You are not logged in.

#1 2004-02-11 14:55:56

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Strange print output error!!?

I am not sure if this a KDE 3.2 or CUPS problem because I didn't print any document since the upgrade. When using the "CUPS (common UNIX Print System)" it adds an endless number of pages in /tmp/kde-rasat/ kdeprint_kP2aLpNq.... if I don't cancel it fills the whole HDD. The printer system: "Generic UNIX LPD System" works fine.

Offline

#2 2004-02-11 15:19:40

Bobonov
Member
From: Roma - Italy
Registered: 2003-05-07
Posts: 295

Re: Strange print output error!!?

Did you tried to print directly the test page from cups?
I mean httP://localhost:631 then go to the printer setting and print the test page.

In this way you print directly from cups instead going trought kde.

Anyway my impression is that your problem depends on kde since /tmp/kde-xxxx are kde temp files.

Offline

#3 2004-02-11 15:40:25

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: Strange print output error!!?

Bobonov wrote:

Did you tried to print directly the test page from cups?

I thought the same and I did a CUPS test successfully. I also tested the new AL-AMLUG live CD 0.4.1 (planning to upload tomorrow) and the print output does the same error. Few days ago with KDE 3.1.5 the live CD worked fine. Does anyone else has this type of print error with KDE 3.2?

Offline

#4 2004-02-11 15:51:42

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Strange print output error!!?

by the sounds of it who doesn't have a problem with kde 3.2.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#5 2004-02-11 16:03:09

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: Strange print output error!!?

Sarah31 you gave me a good laugh lol .  Now I don't mind downgrade to 3.1.5... where to I get the KDE packges?

Offline

#6 2004-02-11 16:07:39

Bobonov
Member
From: Roma - Italy
Registered: 2003-05-07
Posts: 295

Re: Strange print output error!!?

Me personally I can  print without problem, but I have a network printer configured on cups so it is not exactly the same system.

Do you have gnome installed or any other non kde to do a test? Just to be sure is kde fault.
I think you can also try with openoffice, it should have a  printing system independent from kde.

Another think is to look under setting-->printer manager, maybe there is some strange setting on the local spool or maybe cups is not selcted or something like this.

Offline

#7 2004-02-12 02:59:15

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: Strange print output error!!?

Bobonov wrote:

Do you have gnome installed or any other non kde to do a test? Just to be sure is kde fault. I think you can also try with openoffice, it should have a  printing system independent from kde.

Openoffice works fine. KOffice doesn't add endless number of pages but a blank page. KEdit adds pages.

I can manage with the "Generic UNIX LPD system" and in live CD I am changing the default system to UNIX LPD instead of CUPS (the print quality seems to be the same). Moreover, KDE 3.1.5 is no longer in the server.

Offline

#8 2004-02-12 07:26:05

Bobonov
Member
From: Roma - Italy
Registered: 2003-05-07
Posts: 295

Re: Strange print output error!!?

A bit ot:
For me the only problem I encountered is that when I want to modify existing entry in the menu, lets say the icon or the path, kmenuedit make the change it say it saved it but nothing, even if I do changes under root.
The only way is to delete the entry and create it again

But I am not 100% sure is kde3.2 because I had the same problem before, but I thought it was due to the binary install package (it was not and arch pkg) that setted strange access permission to its entry in the menu.

About your problem rasat,
Did you check printer setting in kde printer manager??

Offline

#9 2004-02-12 19:37:14

xirus
Member
Registered: 2002-12-01
Posts: 113

Re: Strange print output error!!?

I have printing problems as well since 3.2: the cups test page works, but for the rest nothing wants to print, the test page through kde, openoffice,...

I had the same problem a while ago, but then reinstalling foomatic-filters did the trick... doesn't seem to help this time though

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB