You are not logged in.

#1 2014-07-15 13:45:01

Bifrosst
Member
Registered: 2014-07-07
Posts: 3

Convert RPM Package to Aur

Hey Guys i got a little problem.

Im really new to this whole packaging system as is just switched over to Arch from Ubuntu.
So here is my actual Question. I got a source package which is a rpm Package. So far so good. Installed
rpm2targz from AUR. Now I got the binary files but what do i actually have to do now ? Can someone please show me the right way on how to compile this correctly on Arch ?

Here is the actual source.
kberichtsheft source

Last edited by Bifrosst (2014-07-16 09:14:48)

Offline

#2 2014-07-15 14:14:27

ANOKNUSA
Member
Registered: 2010-10-22
Posts: 2,141

Re: Convert RPM Package to Aur

I'd say your next step is to find an alternative program. There's no way this is going to work:

1) It's written for KDE3 and requires the KDE3 libraries to run. KDE4 was released over six years ago, and KDE5 is about to come out soon.
2) Without source code (specifically, a Makefile) there's really no way to guarantee that all files get installed to the proper place.
3) Even if it were a generic 32-bit build, if you're running a 64-bit system it would just mean a lot more hassle to install it. As it is, though, it's apparently compiled for an architecture Arch doesn't support, and which has been obsolete for a decade or so.
4) Finally, the last release was a beta from 2002, which means that this project has been effectively dead for 12 years.

Offline

#3 2014-07-15 14:16:37

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 4,978

Re: Convert RPM Package to Aur

You don't need rpm2targz. Pacman/makepkg uses bsdtar/libarchive, which will extract RPMs just fine.

It's much better to grab the actual source and build it yourself instead of using pre-built binaries. Is this a proprietary, closed source program? If it is, you'll have to manually install the files to the correct place.

Offline

#4 2014-07-16 08:55:42

Bifrosst
Member
Registered: 2014-07-07
Posts: 3

Re: Convert RPM Package to Aur

Really Thanks guys I appreciate your answers i will look deeper if i can find the Source of the RPM.

EDIT: Edited the first post. Now I got the actual source of the program.

Last edited by Bifrosst (2014-07-16 09:16:07)

Offline

#5 2014-07-16 09:51:17

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,838

Re: Convert RPM Package to Aur

I'm curious why you're posting the files on filebeam.com, instead of linking to the actual project?

Offline

#6 2014-07-16 10:46:50

Bifrosst
Member
Registered: 2014-07-07
Posts: 3

Re: Convert RPM Package to Aur

Just a habbit from other Forums ^^

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB