You are not logged in.

#1 2014-07-13 11:07:43

kyentei
Member
Registered: 2014-07-13
Posts: 8

Can't upgrade because of nvidia-dkms

Hey all,

I'm trying to run pacman -Syu, which results in an error I cannot seem to find an answer to.
The output is as follows:

# pacman -Syu
:: Synchronising package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra                   1743,1 KiB  2041K/s 00:01 [######################] 100%
 community is up to date
 multilib                 120,4 KiB  1720K/s 00:00 [######################] 100%
:: Starting full system upgrade...
resolving dependencies...
looking for inter-conflicts...
error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: nvidia-dkms: requires nvidia-utils=337.25

However, when I look what version of nvidia-utils I have installed, I get:

# pacman -Q | grep nvidia-utils
lib32-nvidia-utils 337.25-2
nvidia-utils 337.25-3

When I try to reinstall nvidia-utils using yaourt, I get the following:

# yaourt -S nvidia-utils
resolving dependencies...
looking for inter-conflicts...
error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: nvidia-dkms: requires nvidia-utils=337.25

Does anyone have an idea about what is going wrong?

Thanks in advance! smile

Last edited by kyentei (2014-07-13 21:33:57)

Offline

#2 2014-07-13 11:14:06

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,426

Re: Can't upgrade because of nvidia-dkms

If you've installed nvidia-dkms from the AUR, you need to upgrade it.

Offline

#3 2014-07-13 11:19:59

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,690
Website

Re: Can't upgrade because of nvidia-dkms

Take a look at the PKGBUILD - the aur package has a strict dependency requirement for the exact same version number of nvidia-utils.  You must update these at the same time, or ignore dependency checks (edit: ignore dependency checks only to allow for upgrading them sequentially - not to simply upgrade one and ignore the other).

Last edited by Trilby (2014-07-13 11:20:37)


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#4 2014-07-13 12:30:12

kyentei
Member
Registered: 2014-07-13
Posts: 8

Re: Can't upgrade because of nvidia-dkms

karol wrote:

If you've installed nvidia-dkms from the AUR, you need to upgrade it.

So basically, I need to wait for an nvidia-dkms upgrade to become available in AUR? Rebuilding it did nothing.

I can see why nvidia-utils and nvidia-dkms depend on each other, but that shouldn't stop everything else from upgrading - right?

Last edited by kyentei (2014-07-13 12:30:48)

Offline

#5 2014-07-13 12:46:34

firekage
Member
From: Eastern Europe, Poland
Registered: 2013-06-30
Posts: 470

Re: Can't upgrade because of nvidia-dkms

karol wrote:

If you've installed nvidia-dkms from the AUR, you need to upgrade it.

How to upgrade sofware from aur?

Offline

#6 2014-07-13 12:47:08

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,426

Re: Can't upgrade because of nvidia-dkms

You can edit the PKGBUILD yourself.
Unless you explicitly tell pacman to ignore some packages, it will try to update them all. If it fails even with just one of them, pacman won't update anything.
Partial upgrades are not supported, you should update your whole system.


@firekage
Please read the wiki article on AUR for starters.
If you're having some specific question or problem, please post more info.

Last edited by karol (2014-07-13 12:49:01)

Offline

#7 2014-07-13 12:47:25

firekage
Member
From: Eastern Europe, Poland
Registered: 2013-06-30
Posts: 470

Re: Can't upgrade because of nvidia-dkms

kyentei wrote:

I can see why nvidia-utils and nvidia-dkms depend on each other, but that shouldn't stop everything else from upgrading - right?

Try bypass it with --ignore <something> or edit /etc/pacman.conf and add in ignorepkg lines with nvidia.

Offline

#8 2014-07-13 12:48:09

firekage
Member
From: Eastern Europe, Poland
Registered: 2013-06-30
Posts: 470

Re: Can't upgrade because of nvidia-dkms

karol wrote:

You can edit the PKGBUILD yourself.

Did you mean update pgk as update software from aur?

Offline

#9 2014-07-13 12:51:26

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,426

Re: Can't upgrade because of nvidia-dkms

firekage, don't bump the thread, you should edit your post instead.
It's OK to combine answers to different people in one post.

firekage wrote:
karol wrote:

You can edit the PKGBUILD yourself.

Did you mean update pgk as update software from aur?

I don't understand what you mean here.
Download the tarball from the AUR, edit the PKGBUILD in question, run makepkg.

Offline

#10 2014-07-13 12:56:26

kyentei
Member
Registered: 2014-07-13
Posts: 8

Re: Can't upgrade because of nvidia-dkms

I didn't know about the ignore. That was most useful! I'll just use that until nvidia-utils and nvidia-dkms in the AUR get updated. Thanks a lot! :-)

Offline

#11 2014-07-13 13:01:59

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,426

Re: Can't upgrade because of nvidia-dkms

kyentei wrote:

I didn't know about the ignore. That was most useful!

I see that you've just registered on the forum.
I think you should read the basic articles on the wiki: about pacman, makepkg, AUR etc. Also, read the man pages at least for pacman and pacman.conf.

Offline

#12 2014-07-13 13:20:25

kyentei
Member
Registered: 2014-07-13
Posts: 8

Re: Can't upgrade because of nvidia-dkms

karol wrote:
kyentei wrote:

I didn't know about the ignore. That was most useful!

I see that you've just registered on the forum.
I think you should read the basic articles on the wiki: about pacman, makepkg, AUR etc. Also, read the man pages at least for pacman and pacman.conf.

I've been using linux for years, and Arch for quite some time as well. I'm not new to it all, I just hadn't searched for it. I was rather stuck on why pacman would exit on an AUR package (I reckon pacman doesn't use the AUR/Yaourt, so I didn't see what could go wrong)

Offline

#13 2014-07-13 13:36:42

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,426

Re: Can't upgrade because of nvidia-dkms

pacman just sees a package that needs updating. It doesn't matter if it's a package that used to be in the repos but has been dropped to the AUR, always has been in the AUR or maybe you've just created the PKGBUILD and installed it.
If the package is not in the official repos, updating it is on you.

Offline

#14 2014-07-13 14:55:44

kyentei
Member
Registered: 2014-07-13
Posts: 8

Re: Can't upgrade because of nvidia-dkms

Right. Gotcha :-)

After upgrading without the nvidia packages, nothing graphical would start after a reboot (not a big surprise). So I decided to go back from AUR nvidia to official repo nvidia, but now my DM's won't start but startx works just fine. Got a clue as to how this is caused?

Edit: I have installed linux-lts, linux-lts-headers and nvidia-lts in order to start with a "clean" kernel, too

Last edited by kyentei (2014-07-13 15:03:52)

Offline

#15 2014-07-13 15:04:52

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,426

Re: Can't upgrade because of nvidia-dkms

I know nothing about any DM, but if you share more info somebody else may be able to help you.
Which DM are you using? Any errors in the logs?

Offline

#16 2014-07-13 15:46:28

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,690
Website

Re: Can't upgrade because of nvidia-dkms

The DM not starting (which one?) is not likely related to the lack of change in the nvidia drivers - especially if startx still works.

Some DMs (slim in particular) are very finnicky, and some sort of "breakage" is common after an update.  So this may again have nothing to do with nvidia, but just be due to the upgrade of the DM.  I also place breakage in quotes, as it is often simply due to a change in the configuration files, so you will need to fix those up if that is the case.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#17 2014-07-13 15:52:33

kyentei
Member
Registered: 2014-07-13
Posts: 8

Re: Can't upgrade because of nvidia-dkms

Startx still works when not specifying any desktop environment in .xinitrc. If I do that, it doesn't work.

Lightdm's x-0-greeter.log:

/usr/sbin/lightdm-gtk-greeter: error while loading shared libraries: libGL.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Lightdm log:

[+0.00s] DEBUG: Logging to /var/log/lightdm/lightdm.log
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Starting Light Display Manager 1.10.1, UID=0 PID=1116
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Loading configuration dirs from /usr/share/lightdm/lightdm.conf.d
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Loading configuration dirs from /usr/local/share/lightdm/lightdm.conf.d
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Loading configuration dirs from /etc/xdg/lightdm/lightdm.conf.d
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Loading configuration from /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Using D-Bus name org.freedesktop.DisplayManager
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Registered seat module xlocal
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Registered seat module xremote
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Registered seat module unity
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Registered seat module surfaceflinger
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Adding default seat
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Seat: Starting
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Seat: Creating greeter session
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Seat: Creating display server of type x
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Could not run plymouth --ping: Failed to execute child process "plymouth" (No such file or directory)
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Using VT 1
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Seat: Starting local X display on VT 1
[+0.00s] DEBUG: DisplayServer x-0: Logging to /var/log/lightdm/x-0.log
[+0.00s] DEBUG: DisplayServer x-0: Writing X server authority to /run/lightdm/root/:0
[+0.00s] DEBUG: DisplayServer x-0: Launching X Server
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Launching process 1121: /usr/sbin/X :0 -seat seat0 -auth /run/lightdm/root/:0 -nolisten tcp vt1 -novtswitch
[+0.01s] DEBUG: DisplayServer x-0: Waiting for ready signal from X server :0
[+0.01s] DEBUG: Acquired bus name org.freedesktop.DisplayManager
[+0.01s] DEBUG: Registering seat with bus path /org/freedesktop/DisplayManager/Seat0
[+0.01s] WARNING: Error getting user list from org.freedesktop.Accounts: GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown: The name org.freedesktop.Accounts was not provided by any .service files
[+0.01s] DEBUG: Loading user config from /etc/lightdm/users.conf
[+0.01s] DEBUG: User lightdm added
[+0.01s] DEBUG: User git added
[+0.01s] DEBUG: User kyentei added
[+0.49s] DEBUG: Got signal 10 from process 1121
[+0.49s] DEBUG: DisplayServer x-0: Got signal from X server :0
[+0.49s] DEBUG: DisplayServer x-0: Connecting to XServer :0
[+0.49s] DEBUG: Seat: Display server ready, starting session authentication
[+0.49s] DEBUG: Session pid=1127: Started with service 'lightdm-greeter', username 'lightdm'
[+0.51s] DEBUG: Session pid=1127: Authentication complete with return value 0: Success
[+0.51s] DEBUG: Seat: Session authenticated, running command
[+0.51s] DEBUG: Session pid=1127: Running command /usr/sbin/lightdm-gtk-greeter
[+0.51s] DEBUG: Creating shared data directory /var/lib/lightdm-data/lightdm
[+0.51s] DEBUG: Session pid=1127: Logging to /var/log/lightdm/x-0-greeter.log
[+0.53s] DEBUG: Activating VT 1
[+0.53s] DEBUG: Activating login1 session /org/freedesktop/login1/session/c18
[+0.57s] DEBUG: Session pid=1127: Greeter closed communication channel
[+0.57s] DEBUG: Session pid=1127: Exited with return value 0
[+0.57s] DEBUG: Seat: Session stopped
[+0.57s] DEBUG: Seat: Stopping; failed to start a greeter
[+0.57s] DEBUG: Seat: Stopping
[+0.57s] DEBUG: Seat: Stopping display server
[+0.57s] DEBUG: Sending signal 15 to process 1121
[+1.35s] DEBUG: Process 1121 exited with return value 0
[+1.35s] DEBUG: DisplayServer x-0: X server stopped
[+1.35s] DEBUG: Releasing VT 1
[+1.35s] DEBUG: DisplayServer x-0: Removing X server authority /run/lightdm/root/:0
[+1.35s] DEBUG: Seat: Display server stopped
[+1.35s] DEBUG: Seat: Stopped
[+1.35s] DEBUG: Required seat has stopped
[+1.35s] DEBUG: Stopping display manager
[+1.35s] DEBUG: Display manager stopped
[+1.35s] DEBUG: Stopping daemon
[+1.35s] DEBUG: Exiting with return value 1

I have also tried lxdm:

** Message: find greeter (nil)

** Message: find idle (nil)

** Message: 1405266069: add xserver watch


X.Org X Server 1.15.2
Release Date: 2014-06-27
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: Linux 3.15.1-1-ARCH x86_64 
Current Operating System: Linux mantra 3.14.12-1-lts #1 SMP Wed Jul 9 20:54:12 CEST 2014 x86_64
Kernel command line: BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz-linux-lts root=UUID=42671ea6-5658-4253-8959-835bdf16ba7a rw quiet
Build Date: 27 June 2014  07:32:26PM
 
Current version of pixman: 0.32.6
	Before reporting problems, check [url]http://wiki.x.org[/url]
	to make sure that you have the latest version.
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
	(++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
	(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Sun Jul 13 17:41:09 2014
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
(==) Using config directory: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d"
Initializing built-in extension Generic Event Extension
Initializing built-in extension SHAPE
Initializing built-in extension MIT-SHM
Initializing built-in extension XInputExtension
Initializing built-in extension XTEST
Initializing built-in extension BIG-REQUESTS
Initializing built-in extension SYNC
Initializing built-in extension XKEYBOARD
Initializing built-in extension XC-MISC
Initializing built-in extension SECURITY
Initializing built-in extension XINERAMA
Initializing built-in extension XFIXES
Initializing built-in extension RENDER
Initializing built-in extension RANDR
Initializing built-in extension COMPOSITE
Initializing built-in extension DAMAGE
Initializing built-in extension MIT-SCREEN-SAVER
Initializing built-in extension DOUBLE-BUFFER
Initializing built-in extension RECORD
Initializing built-in extension DPMS
Initializing built-in extension Present
Initializing built-in extension DRI3
Initializing built-in extension X-Resource
Initializing built-in extension XVideo
Initializing built-in extension XVideo-MotionCompensation
Initializing built-in extension XFree86-VidModeExtension
Initializing built-in extension XFree86-DGA
Initializing built-in extension XFree86-DRI
Initializing built-in extension DRI2
Loading extension GLX
Loading extension NV-GLX
Loading extension NV-CONTROL
Loading extension XINERAMA
The XKEYBOARD keymap compiler (xkbcomp) reports:
> Warning:          Symbol map for key <RALT> redefined
>                   Using last definition for conflicting fields
> Warning:          Type "ONE_LEVEL" has 1 levels, but <RALT> has 2 symbols
>                   Ignoring extra symbols
Errors from xkbcomp are not fatal to the X server
** Message: 1405266069: start xserver in 1 retry
** Message: add 0xdd8e20

** Message: prepare greeter on :0

** Message: start greeter on :0

/usr/lib/lxdm/lxdm-greeter-gtk: error while loading shared libraries: libGL.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

I am using the LTS kernel. I had this same issue on my laptop yesterday. On there, I fixed it by moving to the LTS kernel (at least until a new non-lts kernel comes available).

EDIT: Nevermind. I fixed it by reinstalling nvidia-libgl and lib32-nvidia-libgl. Display Manager now works!

Last edited by kyentei (2014-07-13 21:33:34)

Offline

#18 2014-07-13 15:57:27

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,690
Website

Re: Can't upgrade because of nvidia-dkms

I stand corrected - this is due to the lack of update to nvidia-utils:

$ pkgfile libGL.so.1
...
extra/nvividia-utils

This is precisely why partial upgrades cannot be supported.  I was going to comment earlier in the thread that ignoring nvidia-utils and proceeding with the upgrade seemed like a bad idea - but as it was already done by the time I was going to comment, I figured we might as well see if it works.  Now it can be seen that it doesn't work.

The better option all along was to fix the PKGBUILD - luckily all this takes is changing the version number to match nvidia-utils.  The upstream source kept the link at the same location and simply changed the version number. (edit: and change the checksum)

Last edited by Trilby (2014-07-13 15:58:58)


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#19 2014-07-13 16:01:23

kyentei
Member
Registered: 2014-07-13
Posts: 8

Re: Can't upgrade because of nvidia-dkms

Right! That would've worked lots better. Let's see if I get any weird frame issues. If that's the case, I might go back to the AUR version after all. ^_^ Thanks for the information and help!

Offline

#20 2014-07-13 16:16:03

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,426

Re: Can't upgrade because of nvidia-dkms

When posting configs, code or command output, please use [ code ] tags, not [ quote ] tags https://bbs.archlinux.org/help.php#bbcode

like this

It makes the code more readable and - in case of longer listings - more convenient to scroll through.

Offline

#21 2014-07-13 17:57:38

dmp1ce
Member
Registered: 2014-05-30
Posts: 9

Re: Can't upgrade because of nvidia-dkms

I'm trying to follow along as I also cannot upgrade because of nvidia-dkms, but I'm confused on what to do.

It sounds like I need to change the pkgver and pkgrel on the PKGBUILD file for nvidia-dkms.  I'm using yaourt so when I run "yaourt -S nvidia-dkms" choose to edit the PKGBUILD file and I edit the pkgver to version 340-24 and the pkgrel to 1.  But when yaourt tries to install nvidia-utils I get the same error again which is:

error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: nvidia-dkms: requires nvidia-utils=337.25

Am I missing something?  I also assumed that all I would need to do is change the PKGBUILD so that it references the new nvidia-utils but I cannot get it to work.  How can I update nvidia-utils and nvidia-dkms?

Offline

#22 2014-07-13 18:31:05

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,426

Re: Can't upgrade because of nvidia-dkms

Does it work if you use makepkg to build nvidia-dkms?
Remember to update the checksum.

Offline

#23 2014-07-13 19:32:02

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,690
Website

Re: Can't upgrade because of nvidia-dkms

There is a circular dependency here, it seems.

You can't build the new aur package without the new repo package, and you can't upgrade to the new repo package while the old aur package is installed.

There are two possible solutions.  I'd strongly suggest the first one:

1) uninstall the current aur package.  Update via pacman.  Then build the new version of the aur package (changing the pkgver and checksum accordingly).

2) build and the new aur package with `makepkg -d`, then update via pacman and install the new aur package.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#24 2014-07-13 21:29:44

kyentei
Member
Registered: 2014-07-13
Posts: 8

Re: Can't upgrade because of nvidia-dkms

karol wrote:

When posting configs, code or command output, please use [ code ] tags, not [ quote ] .

Thank you! I will do so from now on ^_^

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB