You are not logged in.

#1 2006-02-04 08:11:45

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

ati-drivers-arch. ATI for stock kernel.

Despite the fact I love everyone using my ArchCK because it has ATI drivers, ATI drivers now work on the stock kernel too.

S1G1 made a package and put it in the AUR, which I have since adopted and put into community.

Over the next few days as the mirrors sync, you will be able to get the ati driver for the vanilla kernel, by installing, 'ati-drivers-arch' from community.

iphitus

Offline

#2 2006-02-04 12:00:44

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,837

Re: ati-drivers-arch. ATI for stock kernel.

That's showing as an orphan, iphitus - thought you'd like to know.

Offline

#3 2006-02-04 12:29:10

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: ati-drivers-arch. ATI for stock kernel.

Wierd, it showed up as mine this morning. I definitely adopted it yesterday.

Oh well, re-adopted, and the package should have spread a bit by now.

iphitus

Offline

#4 2006-02-04 13:21:42

florian
Member
Registered: 2005-11-20
Posts: 11

Re: ati-drivers-arch. ATI for stock kernel.

when I do 'pacman -S ati-drivers-arch' I get the following message:

"""
PLEASE NOTE:
ATI drivers do not function with the stock Arch Linux kernel.
To function the drivers require agp support build as a module.
for more information please see
  http://wiki2.archlinux.org/index.php/Ati Radeon & Kernel 2.6
"""

Might be a good idea to remove this message, after all this package is supposed to work with the stock kernel.

Offline

#5 2006-02-04 14:05:24

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: ati-drivers-arch. ATI for stock kernel.

oops, thanks ill remove that tommorow morning

iphitus

Offline

#6 2006-02-04 15:06:42

Cerebral
Forum Fellow
From: Waterloo, ON, CA
Registered: 2005-04-08
Posts: 3,108
Website

Re: ati-drivers-arch. ATI for stock kernel.

You know what, I'm looking at the nvidia package in [extra] right now.  It looks like THAT package actually builds the kernel driver during post_install, which essentially makes it a kernel-independant package.

You figure this is a good way to take the ati driver as well?  I could probably whip up a PKGBUILD for that in no time flat.

Offline

#7 2006-02-04 18:05:22

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: ati-drivers-arch. ATI for stock kernel.

iphitus wrote:

Wierd, it showed up as mine this morning. I definitely adopted it yesterday.

Oh well, re-adopted, and the package should have spread a bit by now.

iphitus

When a package from unsupported is moved to the community repo, it always gets orphaned. I don't know why it happens, if it's a bug or just how the AUR interface works. Just remember to readopt it after it's in community.

Offline

#8 2006-02-06 12:02:49

Avenger
Member
Registered: 2005-11-11
Posts: 62

Re: ati-drivers-arch. ATI for stock kernel.

I know Xorg 7 is still in testing, but how about making an ATi package for it too? As I guess this one only works with Xorg 6?

Offline

#9 2006-02-06 12:18:56

Cerebral
Forum Fellow
From: Waterloo, ON, CA
Registered: 2005-04-08
Posts: 3,108
Website

Re: ati-drivers-arch. ATI for stock kernel.

Offline

#10 2006-02-06 14:39:32

phxx
Member
From: Germany > Greater Munich > Reh
Registered: 2006-02-01
Posts: 21

Re: ati-drivers-arch. ATI for stock kernel.

Hi,

I try the whole last week to get the fglrx-driver running...
[see topic: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?p=140623]

Also with this patch: It doesn't work for me :-(

phxx


ACER Extensa 4102 WMLi
Intel Pentium M 740
AIT MOBILITY RADEON X700

Offline

#11 2006-02-06 18:09:27

Cerebral
Forum Fellow
From: Waterloo, ON, CA
Registered: 2005-04-08
Posts: 3,108
Website

Re: ati-drivers-arch. ATI for stock kernel.

Cerebral wrote:

You know what, I'm looking at the nvidia package in [extra] right now.  It looks like THAT package actually builds the kernel driver during post_install, which essentially makes it a kernel-independant package.

You figure this is a good way to take the ati driver as well?  I could probably whip up a PKGBUILD for that in no time flat.

Allrighty, well, I got no response to this, but I was interested in the idea, so I made a PKGBUILD, based off the nvidia package, that should be kernel-independant and builds the driver at install-time.

I've tarballed up the PKGBUILD and related files.  However, I have not and can not test this package because I'm running Xorg 7 from [testing].  So you've been warned -- however, if some nice person out there would like to test and verify the package works as expected, that would be terriffic.

Here is the tarball.

Offline

#12 2006-02-06 18:19:15

postlogic
Member
Registered: 2005-02-24
Posts: 410
Website

Re: ati-drivers-arch. ATI for stock kernel.

Well I decided to give it a try... But:

==> Entering fakeroot environment
==> Making package: ati-drivers-arch 8.21.7-3 (Mon Feb  6 19:18:13 CET 2006)
==> Checking Runtime Dependencies...
==> Checking Buildtime Dependencies...
==> Retrieving Sources...
==>     Downloading fglrx_6_8_0-8.21.7-1.i386.rpm
--19:18:18--  https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/9206/0/www2.ati.com/drivers/linux/fglrx_6_8_0-8.21.7-1.i386.rpm
           => `fglrx_6_8_0-8.21.7-1.i386.rpm'
Resolving a248.e.akamai.net... 217.13.4.151, 217.13.4.150
Connecting to a248.e.akamai.net|217.13.4.151|:443... connected.
ERROR: Certificate verification error for a248.e.akamai.net: unable to get local issuer certificate
To connect to a248.e.akamai.net insecurely, use `--no-check-certificate'.
Unable to establish SSL connection.
==> ERROR: Failed to download fglrx_6_8_0-8.21.7-1.i386.rpm
==> Aborting...

Offline

#13 2006-02-06 18:22:59

Cerebral
Forum Fellow
From: Waterloo, ON, CA
Registered: 2005-04-08
Posts: 3,108
Website

Re: ati-drivers-arch. ATI for stock kernel.

postlogic wrote:

Well I decided to give it a try... But:
..snip..

edit:
Found a better URL.  Added that to the PKGBUILD on my site... try now.

Offline

#14 2006-02-06 18:38:30

napoleon
Member
Registered: 2005-04-03
Posts: 176

Re: ati-drivers-arch. ATI for stock kernel.

Cerebral wrote:

However, I have not and can not test this package because I'm running Xorg 7 from [testing].  So you've been warned -- however, if some nice person out there would like to test and verify the package works as expected, that would be terriffic.

Here is the tarball.

Oh does it mean that this method of your does not work with xorg 7? Isn't that a bit strange?


A good friend will come and bail you out of jail...BUT a true friend will be sitting next to you saying, "Damn...that was fun!"

Offline

#15 2006-02-06 18:46:36

Cerebral
Forum Fellow
From: Waterloo, ON, CA
Registered: 2005-04-08
Posts: 3,108
Website

Re: ati-drivers-arch. ATI for stock kernel.

napoleon wrote:

Oh does it mean that this method of your does not work with xorg 7? Isn't that a bit strange?

Well, no, the method should work fine for Xorg 7 too, but I just adapted an Xorg 6.8 package (specifically ati-drivers-arch) to do this.  I'll probably end up adapting my Xorg 7 package as well and testing it out, but right now I really don't have the time.

Offline

#16 2006-02-06 19:22:50

napoleon
Member
Registered: 2005-04-03
Posts: 176

Re: ati-drivers-arch. ATI for stock kernel.

Thanks Cerebral, please don't forget to let us know when you have got it working will you? Thanks.


A good friend will come and bail you out of jail...BUT a true friend will be sitting next to you saying, "Damn...that was fun!"

Offline

#17 2006-02-06 21:50:02

Cerebral
Forum Fellow
From: Waterloo, ON, CA
Registered: 2005-04-08
Posts: 3,108
Website

Re: ati-drivers-arch. ATI for stock kernel.

Offline

#18 2006-02-07 17:30:53

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

Re: ati-drivers-arch. ATI for stock kernel.

Avenger wrote:

I know Xorg 7 is still in testing, but how about making an ATi package for it too? As I guess this one only works with Xorg 6?

It's very much against the Arch ethos to provide pkgs to cover every eventuality.  We encourage people to become familiar with ABS (Arch Build System) to account for smaller desires and preferences.

Offline

#19 2006-02-08 21:18:29

rbl
Member
Registered: 2005-08-29
Posts: 64

Re: ati-drivers-arch. ATI for stock kernel.

I currently use kernel26 2.6.15.3 (fresh install, no more archck, since I now have an encrypted root fs on my notebook and archck doesn't seem to support initrd) so I am trying the ati-drivers-arch. Most things look ok:

$ glxinfo
name of display: :0.0
display: :0  screen: 0
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.2
...
client glx vendor string: ATI
client glx version string: 1.3
...
OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: MOBILITY/RADEON 9000 DDR Generic
OpenGL version string: 1.3.1041 (X4.3.0-8.21.7)

Problem: Enemy-Territory and Quake3 won't run - they're freezing right after the short intro video, when they should show the menu.
X (6.8.2) spits out these errors, maybe they're related:

(EE) Failed to load module "dri" (once-only module, #)
(EE) Failed to load module "glx" (once-only module, #)

so.. what's the deal here?

Offline

#20 2006-02-08 21:44:28

Cerebral
Forum Fellow
From: Waterloo, ON, CA
Registered: 2005-04-08
Posts: 3,108
Website

Re: ati-drivers-arch. ATI for stock kernel.

rbl wrote:

I currently use kernel26 2.6.15.3 (fresh install, no more archck, since I now have an encrypted root fs on my notebook and archck doesn't seem to support initrd)

kernel26archck-2.6.15 uses initramfs, which provides the same functionality as initrd but, as I'm told, is better. 
Setup is the same as with initrd, except you edit /etc/mkinitramfs.conf and run mkinitramfs auto

X (6.8.2) spits out these errors, maybe they're related:

(EE) Failed to load module "dri" (once-only module, #)
(EE) Failed to load module "glx" (once-only module, #)

so.. what's the deal here?

Check your xorg.conf "Modules" section -- are 'dri' and 'glx' listed twice in there?

Offline

#21 2006-02-09 14:13:15

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

Re: ati-drivers-arch. ATI for stock kernel.

Cerebral wrote:

Check your xorg.conf "Modules" section -- are 'dri' and 'glx' listed twice in there?

The order they are loaded is important too smile

Offline

#22 2006-02-09 17:29:14

rbl
Member
Registered: 2005-08-29
Posts: 64

Re: ati-drivers-arch. ATI for stock kernel.

Cerebral wrote:

kernel26archck-2.6.15 uses initramfs, which provides the same functionality as initrd but, as I'm told, is better.
Setup is the same as with initrd, except you edit /etc/mkinitramfs.conf and run mkinitramfs auto

good to know.. but I'd need the archck kernel on an install cd for that, wouldn't I? Which it normally isn't afaik. Or does the stock one support initrd and initramfs?
But anyhow, I already experienced the very same problem in enemy-territory and quake3 with kernel26archck-2.6.15 and ati-drivers sad

Cerebral wrote:

Check your xorg.conf "Modules" section -- are 'dri' and 'glx' listed twice in there?

errr... seems so :oops: fixed that. thanks!

dibblethewrecker wrote:

The order they are loaded is important too  smile

didn't know that one! but it doesn't seem to change anything if I switch the order.. at least nothing obvious. Module section now looks like this:

Section "Module"
  Load       "dri"
  Load       "glx"
    SubSection  "extmod"
      Option         "omit xfree86-dga"
    EndSubSection
  Load  "type1"
  Load  "freetype"
EndSection

Device section:

Section "Device"
  Identifier  "Radeon1"
  Driver      "fglrx"
  Option      "no_accel"                   "no"
  Option      "no_dri"                     "no"
  Option      "mtrr"                       "off"
  Option      "DesktopSetup"               "0x00000000"
  Option      "MonitorLayout"              "AUTO, AUTO"
  Option      "IgnoreEDID"                 "off"
  Option      "HSync2"                     "unspecified"
  Option      "VRefresh2"                  "unspecified"
  Option      "ScreenOverlap"              "0"
  Option      "NoTV"                       "yes"
  Option      "TVStandard"                 "NTSC-M"
  Option      "TVHSizeAdj"                 "0"
  Option      "TVVSizeAdj"                 "0"
  Option      "TVHPosAdj"                  "0"
  Option      "TVVPosAdj"                  "0"
  Option      "TVHStartAdj"                "0"
  Option      "TVColorAdj"                 "0"
  Option      "GammaCorrectionI"           "0x06419064"
  Option      "GammaCorrectionII"          "0x06419064"
  Option      "Capabilities"               "0x00000000"
  Option      "VideoOverlay"               "on"
  Option      "OpenGLOverlay"              "off"
  Option      "CenterMode"                 "off"
  Option      "PseudoColorVisuals"         "off"
  Option      "Stereo"                     "off"
  Option      "StereoSyncEnable"           "1"
  Option      "FSAAEnable"                 "no"
  Option      "FSAAScale"                  "1"
  Option      "FSAADisableGamma"           "no"
  Option      "FSAACustomizeMSPos"         "no"
  Option      "FSAAMSPosX0"                "0.000000"
  Option      "FSAAMSPosY0"                "0.000000"
  Option      "FSAAMSPosX1"                "0.000000"
  Option      "FSAAMSPosY1"                "0.000000"
  Option      "FSAAMSPosX2"                "0.000000"
  Option      "FSAAMSPosY2"                "0.000000"
  Option      "FSAAMSPosX3"                "0.000000"
  Option      "FSAAMSPosY3"                "0.000000"
  Option      "FSAAMSPosX4"                "0.000000"
  Option      "FSAAMSPosY4"                "0.000000"
  Option      "FSAAMSPosX5"                "0.000000"
  Option      "FSAAMSPosY5"                "0.000000"
  Option      "UseFastTLS"                 "0"
  Option      "BlockSignalsOnLock"         "on"
  Option      "UseInternalAGPGART"         "no"
  Option      "ForceGenericCPU"            "no"
  BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Well, the enemy-territory problem persists.. am I still missing something or are the ati drivers a bit messed up with 2.6.15?

Offline

#23 2006-02-09 18:25:28

Cerebral
Forum Fellow
From: Waterloo, ON, CA
Registered: 2005-04-08
Posts: 3,108
Website

Re: ati-drivers-arch. ATI for stock kernel.

rbl wrote:

Well, the enemy-territory problem persists.. am I still missing something or are the ati drivers a bit messed up with 2.6.15?

Even with the patch available, I had serious problems with 2.6.15 and ATI Drivers 8.21.7.. I ended up reverting to archck2.6.14 (which doesn't support initramfs, just FYI) to fix it up.

Eventually I might upgrade to 2.6.15 again and fix up 8.20.8 ati drivers to work with it.. but right now I'm content with 2.6.14

Offline

#24 2006-02-09 19:22:50

Cerebral
Forum Fellow
From: Waterloo, ON, CA
Registered: 2005-04-08
Posts: 3,108
Website

Re: ati-drivers-arch. ATI for stock kernel.

New drivers version just made available!!

ATI RSS Feed wrote:

Linux Proprietary Driver 8.22.5 Release: x86 and x86_64 variants

NEW FEATURES: (1) ATI Proprietary Linux Driver now supports Linux Kernel 2.6.15. ISSUES RESOLVED: (1) Creating 22 or more display configuration mode lines in the X Server configuration file no longer results in a fatal server error.

I'm working on updating my packages now.

Offline

#25 2006-02-10 16:26:01

rbl
Member
Registered: 2005-08-29
Posts: 64

Re: ati-drivers-arch. ATI for stock kernel.

Cerebral wrote:

New drivers version just made available!!
I'm working on updating my packages now.

Well.. I just couldn't wait and modified a local PKGBUILD for ati-drivers-arch to use the 8.22.5 drivers and installed it. The friggin' problem with enemy-territory persists! Everything else still works fine.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB