You are not logged in.

#1 2006-02-08 16:00:35

viniosity
Member
From: New York, NY
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 378
Website

CUPS question

I'm trying to get my Brother 5070N working via CUPS.  Even though I downloaded the PPD and put it in /usr/share/cups/model it doesn't show up for me to select.  I've also tried using the install option via the gnome-cups-manager but it either tells me that it's already installed (if the PPD I select is in the above folder) or that it's missing an adobe header file (if I move the ppd to root and select it from there.)

What's the secret?  I notice that there are a lot more files in ppd.gz format in /usr/share/cups/model/C/  Do I have to compress the ppd or something?

PS: I also have taken the PPD directly from my install CD but have the same problem.  I've checked permissions and ownership and they are ok.

Offline

#2 2006-02-08 16:10:49

dojo
Member
Registered: 2005-11-02
Posts: 96

Re: CUPS question

Did you restart your cups-server? After restart you should be able to configure your printer via http://localhost:631

Greets

Sunnemer

Offline

#3 2006-02-08 16:36:02

viniosity
Member
From: New York, NY
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 378
Website

Re: CUPS question

No, I hadn't restarted CUPS (I wish I could blame that on lack of coffee but truthfully this didn't even occur to me). After doing that the PPD shows up as expected.  Many thanks!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB