You are not logged in.

#1 2014-06-22 11:41:23

wtx
Member
Registered: 2014-06-09
Posts: 76

[solved] Problems with bootloader

Hi,

I have problems with booting my arch linux.

I've installed archlinux-2014.06 on my hdd using official installation instruction. Then I installed syslinux:

# extlinux --install /dev/sda16

On the MBR I've got grub from another Linux - and I've added following lines to grub.conf to start archlinux:

rootnoverify (hd0,16)
chainloader +1

but it doesn't allow me to start archlinux, because after selecting archlinux from grub I get:

rootnoverify (hd0,16)
chainloader +1
Boot Error


I have no idea what the problem is.

My PC is BIOS-type. HDD is 750GB. /dev/sda16 is the last logical partition on this HDD.

Any sugestions how to fix this problem?

Last edited by wtx (2014-06-23 05:08:55)

Offline

#2 2014-06-22 12:41:22

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 29,776
Website

Re: [solved] Problems with bootloader

If you already have grub installed, why are you using syslinux for archlinux - you can just add an entry to grub for archlinux.

But if you do want to use syslinux, where did you get the command you used to install it?  According to the wiki, you do not use extlinux with a partition device name, you use it on a boot folder of a mounted partition, and you also need to manually copy files there.

Further, with 16 partitions, it'd be useful if you gave us an idea on which partitions arch was actually installed.


"UNIX is simple and coherent" - Dennis Ritchie; "GNU's Not Unix" - Richard Stallman

Online

#3 2014-06-22 13:14:11

wtx
Member
Registered: 2014-06-09
Posts: 76

Re: [solved] Problems with bootloader

Oops... Sorry - I've made mistake when I wrote the post - I should write:

# extlinux --install /boot/syslinux

instead of:
# extlinux --install  /dev/sda16

Yes, I want to use separate: grub and extlinux bootloaders.

I've installed archlinux on the /dev/sda16 partition.

By the way I noticed, that I'm able to boot my archlinux from archlinux boot CD, using:

Boot from HardDisk -> TAB -> .com32 boot/syslinux/chain.c32 hd0 16

but still doesn't work when I boot from hdd.

Offline

#4 2014-06-22 13:37:48

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 29,776
Website

Re: [solved] Problems with bootloader

Then the problem is likely with the grub config.  What version of grub is this?  I don't know grub very well, but it looks like you are mixing syntax from grub and grub-legacy.  Can you post the full grub config file (in code tags).


"UNIX is simple and coherent" - Dennis Ritchie; "GNU's Not Unix" - Richard Stallman

Online

#5 2014-06-22 19:16:20

wtx
Member
Registered: 2014-06-09
Posts: 76

Re: [solved] Problems with bootloader

Ok, I've tested it with two grub versions: 0.97 and 2.00beta4. It doesn't work on both.

configuration file for grub 0.97:

default=0
timeout=8
splashimage=(hd0,9)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz


title DOS
	rootnoverify (hd0,0)
	chainloader +1

title fedora17_sda11
	rootnoverify (hd0,10)
	chainloader +1

title fedora13_sda12
	rootnoverify (hd0,11)
	chainloader +1

title arch_sda16_15
	rootnoverify (hd0,15)
	chainloader +1


and configuration file grub.conf for grub 2.00beta4:

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  load_env
fi
set default="${saved_entry}"

if [ x"${feature_menuentry_id}" = xy ]; then
  menuentry_id_option="--id"
else
  menuentry_id_option=""
fi

export menuentry_id_option

if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}

function load_video {
  if [ x$feature_all_video_module = xy ]; then
    insmod all_video
  else
    insmod efi_gop
    insmod efi_uga
    insmod ieee1275_fb
    insmod vbe
    insmod vga
    insmod video_bochs
    insmod video_cirrus
  fi
}

if [ x$feature_default_font_path = xy ] ; then
   font=unicode
else
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos11'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos11 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos11 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos11 --hint='hd0,msdos11'  b5528948-221e-4a8e-875f-581cced8302d
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root b5528948-221e-4a8e-875f-581cced8302d
fi
    font="/usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2"
fi

if loadfont $font ; then
  set gfxmode=1024x768x16
  load_video
  insmod gfxterm
  set locale_dir=$prefix/locale
  set lang=en_US
  insmod gettext
fi
terminal_output gfxterm
set timeout=5
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
 

menuentry 'Arch /dev/sda16' --class gnu-linux --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-chain-A014-DF51' {
	insmod part_msdos
	insmod ext2
	set root='hd0,msdos16'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos16 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos16 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos16 --hint='hd0,msdos16'  f37d5b00-8c45-458f-8739-0a0d888f38b7
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root f37d5b00-8c45-458f-8739-0a0d888f38b7
	fi
#	drivemap -s (hd0) ${root}
	chainloader +1
} 

(...)

Offline

#6 2014-06-22 19:59:33

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 29,776
Website

Re: [solved] Problems with bootloader

Thanks - the 0.97 looks good to me.  I've never used the new grub though.  I'm out of ideas.


"UNIX is simple and coherent" - Dennis Ritchie; "GNU's Not Unix" - Richard Stallman

Online

#7 2014-06-23 00:43:30

the.ridikulus.rat
Member
From: Indiana, USA
Registered: 2011-10-04
Posts: 765

Re: [solved] Problems with bootloader

wtx wrote:

Hi,

I have problems with booting my arch linux.

I've installed archlinux-2014.06 on my hdd using official installation instruction. Then I installed syslinux:

# extlinux --install /dev/sda16

On the MBR I've got grub from another Linux - and I've added following lines to grub.conf to start archlinux:

rootnoverify (hd0,16)
chainloader +1

grub-legacy counts partitions from 0, grub2 counts from 1. Therefore in grub-legacy (v0.97) your command should be

rootnoverify (hd0,15)
chainloader +1

Although I recommend switching the default bootloader in the other system to grub2 or syslinux (if the other linux administers the bootloader in your system, and supports grub2 and/or syslinux).

EDIT: You may also have syslinux issues booting from logical partitition. I am not sure about this. grub2 works very well though. Also if you have many partitions and you are not dual booting windows, why not switch to GPT?

Last edited by the.ridikulus.rat (2014-06-23 00:46:08)

Offline

#8 2014-06-23 05:08:36

wtx
Member
Registered: 2014-06-09
Posts: 76

Re: [solved] Problems with bootloader

the.ridikulus.rat wrote:
wtx wrote:

Hi,

I have problems with booting my arch linux.

I've installed archlinux-2014.06 on my hdd using official installation instruction. Then I installed syslinux:

# extlinux --install /dev/sda16

On the MBR I've got grub from another Linux - and I've added following lines to grub.conf to start archlinux:

rootnoverify (hd0,16)
chainloader +1

grub-legacy counts partitions from 0, grub2 counts from 1. Therefore in grub-legacy (v0.97) your command should be

rootnoverify (hd0,15)
chainloader +1

Although I recommend switching the default bootloader in the other system to grub2 or syslinux (if the other linux administers the bootloader in your system, and supports grub2 and/or syslinux).

EDIT: You may also have syslinux issues booting from logical partitition. I am not sure about this. grub2 works very well though. Also if you have many partitions and you are not dual booting windows, why not switch to GPT?


I tried both: "rootnoverify (hd0,15)" and "rootnoverify (hd0,16)" - and neither of them work for me - I still get: "boot error".

For test I've installed GRUB on /dev/sda16 and it works! Seems I will have to use grub instead of syslinux :'(

Thank you both for your answers.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB