You are not logged in.

#1 2002-12-30 01:22:57

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

Problem with Phoenix

Today on irc, I mentioned that I was getting errors when trying to run phoenix, complaining about missing libraries.  Jk suggested I cvsup the source, which turned out to be beyond my abilities, however, I'm suspecting that this isn't the problem  (Jk's logic was that our gcc and glibc were too new).
I looked on the phoenix forums, and some folks had said the problem might be paths.  Is it possible that this is an Arch problem, leaving out a path?  It works in Crux, which has the same version of gcc and glibc.  I've tried this now on two boxes same result.

So, does anyone with more skill than I want to investigate this? Trust me it's a nice browser.
(Nope Sarah, not trying to give you more work creating a package--in most cases, it's quite simple to get it working--and I used the same binary, from same day in both Crux and Arch.)

I'm guessing paths, but that's simply from reading the phoenix forums--googling and their forums hasn't shown more than two or three people with this problem, so it's quite possible I'm missing something obvious.

Thanks


Scott

Offline

#2 2002-12-30 03:39:54

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

Re: Problem with Phoenix

Well, here's the current update.  I was missing /usr/lib/libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.  I copied it over from a Crux install and got phoenix working.

Sarah pointed out to me that's in gcc2, however, I don't know what package I'd have to install to get that.  Doing a pacman -Ss for gcc only brought back the standard gcc we're using.  The file list for our gcc doesn't list it.

I'm sure that this question demonstrates my ignorance--but on the other hand, someone else might run into it sooner or later, so it's good to have it up here.


Abashedly yours,


Scott

Offline

#3 2002-12-30 07:34:40

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Problem with Phoenix

i don't think that is a smylink that is created by gcc3.2.1 but instead it is created when you compile glibc. so it is a combo and since your combo is different from their combo then the symlink is different.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#4 2002-12-30 13:18:58

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

Re: Problem with Phoenix

As you know, I'm fairly lame at these things. I'd thought this meant that because I recompile glibc to get the Japanese input, that something had changed, however, a fresh install indicates that this isn't the case. I then did some googling, and it seems that in the upgrading of gcc this particular library has been an issue from time to time.

Has anyone else been playing with phoenix and having the same issue?  As you know, I suspect that Arch is going to take off sooner or later, and if it does, and this is a problem for everyone, it should probably be added to the FAQ unless it gets fixed.  Sigh, sometimes I hate not knowing enough about these things to know if it's a big thing or small thing to fix.

As I said, at present, I'm just copying it over from another distro's installation which solves the problem.

Thanks as always

Scott

Offline

#5 2002-12-30 16:56:08

Arielext
Member
From: Amersfoort, the Netherlands
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 362
Website

Re: Problem with Phoenix

Well I know that both mozilla_bin and phoenix_bin don't work in Arch. But using the _scr works for mozilla. So I guess that building a fresh phoenix from de sources will have the same result.


apt-get install arch

Offline

#6 2002-12-31 00:25:10

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

Re: Problem with Phoenix

If they made it a bit easier to get the source, I'd consider it.  As it was, I had to stop to look up cvs syntax, then couldn't figure out how to maneuver through the tree.  At present I'll just copy over the file.  I'm having fun anyway, installing Crux, then Arch, then Crux then Arch--I need a life.  smile


Scott

Offline

#7 2002-12-31 00:39:44

ody
Member
From: Manchester, UK
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 212
Website

Re: Problem with Phoenix

heh, life? you lost that the day you found us wink

Offline

#8 2002-12-31 00:45:06

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

Re: Problem with Phoenix

Hrmph. I had a life. Then I got marri---err  no, no, that's when my life really began. 

I have the last words in any discussion we have in our house. So what if those two words are
"Yes honey."   smile


Scott

Offline

#9 2002-12-31 00:53:18

ody
Member
From: Manchester, UK
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 212
Website

Re: Problem with Phoenix

I feel for you man.. women.. you can never win.... /me looks at sarah wink

Offline

#10 2002-12-31 13:13:52

Arielext
Member
From: Amersfoort, the Netherlands
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 362
Website

Re: Problem with Phoenix

Strange, the mozilla sources are everywhere and the phoenix aren't ... that sucks!
I use Phoenix at school (where they refuse to install anything but Microsoft stuff). It has some nice features (block all popups exept for instead of block none and specify which to block/or block all.)


apt-get install arch

Offline

#11 2002-12-31 14:12:33

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

Re: Problem with Phoenix

One thing--I didn't put in the entire library name---it should be


/usr/lib/libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.3

I wonder if we should just put it into incoming  smile

Offline

#12 2002-12-31 21:37:27

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

Re: Problem with Phoenix

FWIW, I uploaded that library as a bz2 file to a website.  So, if anyone is getting an error message about that library from phoenix, they can get it here

(I also put mention of the Phoenix thing and the link on my own Arch Linux page)

Scott

Offline

#13 2003-01-01 18:12:29

Greg
Member
From: Geneva, Switzerland
Registered: 2002-12-07
Posts: 22
Website

Re: Problem with Phoenix

Uhhm, i've got a PKGBUILD for phoenix + a pkg. You want it?

Offline

#14 2003-01-01 19:07:24

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Problem with Phoenix

Actually if you could post it and your PKGBUILD to /incoming then i will look it over test it out and send it to unofficial if it work ok. Just make a phoenix directory and put the PKGBUILD and package in side tar.gz it up and send it to /incoming. If you want to add a a "# Contributor:" line at the top of the PKGBUILD that is even better


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#15 2003-01-01 21:14:50

Greg
Member
From: Geneva, Switzerland
Registered: 2002-12-07
Posts: 22
Website

Re: Problem with Phoenix

Okay, i'll do it in about 24h when i get back to my pc wink

Offline

#16 2003-01-02 03:49:40

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

Re: Problem with Phoenix

Let me know when it's up and I'll try it tomorrow on my arch box at work. If it's in incoming, I'll just grab it assuming it's slow at work.  If it's busy, then of course, all bets are off. :)j

Thanks


Scott

Also, Sarah31 if you see this, keep me posted of progress on it, since, as I said, I've mentioned the issue and put up the missing file on my arch page.

BTW, anyone going to the LInux world Expo?  (Although I may have to push Arch undercover--I think I"m putting up some Gentoo folks, as one of them is an old friend from Japan)

Scott

Offline

#17 2003-01-02 18:50:29

Rouslan
Member
From: New York USA
Registered: 2002-11-13
Posts: 76

Re: Problem with Phoenix

I'm glad to announce that phoenix package is currently in the incoming. Hope you like it. Greg, upload yours too, I want to take a look at it, so we will improve ourselves. smile


Rouslan

Offline

#18 2003-01-02 19:17:27

apeiro
Daddy
From: Victoria, BC, Canada
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 771
Website

Re: Problem with Phoenix

The binaries you're downloading were likely built with gcc2.   A simple symlink will probably satisfy it.

ln -sf /usr/lib/libstdc++.so /usr/lib/libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.3

Offline

#19 2003-01-02 19:20:13

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

Re: Problem with Phoenix

Whew--a 600 meg download?  I don't I'll have time to try it for a bit (tomorrow's going to be really hectic)

One thing, you need cvs as a dependency.

Maybe for now (sarah31 would this be a good idea?) mark them phoenix-rouslan, phoenix-greg?

Anyway, I'll give it shot tomorrow, or at worst, Monday.

Scott

Offline

#20 2003-01-02 20:49:29

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

Re: Problem with Phoenix

apeiro no, that didn't fix it. I tried a few times to guard against mistypes.

Scott

Offline

#21 2003-01-02 21:25:22

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

Re: Problem with Phoenix

Rouslan, looks as if zip is another dependency--darn, thought I had that in there.  smile

Scott

Offline

#22 2003-01-06 13:20:47

scottro
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 452
Website

Re: Problem with Phoenix

Rouslan, the packagebuild that I had running at work on Friday built and installed without problem (Actually I'm using it to post this message)

Not sure if you're still interested as that's an older version.  smile (All of 3 days old)

Scott

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB