You are not logged in.

#276 2014-06-13 14:31:00

denzphee
Member
Registered: 2014-06-13
Posts: 1

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

Boohbah wrote:

I've edited the patches a bit to apply cleanly to 3.15.
Here's a PKGBUILD, which also includes the backlight fix:
https://aur.archlinux.org/pkgbase/linux-c720/

Please test and let me know how it works for you.

Would it also be a good idea to include this patch? It is regarding the Intel-DRM issue mentioned in an earlier post.

Offline

#277 2014-06-13 19:00:14

Boohbah
Member
Registered: 2011-11-19
Posts: 20

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

gothmog123 wrote:

I'm getting failure to initialize for ipv6 with this, sorry.

I added some more ipv6 modules to the config.

Offline

#278 2014-06-13 19:00:50

Boohbah
Member
Registered: 2011-11-19
Posts: 20

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

denzphee wrote:
Boohbah wrote:

I've edited the patches a bit to apply cleanly to 3.15.
Here's a PKGBUILD, which also includes the backlight fix:
https://aur.archlinux.org/pkgbase/linux-c720/

Please test and let me know how it works for you.

Would it also be a good idea to include this patch? It is regarding the Intel-DRM issue mentioned in an earlier post.

No, it's already in 3.15.

Offline

#279 2014-06-14 08:55:56

helmingstay
Member
Registered: 2014-06-14
Posts: 5

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

I'm new to archlinux, and I'm working through a fresh install on an HP 14 (falco).  This thread has been really useful.  A few notes:

* I had to use 2013.10.01 install media to get x86_64 installation (booting w/ kernel arg mem=1536m).
With the old install media, I get key import errors with pacstrap (but not with new media, i686 install).  I'm assuming this was due to outdated keys.  I walked through the suggestions in pacman-keys, which didn't help.  I *think* i fixed this by running the following prior to pacstrap:

pacman -S archlinux-keyring

* I can't seem to switch between VTs.  The top row keys are labeled as typical chromeos - arrows, brightness, volume, etc.  In ubuntu, Ctrl-Alt-TopRowKeys worked as expected to switch between VTs.  Am I missing something?

* Related - how to switch the search button for Ctrl?  I can do it in X, but I'm having a hard time figuring it out in the terminal. First, I need to find the keycode for the search key, and then I need to exchange it...

* Question about updating docs:  this thread contains a lot of information that supercedes or supplements the wiki pages for both the Acer 720 and HP 14. It seems appropriate to add links (near the top) of the relevant pages.  Since more people are using and updating the A720, I suggest the following link-out:
 
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/HP_Chromebook_14 -> https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ac … Chromebook -> here
Does this make sense?

Thanks!

Last edited by helmingstay (2014-06-14 08:57:47)

Offline

#280 2014-06-14 10:43:43

helmingstay
Member
Registered: 2014-06-14
Posts: 5

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

Boohbah wrote:
gothmog123 wrote:

Any way to get the touchpad script working with kernel 3.15? The patching part fails.

I've edited the patches a bit to apply cleanly to 3.15.
Here's a PKGBUILD, which also includes the backlight fix:
https://aur.archlinux.org/pkgbase/linux-c720/

Please test and let me know how it works for you.

I'm trying this with HP 14 Falco. I can build and boot into it, but no touchpad.

I'm looking over the patches from http://pastebin.com/7ghBzVEL:

echo "Applying Chromebook Haswell Patches..."
for patch in 3078491 3078481 3074401 3074431 3074411; do
  wget -O - https://patchwork.kernel.org/patch/$patch/raw/ | sed 's/drivers\/platform\/x86\/chromeos_laptop.c/drivers\/platform\/chrome\/chromeos_laptop.c/g'| patch -p1
done

Patches 3074401 and 3074411 appear to be included in linux-c720, but 3074431 isn't.  Not sure about the others.
HTH

Offline

#281 2014-06-14 18:53:04

nariox
Member
Registered: 2014-03-19
Posts: 122

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

helmingstay wrote:
Boohbah wrote:
gothmog123 wrote:

Any way to get the touchpad script working with kernel 3.15? The patching part fails.

I've edited the patches a bit to apply cleanly to 3.15.
Here's a PKGBUILD, which also includes the backlight fix:
https://aur.archlinux.org/pkgbase/linux-c720/

Please test and let me know how it works for you.

I'm trying this with HP 14 Falco. I can build and boot into it, but no touchpad.

I'm looking over the patches from http://pastebin.com/7ghBzVEL:

echo "Applying Chromebook Haswell Patches..."
for patch in 3078491 3078481 3074401 3074431 3074411; do
  wget -O - https://patchwork.kernel.org/patch/$patch/raw/ | sed 's/drivers\/platform\/x86\/chromeos_laptop.c/drivers\/platform\/chrome\/chromeos_laptop.c/g'| patch -p1
done

Patches 3074401 and 3074411 appear to be included in linux-c720, but 3074431 isn't.  Not sure about the others.
HTH

Hey HTH, have you tried the linux-chromebook package? https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/linux-chromebook/
It is still on 3.14, but will move to 3.15 once it's out of testing. This one should have the patches, if not, you can ask Parchedas to add them for you.

About the VTs, I don't know why it's not working for your Falco, it works ok for Peppy. One difference is that in Ubuntu, X is in F7, while in Arch it's in F1.

Some of the info in this thread is being experimented on, so the wiki is not fully updated. I try to keep it as up-to-date as possible, but there are bugs or things that change every new version, so it's hard to keep track of everything.

Offline

#282 2014-06-15 13:30:36

pegasus21
Member
Registered: 2014-06-15
Posts: 17

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

EDIT: Apparently in testing out many things to solve the suspend issue, the driver for the touchpad and screen got replaced with the generic ones likely from installing the linux package. The ACPI portion isn't needed. Just the kernel options are required.


I was having issues with the suspend with my c720p but have figured it out so I'm putting what is required to get it working for the benefit of others.

I'm currently running the default linux 3.14.6-1-ARCH kernel from the repository with the modified touchpad driver for c720p and not ones from AUR (linux-chromebook and linux-c720).

Suspend requires that the tpm and ehci be disabled.

Edit kernel options in /etc/default/grub to include the following items under GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT

tpm_tis.interrupts=0 modprobe.blacklist=ehci_hcd,ehci_pci

Regenerate the grub config after adding the kernel options with something like grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

After rebooting, you should be able to suspend as many times as you would like and still be able to shutdown/reboot as expected.

Last edited by pegasus21 (2014-06-15 15:06:43)

Offline

#283 2014-06-16 22:33:03

Boohbah
Member
Registered: 2011-11-19
Posts: 20

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

helmingstay wrote:
Boohbah wrote:
gothmog123 wrote:

Any way to get the touchpad script working with kernel 3.15? The patching part fails.

I've edited the patches a bit to apply cleanly to 3.15.
Here's a PKGBUILD, which also includes the backlight fix:
https://aur.archlinux.org/pkgbase/linux-c720/

Please test and let me know how it works for you.

I'm trying this with HP 14 Falco. I can build and boot into it, but no touchpad.

I'm looking over the patches from http://pastebin.com/7ghBzVEL:

echo "Applying Chromebook Haswell Patches..."
for patch in 3078491 3078481 3074401 3074431 3074411; do
  wget -O - https://patchwork.kernel.org/patch/$patch/raw/ | sed 's/drivers\/platform\/x86\/chromeos_laptop.c/drivers\/platform\/chrome\/chromeos_laptop.c/g'| patch -p1
done

Patches 3074401 and 3074411 appear to be included in linux-c720, but 3074431 isn't.  Not sure about the others.
HTH

Sorry, for some reason I had left out Add HP Chromebook 14
https://patchwork.kernel.org/patch/3074431/

'01-Add-Haswell-ULT-device-IDs.patch'
'02-Index-Haswell-ULT-bus-names-from-0.patch'
'03-Add-names-of-Haswell-ULT-i2c-busses.patch'
'04-Add-HP-Chromebook-14.patch'
'05-Add-Acer-C720.patch'
'06-Fix-intel-backlight-regression.patch'

I've added it back and applied the patches to linux 3.16-rc1.

Offline

#284 2014-06-18 06:21:00

helmingstay
Member
Registered: 2014-06-14
Posts: 5

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

nariox wrote:

Hey HTH, have you tried the linux-chromebook package? https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/linux-chromebook/
It is still on 3.14, but will move to 3.15 once it's out of testing. This one should have the patches, if not, you can ask Parchedas to add them for you.

About the VTs, I don't know why it's not working for your Falco, it works ok for Peppy. One difference is that in Ubuntu, X is in F7, while in Arch it's in F1.

Some of the info in this thread is being experimented on, so the wiki is not fully updated. I try to keep it as up-to-date as possible, but there are bugs or things that change every new version, so it's hard to keep track of everything.

Thanks.  https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/linux-chromebook/ is working nicely on Falco.  I'll try https://aur.archlinux.org/pkgbase/linux-c720/ when I get some time.

Update r.e. keyboard / F keys: I can switch *out* of X to a VT login, but I can't get back into X (now that I have X working, this isn't a big deal, though).

That said, I'm still confused about the default keyboard setup for Falco under X.  The brightness hotkeys work out-of-box in default Gnome but not in LXDE.  Under LXDE (my preference), the output of dumpkeys and showkey indicates that the only top row keys assigned to *anything* are esc and power.

Just to confirm: on the 720, the top row looks like esc, <-, ->, ..., mute, vol-up, vol-down, power, with <-, ..., vol-down mapping to F1-F10 in X by default?

Offline

#285 2014-06-18 07:07:47

parchedas
Member
From: Cambridge, UK
Registered: 2013-06-01
Posts: 74

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

helmingstay wrote:

Just to confirm: on the 720, the top row looks like esc, <-, ->, ..., mute, vol-up, vol-down, power, with <-, ..., vol-down mapping to F1-F10 in X by default?

Correct

Offline

#286 2014-06-18 07:55:53

parchedas
Member
From: Cambridge, UK
Registered: 2013-06-01
Posts: 74

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

Can someone with a C720P (touchscreen) please test a patch I wrote for it that works on linux-mainline?

Source and compiled 64bit kernel are here https://copy.com/yxLPq6leYvky

Thanks

EDIT:
The relevant files are
linux-mainline-chromebook-3.16rc1-1.src.tar.gz
linux-mainline-chromebook-3.16rc1-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz

Last edited by parchedas (2014-06-18 08:06:17)

Offline

#287 2014-06-18 14:53:59

smogon
Member
Registered: 2014-01-07
Posts: 6

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

Has anyone had an issue where the laptop will restart and reset the legacy boot option locking you out of SeaBios?  I've had this happen to me 3 times in the past month and the only solution I've found is restoring chromeOS and then starting over.  I used it almost daily for 5 months before this happened the first time.  I haven't done anything involving changing the GBB flags or doing changes with the write protect screw.

Offline

#288 2014-06-18 15:11:48

nariox
Member
Registered: 2014-03-19
Posts: 122

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

smogon wrote:

Has anyone had an issue where the laptop will restart and reset the legacy boot option locking you out of SeaBios?  I've had this happen to me 3 times in the past month and the only solution I've found is restoring chromeOS and then starting over.  I used it almost daily for 5 months before this happened the first time.  I haven't done anything involving changing the GBB flags or doing changes with the write protect screw.

If you don't set the flags (and then place the screw back), you can accidentaly start a "system recovery" by pressing the wrong key combination during boot and this seems to disable Seabios. Do you think this might have happened?

Offline

#289 2014-06-19 14:31:03

smogon
Member
Registered: 2014-01-07
Posts: 6

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

nariox wrote:

If you don't set the flags (and then place the screw back), you can accidentaly start a "system recovery" by pressing the wrong key combination during boot and this seems to disable Seabios. Do you think this might have happened?

It's a possibility for the first time it happened.  The second and third time while on and running arch  the screen flicker, went dark, and then restarted with seaBios locked and usb boot disabled.  To be clear I haven't changed anything involving the GBB flags  Haven't touched the write protect screw, or issued any commands involving the screw while in chromeOS.

Offline

#290 2014-06-19 14:36:27

nariox
Member
Registered: 2014-03-19
Posts: 122

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

smogon wrote:
nariox wrote:

If you don't set the flags (and then place the screw back), you can accidentaly start a "system recovery" by pressing the wrong key combination during boot and this seems to disable Seabios. Do you think this might have happened?

It's a possibility for the first time it happened.  The second and third time while on and running arch  the screen flicker, went dark, and then restarted with seaBios locked and usb boot disabled.  To be clear I haven't changed anything involving the GBB flags  Haven't touched the write protect screw, or issued any commands involving the screw while in chromeOS.

It's possible that the Seabios got "corrupt". Thankfully it didn't happen to me, but I'm interested in knowing whether this can help:

 # chromeos-firmwareupdate --sb_extract /tmp
# flashrom -w /tmp/bios.bin -i RW_LEGACY

It seems like it reflashes the Seabios. But what worries me is how can we prevent the corruption from ever happening.

Offline

#291 2014-06-19 17:41:01

pegasus21
Member
Registered: 2014-06-15
Posts: 17

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

parchedas wrote:

Can someone with a C720P (touchscreen) please test a patch I wrote for it that works on linux-mainline?

Source and compiled 64bit kernel are here https://copy.com/yxLPq6leYvky

Thanks

EDIT:
The relevant files are
linux-mainline-chromebook-3.16rc1-1.src.tar.gz
linux-mainline-chromebook-3.16rc1-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz

I'm happy to report no issues with the patches. Thanks

Touchpad and touchscreen work
Brightness works
Suspend works at least twice with the tpm_tis.interrupts=0 option set in kernel mode options and I was still able to shutdown.

Are there other things that need to be tested?

Offline

#292 2014-06-19 20:07:48

parchedas
Member
From: Cambridge, UK
Registered: 2013-06-01
Posts: 74

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

pegasus21 wrote:
parchedas wrote:

Can someone with a C720P (touchscreen) please test a patch I wrote for it that works on linux-mainline?

Source and compiled 64bit kernel are here https://copy.com/yxLPq6leYvky

Thanks

EDIT:
The relevant files are
linux-mainline-chromebook-3.16rc1-1.src.tar.gz
linux-mainline-chromebook-3.16rc1-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz

I'm happy to report no issues with the patches. Thanks

Touchpad and touchscreen work
Brightness works
Suspend works at least twice with the tpm_tis.interrupts=0 option set in kernel mode options and I was still able to shutdown.

Are there other things that need to be tested?

Great, thanks. No not at this stage.

Do note there is a bug with usb autosuspend in rc1 that causes a bit of spam to the logs. It should be fixed by rc2 end of this week so I will put out an updated one then.

Offline

#293 2014-06-20 21:15:36

smogon
Member
Registered: 2014-01-07
Posts: 6

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

nariox wrote:

It's possible that the Seabios got "corrupt". Thankfully it didn't happen to me, but I'm interested in knowing whether this can help:

 # chromeos-firmwareupdate --sb_extract /tmp
# flashrom -w /tmp/bios.bin -i RW_LEGACY

It seems like it reflashes the Seabios. But what worries me is how can we prevent the corruption from ever happening.

Would restoring chromeOS do this as well?  Since each time it's happened I've restored it and then gone into the console and set legacy and usb boot back on.  Is it possible to reach a terminal without chromeOS or access to seaBios?

Offline

#294 2014-06-20 21:22:34

nariox
Member
Registered: 2014-03-19
Posts: 122

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

smogon wrote:
nariox wrote:

It's possible that the Seabios got "corrupt". Thankfully it didn't happen to me, but I'm interested in knowing whether this can help:

 # chromeos-firmwareupdate --sb_extract /tmp
# flashrom -w /tmp/bios.bin -i RW_LEGACY

It seems like it reflashes the Seabios. But what worries me is how can we prevent the corruption from ever happening.

Would restoring chromeOS do this as well?  Since each time it's happened I've restored it and then gone into the console and set legacy and usb boot back on.  Is it possible to reach a terminal without chromeOS or access to seaBios?

I'm not sure if restoring chromeOS reflashes seabios. It might, but it wouldn't be necessary, since ChromeOS does not use bios-boot. If you still have your ArchLinux working, it's possible to access some chromeOS functions by downloading the restore disk and chrooting into it. I don't know how well do those work though, last time I've tried to set the gbb flags and it seemed to work (but I had the screw in, so I ended up just corrupting my ROM...)

Offline

#295 2014-06-20 23:31:21

smogon
Member
Registered: 2014-01-07
Posts: 6

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

nariox wrote:

I'm not sure if restoring chromeOS reflashes seabios. It might, but it wouldn't be necessary, since ChromeOS does not use bios-boot. If you still have your ArchLinux working, it's possible to access some chromeOS functions by downloading the restore disk and chrooting into it. I don't know how well do those work though, last time I've tried to set the gbb flags and it seemed to work (but I had the screw in, so I ended up just corrupting my ROM...)

my issue is I become locked out of any way to get into linux, so chrooting isn't an option.  I just went through the process of installing archbang, i placed the laptop down for a few minutes, came back and lifted it up.  It reset as before and booted to the OS verification menu as normal.  I tried Ctl-L, recived a beep and the laptop restarted again this time with SeaBios locked.  I guess I'll try the re flashing commands and see if it make it any more stable.   I feel like I'm going to be forced into using cruton

Offline

#296 2014-06-21 02:00:23

helmingstay
Member
Registered: 2014-06-14
Posts: 5

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

smogon wrote:
nariox wrote:

I'm not sure if restoring chromeOS reflashes seabios. It might, but it wouldn't be necessary, since ChromeOS does not use bios-boot. If you still have your ArchLinux working, it's possible to access some chromeOS functions by downloading the restore disk and chrooting into it. I don't know how well do those work though, last time I've tried to set the gbb flags and it seemed to work (but I had the screw in, so I ended up just corrupting my ROM...)

my issue is I become locked out of any way to get into linux, so chrooting isn't an option.  I just went through the process of installing archbang, i placed the laptop down for a few minutes, came back and lifted it up.  It reset as before and booted to the OS verification menu as normal.  I tried Ctl-L, recived a beep and the laptop restarted again this time with SeaBios locked.  I guess I'll try the re flashing commands and see if it make it any more stable.   I feel like I'm going to be forced into using cruton

I had this happen several times on HP14 Falco while dual-booting ubuntu and chromebook.  In my case, the cause appeared to be running the battery completely down.  Is it possible that you had some sort of power disruption?

In the past, I reset by going into chrome.  Now that I'm single-booting into Arch, this kinda terrifies me.  I wonder if it's possible to boot the Arch install media (2013-10-01) and *then* arch-chroot into the chrome recovery media to do the recovery.

Also, maybe the following programs can be run under Arch (and therefore be added to the install media image for a quick restore)?

# chromeos-firmwareupdate --sb_extract /tmp
# flashrom -w /tmp/bios.bin -i RW_LEGACY

R.e. power, I've also had the "battery stops charging" problem.  No idea what caused it, and it magically reset/fixed itself after a week or so when the battery finally drained to absolute zero.  In short, some of the firmware on these seems pretty shaky.

Offline

#297 2014-06-21 02:46:01

tidux
Member
Registered: 2014-06-21
Posts: 1

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

I just installed the linux-c720 package, and the touchpad isn't working.  Wasn't that the entire point of making the package?

Offline

#298 2014-06-21 11:21:07

navigium
Member
Registered: 2011-12-10
Posts: 4

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

tidux wrote:

I just installed the linux-c720 package, and the touchpad isn't working.  Wasn't that the entire point of making the package?

I just installed this on my new C720P and my touchpad works. Did you install the synaptics drivers (xf86-input-synaptics)? It's still needed, support in the kernel isn't enough to get it to work.

Offline

#299 2014-06-21 14:55:58

vilefridge
Member
Registered: 2006-11-02
Posts: 93

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

tidux wrote:

I just installed the linux-c720 package, and the touchpad isn't working.  Wasn't that the entire point of making the package?

It's not working for me either, and I do have xf86-input-synaptics installed.  Has anyone modified the cros-haswell-modules.sh script for 3.15 kernel compatibility?  That seemed like a much more elegant solution to me.

Offline

#300 2014-06-21 16:17:15

smogon
Member
Registered: 2014-01-07
Posts: 6

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

helmingstay wrote:

I had this happen several times on HP14 Falco while dual-booting ubuntu and chromebook.  In my case, the cause appeared to be running the battery completely down.  Is it possible that you had some sort of power disruption?

In the past, I reset by going into chrome.  Now that I'm single-booting into Arch, this kinda terrifies me.  I wonder if it's possible to boot the Arch install media (2013-10-01) and *then* arch-chroot into the chrome recovery media to do the recovery.

Also, maybe the following programs can be run under Arch (and therefore be added to the install media image for a quick restore)?

# chromeos-firmwareupdate --sb_extract /tmp
# flashrom -w /tmp/bios.bin -i RW_LEGACY

R.e. power, I've also had the "battery stops charging" problem.  No idea what caused it, and it magically reset/fixed itself after a week or so when the battery finally drained to absolute zero.  In short, some of the firmware on these seems pretty shaky.

I tried re flashing Seabios.  I'm wondering if my write protect screw has come loose and is causing the reboot.  I tend to pick it up with one hand on the side that the screw is on.  I've now lost my system instal for the 4th time though so I'll be using crouton from now on. 

In my case there is now way to get to the install media, if I could i would also be able to boot from the hard disk and there would be no problem.  My issue isn't a corrupt bios, dev_boot_legacy/usb get reset to =0 instead of =1.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB