You are not logged in.

#1 2006-02-04 08:49:19

mtrivs
Member
From: Syracuse, NY
Registered: 2005-12-26
Posts: 183

Device not found [SOLVED]

Objective:
Repartition my external HD so that i have a 5GB FAT32 partition
Problem:  When i type fdisk -l i dont see any devices with sdaX

Additional info:  I will be using qtparted to resize the NTFS partition and make a FAT32 Parition.  I have my /etc/fstab set with the following:

/dev/sda1       /mnt/external  ntfs    user,nls=utf8,umask=0222 0        0

and when it boots i get the message:

/mnt/external: device /dev/sda1 cannot be found

When i try and mount it i get this:
http://img151.imageshack.us/img151/6008/error1mj.png
I also get an error message something like this:

/dev/null: file already exists

I dont know if the two are related or not.....Can someone give me a starting point for this?

I tried searching the forum, but couldnt find anything that solved my problem


~HP ZV6000 Series CTO~
-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 2.0GHz
-1.5GB RAM
-128MB ATI Mobility Radeon X200m
-80GB 5400RPM HD
[img]http://imagegen.last.fm/scarface/recenttracks/mtrivs.gif[/img]

Offline

#2 2006-02-04 09:16:33

rayjgu3
Member
From: Chicago IL usa
Registered: 2004-07-04
Posts: 692

Re: Device not found [SOLVED]

in /etc/rc.conf is auto loading of modules yes or no ?
if yes may be you need to write a udev rule
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Usi … _udev_rule

what you may also need is this
udevinfo -a -p /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:10.4/usb1/1-1
check out what i learned bout writing a rule
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … highlight=

Offline

#3 2006-02-05 03:04:10

mtrivs
Member
From: Syracuse, NY
Registered: 2005-12-26
Posts: 183

Re: Device not found [SOLVED]

Thanks for the info rayjgu3.....I created a udev rule in /etc/udev/rules.d/00.rules and restarted udev.. I think it worked, but is there a way i can find out for sure?


~HP ZV6000 Series CTO~
-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 2.0GHz
-1.5GB RAM
-128MB ATI Mobility Radeon X200m
-80GB 5400RPM HD
[img]http://imagegen.last.fm/scarface/recenttracks/mtrivs.gif[/img]

Offline

#4 2006-02-08 02:11:58

rayjgu3
Member
From: Chicago IL usa
Registered: 2004-07-04
Posts: 692

Re: Device not found [SOLVED]

can you mount ,read & write to device?
if so its working
what rule did you make ?
sorry i havent got back to you sooner but i cant spend as much time as id like here in forums
if you have solved the problem post answer here then edit the subject " [SOLVED] "

Offline

#5 2006-02-08 05:59:58

mtrivs
Member
From: Syracuse, NY
Registered: 2005-12-26
Posts: 183

Re: Device not found [SOLVED]

sorry, forgot to do that on this thread!!.....I can read/write to it fine!!


~HP ZV6000 Series CTO~
-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 2.0GHz
-1.5GB RAM
-128MB ATI Mobility Radeon X200m
-80GB 5400RPM HD
[img]http://imagegen.last.fm/scarface/recenttracks/mtrivs.gif[/img]

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB