optdepends array, which makes things much more fun, haha.

Feel like trying it?

https://github.com/WorMzy/PKGBUILDs/blo … n/PKGBUILD

Last edited by WorMzy (2014-01-24 01:42:42)


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Online

#11 2014-01-24 01:59:45

jowijo
Member
From: United States
Registered: 2014-01-23
Posts: 17

Re: Building "Dream" in Arch Linux.

Still throws a fit about Pulse even with pulse removed from the depends.

CSoundInPulse::Read(): read_HW error
CSoundOutPulse::Write(): write_HW error

The PKGBUILD works though. Though it looks different than my build, which version are you using? (I built 2.11).

I'm making a post in their support forums to see what the devs say.

Last edited by jowijo (2014-01-24 02:02:01)

Offline

#12 2014-01-24 02:44:26

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: England
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 4,873

Re: Building "Dream" in Arch Linux.

My PKGBUILD pulls the latest SVN sources, which may or may not be stable.

I have to admit that I assumed that, since it build on my machine, it worked As it turns out, this is incorrect, and running the compiled binary results in a segfault[1]. I believe that this is an upstream problem since the package builds correctly and ldd reports that all dynamic libs are present [2]. If these outputs are of use to the upstream devs, please pass them on.

[1] http://pastebin.com/H5qDEDAu
[2] http://pastebin.com/puTPNupi

Last edited by WorMzy (2014-01-24 03:37:38)


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Online

#13 2014-01-24 06:02:46

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 18,114
Website

Re: Building "Dream" in Arch Linux.

Moving to AUR Issues & PKGBUILD Requests...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#14 2014-02-06 14:00:39

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: England
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 4,873

Re: Building "Dream" in Arch Linux.

I found out why my build was segfaulting, "qwt" is apparently qt4 widgets, I needed to compile against the awkwardly-named qwt-qt5 from the AUR. Not sure if that's the problem you were having, but it might be worth double-checking that you're not compiling against a mix of qt4 and qt5 libraries.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB