You are not logged in.

#1 2004-02-06 15:08:58

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,442

asq: tweaking sceleton as new user default?

Does anyone have an idea how root can tweak the sceleton for new users? You know, add starters, change menues etc, in gnome.


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

#2 2004-02-07 00:48:45

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: asq: tweaking sceleton as new user default?

the skeleton for new users is in

/etc/skel

and is per default not really big ... only the necessary stuff ...

[damir@Asteraceae skel]$ ls -la
total 18
drwxr-xr-x    2 root     root          128 Dec 20 01:41 .
drwxr-xr-x   49 root     root         4856 Feb  7 01:35 ..
-rw-r--r--    1 root     root           16 Dec 20 10:43 .bash_profile
-rw-r--r--    1 root     root           47 Dec 20 10:43 .bashrc
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root          160 Dec 20 10:43 .xinitrc
[damir@Asteraceae skel]$ 

i dont know the specific info for gnome ... maybe they even made some menu-option to do this ... but in general, just make in /etc/skel a subdir called .gnome/... and put the file you want the users to have there


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#3 2004-02-07 13:45:45

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,442

Re: asq: tweaking sceleton as new user default?

wink


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB