You are not logged in.

#1 2006-02-10 01:42:23

viniosity
Member
From: New York, NY
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 378
Website

working below max speed when plugged in

My laptop is currently plugged in and I'm working it pretty hard.  Still, my e17 cpu monitor is showing it at 1.2GHz which is below the max of 1.5 it's capable of.  I'm working on AC so would naturally assume that it would peg the processor if it could.  Any idea why it's not?

Offline

#2 2006-02-10 08:17:53

demonus
Member
Registered: 2005-01-31
Posts: 62

Re: working below max speed when plugged in

are you running cpufreqd/powersaved?

Offline

#3 2006-02-10 14:27:08

viniosity
Member
From: New York, NY
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 378
Website

Re: working below max speed when plugged in

I am.. I thought I needed it for suspend to ram but I'm using the hibernate-scripts instead.  Should I unload it?

Offline

#4 2006-02-10 16:35:06

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: working below max speed when plugged in

I would suggest using the cpufreq subsystem itself instead of userspace tools for it.  pacman -S cpufrequtils and edit /etc/conf.d/cpufreq.  Set the min/max frequencies and select a governor (I use ondemand).

It might be interesting to handle ac adapter acpi events and set things to lower settings as part of that package... hmm, think I'll work on that, I like the idea.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB