You are not logged in.

#1 2013-12-17 09:33:54

antonio
Member
Registered: 2013-12-17
Posts: 4

Arch GRUB asking for /run/lvm/lvmetad.socket on a non lvm disk

I am running this script based on the ArchWiki setup procedure. It fails on the GRUB configuration step

I am using the archlinux-2013.12.01-dual.iso inside VMware Player with 1 GB ram, sda is 810 MB. I have also mounted a CIFS share on the host machine.

 # DEV=sda
 # PART=sda1
 # echo "1,,L,*" | sfdisk /dev/$DEV
 # mkfs.ext3 /dev/$PART
 # mount /dev/$PART /mnt
 # pacstrap -i /mnt base 
 # genfstab -U -p /mnt >> /mnt/etc/fstab
 # arch-chroot /mnt 
 # pacman -S grub
 # pacman -S os-prober
 # grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

I get:

Generating grub configuration file ...
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-linux
Found initrd image: /boot/initramfs-linux.img
  /run/lvm/lvmetad.socket: connect failed: No such file or directory
  WARNING: Failed to connect to lvmetad: No such file or directory. Falling back to internal scanning.
  /run/lvm/lvmetad.socket: connect failed: No such file or directory
  /run/lvm/lvmetad.socket: connect failed: No such file or directory
  No volume groups found
error: out of memory.
error: syntax error.
error: Incorrect command.
error: syntax error.
Syntax error at line 164
Syntax errors are detected in generated GRUB config file.
Ensure that there are no errors in /etc/default/grub
and /etc/grub.d/* files or please file a bug report with
/boot/grub/grub.cfg.new file attached.done

I didn't install LVM partitions/drives.

# fdisk -l /dev/sda

Disk /dev/sda: 819 MiB, 858783744 bytes, 1677312 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disklabel type: dos
Disk identifier: 0x000d5a2a

Device    Boot Start       End Blocks  Id System
/dev/sda1       2048   1677311 837632  83 Linux


# lsblk 

NAME              MAJ:MIN RM   SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
fd0                 2:0    1     4K  0 disk 
sda                 8:0    0   819M  0 disk 
└─sda1              8:1    0   818M  0 part /mnt
sr0                11:0    1   522M  0 rom  /run/archiso/bootmnt
sr1                11:1    1    10M  0 rom  
loop0               7:0    0 224.2M  1 loop /run/archiso/sfs/root-image
loop1               7:1    0   1.4G  1 loop 
└─arch_root-image 254:0    0   1.4G  0 dm   /
loop2               7:2    0   1.4G  0 loop 
└─arch_root-image 254:0    0   1.4G  0 dm   /

/boot/grub/grub.cfg.new is:

#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
insmod part_gpt
insmod part_msdos
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  load_env
fi
if [ "${next_entry}" ] ; then
   set default="${next_entry}"
   set next_entry=
   save_env next_entry
   set boot_once=true
else
   set default="0"
fi

if [ x"${feature_menuentry_id}" = xy ]; then
  menuentry_id_option="--id"
else
  menuentry_id_option=""
fi

export menuentry_id_option

if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}

function load_video {
  if [ x$feature_all_video_module = xy ]; then
    insmod all_video
  else
    insmod efi_gop
    insmod efi_uga
    insmod ieee1275_fb
    insmod vbe
    insmod vga
    insmod video_bochs
    insmod video_cirrus
  fi
}

if [ x$feature_default_font_path = xy ] ; then
   font=unicode
else
insmod part_msdos 
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos1'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  9d1d349e-d061-4e0f-9312-be19ca2dcb74
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 9d1d349e-d061-4e0f-9312-be19ca2dcb74
fi
    font="/usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2"
fi

if loadfont $font ; then
  set gfxmode=auto
  load_video
  insmod gfxterm
  set locale_dir=$prefix/locale
  set lang=en_US
  insmod gettext
fi
terminal_input console
terminal_output gfxterm
set timeout=5
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Arch Linux, with Linux core repo kernel' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-core repo kernel-true-9d1d349e-d061-4e0f-9312-be19ca2dcb74' {
	load_video
	set gfxpayload=keep
	insmod gzio
	insmod part_msdos 
	insmod ext2
	set root='hd0,msdos1'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  9d1d349e-d061-4e0f-9312-be19ca2dcb74
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 9d1d349e-d061-4e0f-9312-be19ca2dcb74
	fi
	echo	'Loading Linux core repo kernel ...'
	linux	/boot/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=9d1d349e-d061-4e0f-9312-be19ca2dcb74 rw  quiet
	echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
	initrd	/boot/initramfs-linux.img
}
menuentry 'Arch Linux, with Linux core repo kernel (Fallback initramfs)' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-core repo kernel-fallback-9d1d349e-d061-4e0f-9312-be19ca2dcb74' {
	load_video
	set gfxpayload=keep
	insmod gzio
	insmod part_msdos 
	insmod ext2
	set root='hd0,msdos1'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  9d1d349e-d061-4e0f-9312-be19ca2dcb74
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 9d1d349e-d061-4e0f-9312-be19ca2dcb74
	fi
	echo	'Loading Linux core repo kernel ...'
	linux	/boot/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=9d1d349e-d061-4e0f-9312-be19ca2dcb74 rw  quiet
	echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
	initrd	/boot/initramfs-linux-fallback.img
}
menuentry 'Arch Linux' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-9d1d349e-d061-4e0f-9312-be19ca2dcb74' {
	load_video
	set gfxpayload=keep
	insmod gzio
	insmod part_msdos 
	insmod ext2
	set root='hd0,msdos1'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  9d1d349e-d061-4e0f-9312-be19ca2dcb74
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 9d1d349e-d061-4e0f-9312-be19ca2dcb74
	fi
	echo	'Loading Linux core repo kernel ...'
	linux	/boot/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=9d1d349e-d061-4e0f-9312-be19ca2dcb74 rw  quiet
	echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
	initrd	/boot/initramfs-linux-fallback.img
}
submenu 'Advanced options for Arch Linux' $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-advanced-9d1d349e-d061-4e0f-9312-be19ca2dcb74' {

### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f  ${config_directory}/custom.cfg ]; then
  source ${config_directory}/custom.cfg
elif [ -z "${config_directory}" -a -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/60_memtest86+ ###
### END /etc/grub.d/60_memtest86+ ###

Last edited by antonio (2013-12-17 19:37:16)

Offline

#2 2013-12-17 12:17:57

danfossi
Member
Registered: 2013-06-05
Posts: 20

Re: Arch GRUB asking for /run/lvm/lvmetad.socket on a non lvm disk

Hi,
have you previously configured an lvm on that disk ?

It's possible that there are still the LVM metadata on disk

Offline

#3 2013-12-17 14:41:55

antonio
Member
Registered: 2013-12-17
Posts: 4

Re: Arch GRUB asking for /run/lvm/lvmetad.socket on a non lvm disk

Never intentionally

Before I used:

echo "1,,L,*" | sfdisk /dev/$DEV
mkfs.ext3 /dev/$PART
mount /dev/$PART /mnt
pacstrap -i /mnt base 
genfstab -U -p /mnt >> /mnt/etc/fstab

etc...

where PART and DEV are sda, sda1

I think that, after sdisk and mkfs, there should be no metadata leftover of any kind.

Offline

#4 2013-12-18 16:07:19

antonio
Member
Registered: 2013-12-17
Posts: 4

Re: Arch GRUB asking for /run/lvm/lvmetad.socket on a non lvm disk

There is an apparent bug in the `grub-mkconfig` helper script, `/etc/grub.d/10_linux`, which makes the  fallback initramfs GRUB entry not compatible with the GRUB submenus system. As the usage of a fallback initramfs  is very specific of  Arch and  derivatives, it is not supported by upstream  `grub-mkconfig`.  A definitive  fix is still in progress. See more details on bugs.archlinux.org


A temporary  workaround therefore is disabling submenus in GRUB, by appending:

GRUB_DISABLE_SUBMENU=y

to `/etc/default/grub`.

Unfortunately, by disabling submenus, I avoid only the second error raised by `grub-mkconfig`.

So, wtih:

# arch-chroot /mnt grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

I still get:

Generating grub configuration file ...
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-linux
Found initrd image: /boot/initramfs-linux.img
  /run/lvm/lvmetad.socket: connect failed: No such file or directory
  WARNING: Failed to connect to lvmetad: No such file or directory. Falling back to internal scanning.
  /run/lvm/lvmetad.socket: connect failed: No such file or directory
  /run/lvm/lvmetad.socket: connect failed: No such file or directory
  No volume groups found

I never installed LVM partitions/drives and, as you can see from my question, I partitioned and formatted the system. Anyway, after fixing the GRUB error, I tried both:

systemctl start lvmetad

and

systemctl start lvmetad.service

and I ran again `pacstrap`, without success.

Offline

#5 2013-12-23 12:28:48

sh4wn
Member
Registered: 2013-09-17
Posts: 8

Re: Arch GRUB asking for /run/lvm/lvmetad.socket on a non lvm disk

I have the same problem. Dual boot with Windows 8, and after the upgrade to 8.1 trying to reinstall grub. Never used LVM2 on this laptop, and it's just a single Linux partition. Tried disabling the submenus too, but no luck.

Using the December Arch Linux ISO.

Offline

#6 2014-03-08 23:14:08

bbarcher
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2014-02-27
Posts: 174
Website

Re: Arch GRUB asking for /run/lvm/lvmetad.socket on a non lvm disk

Same problem here.
sda, a SSD
MBR, no LVM (no lvm in the active mkinitcpio.cfg line)
BIOS system
Dual boot (windows 7 first)

grub-mkconfig detects and configures the Windows on sda1/2 and my other Linux on sdb, no errors, bootable

Partition setup story:
1. clonezilla: restoredisk, image made from HDD with only Windows 7 installed and no linux history (so no lvm residues); most probably MBR
2. sda7 ext4 created for arch to be restored from an `rsync -ax` backup; `rsync -ax` used
3. attempts to reinstall grub, pacman -S linux linux-headers, mkinitcpio -p linux . . .

Uncommented lines in my /etc/mkinitcpio.cfg

MODULES=""

BINARIES=""

FILES=""

HOOKS="base udev autodetect modconf block filesystems keyboard fsck"

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=178209

Last edited by bbarcher (2014-03-09 00:08:24)


Put up or shut up. 
--Austin Meyer, the lead developer of X-Plane
[ url=http://... ]  Text  [ /url ]

Offline

#7 2014-03-09 00:00:32

Strike0
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2011-09-05
Posts: 1,277

Re: Arch GRUB asking for /run/lvm/lvmetad.socket on a non lvm disk

What is the result when trying pactrap, Antonio?

The problem is the grub and you should be able to ignore the lvmmetad service:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Dm-crypt/Encrypting_an_Entire_System#Configuring_the_boot_loader_2 wrote:

Note: When reinstalling GRUB, you may receive warnings like /run/lvm/lvmetad.socket: connect failed: No such file or directory or WARNING: failed to connect to lvmetad: No such file or directory. Falling back to internal scanning. This is because /run is not available inside the chroot. These warnings will not prevent the system from booting, provided that everything has been done correctly, so you may continue with the installation.

Offline

#8 2014-03-09 00:21:55

bbarcher
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2014-02-27
Posts: 174
Website

Re: Arch GRUB asking for /run/lvm/lvmetad.socket on a non lvm disk

http://unix.stackexchange.com/questions … n-lvm-disk
No solutions then. Sorry for imposing.

Last edited by bbarcher (2014-03-09 00:22:54)


Put up or shut up. 
--Austin Meyer, the lead developer of X-Plane
[ url=http://... ]  Text  [ /url ]

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB