You are not logged in.

#1 2014-07-16 19:32:22

Strider
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2009-08-04
Posts: 90

How to install plasma next

I want to try out plasma next.
I already installed kf5 and kf5-aids from official repositories and the plasma-next package group from kde-unstable.
However the group only contains kwin and oxygen ... I know this is not enough since I tried out plasma-next (which didn't work btw) from AUR before.
Note that I don't have kde4 installed at all. I assume kde-frameworks and plasma-next should be enough ?
Where are all the other packeges needed for plasma-next ?

Thanks


Win XP -> Ubuntu -> Fedora -> Arch -> Arch -> Arch -> Ar...

Offline

#2 2014-07-16 19:59:46

clfarron4
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2013-06-28
Posts: 2,162
Website

Re: How to install plasma next

Are you using the [kde-testing] repository, setup as described here: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/KD … e_releases


Claire is fine.
Problems? I have dysgraphia, so clear and concise please.
My public GPG key for package signing
My x86_64 package repository

Offline

#3 2014-07-16 20:11:33

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,638

Re: How to install plasma next

It is not ready yet, it will probably be announced in the Announcements forum when it is.

Last edited by arojas (2014-07-16 20:13:31)

Offline

#4 2014-07-16 20:35:46

clfarron4
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2013-06-28
Posts: 2,162
Website

Re: How to install plasma next

Here's a thread about KDE Framworks 5 if that's any help.


Claire is fine.
Problems? I have dysgraphia, so clear and concise please.
My public GPG key for package signing
My x86_64 package repository

Offline

#5 2014-07-16 20:56:07

phanisvara
Member
From: west bengal, india
Registered: 2012-07-08
Posts: 74

Re: How to install plasma next

i tried the same thing, thinking i could play around with it w/o having to compile everything, but didn't get anywhere either. following this blog post: http://blog.andreascarpino.it/kf5-offic … -for-arch/ everything installs fine, but even after exporting everything as stated and calling "kwin --replace" -- nothing happens. (except that i messed up my 'activities' from earlier, which i don't really care about.)

haven't got enough time to get into this deeper now; rather wait until it becomes 'arch mainstream'...

Offline

#6 2014-07-17 00:10:13

mmstick
Member
Registered: 2014-05-20
Posts: 4

Re: How to install plasma next

All you need to do is install plasma-desktop from the AUR after installing kf5, kf5-aids, and plasma-next (which actually doesn't carry plasma-next ironically).

Offline

#7 2014-07-17 00:55:50

phanisvara
Member
From: west bengal, india
Registered: 2012-07-08
Posts: 74

Re: How to install plasma next

thanks a lot for removing my confusion after reading through most of the other related forum posts. didn't work as i thought at first, w/o compiling most of plasma-next myself, but these AUR packages make that very easy. it's still going on, but so far everything works smoothly. no need to edit pkgbuilds, per example.

Offline

#8 2014-07-17 03:18:40

phanisvara
Member
From: west bengal, india
Registered: 2012-07-08
Posts: 74

Re: How to install plasma next

works well, even  though most apps except plasma-desktop, kwin, etc., are still present in their 4.13.x versions, using those lib's. after reading the other forum threads i expected to have to create my own .desktop file, but that's been taken care of. in the KWIN menu, KF5 shows up as plain "plasma," as opposed to plasma-desktop, which i assume loads 14.3, hopefully still working, but i don't see any reason why it shouldn't.

Offline

#9 2014-07-17 09:25:12

oli74
Member
Registered: 2014-07-07
Posts: 6

Re: How to install plasma next

mmstick wrote:

All you need to do is install plasma-desktop from the AUR after installing kf5, kf5-aids, and plasma-next (which actually doesn't carry plasma-next ironically).

This moment, plasma-next is disappeared form kde-unstable, but plasma-desktop from AUR provides both kwin and oxygen (of plasma-next group) on their 5.x versions. If you try to install oxygen after the kde-unstable repo is enabled, you get oxygen 4.97.0-1, so if you foolishly (like I did) "upgrade" oxygen from kde-unstable, you will end up with a broken plasma 5 system. kwin from from kde-unstable is the same version as is in plasma-desktop package.

Offline

#10 2014-07-17 10:26:05

phanisvara
Member
From: west bengal, india
Registered: 2012-07-08
Posts: 74

Re: How to install plasma next

hm, i installed both kwin & oxygen from [kde-unstable] first, then plasma-desktop from AUR. this accepted the installed version of oxygen and there were no problems, oxygen wasn't replaced by the AUR version. i think these version no.'s are in rapid movement at the moment. peace will come once everything is in unstable i guess...

Offline

#11 2014-07-17 14:32:42

phanisvara
Member
From: west bengal, india
Registered: 2012-07-08
Posts: 74

Re: How to install plasma next

i found this quite interesting in this regard. originally i switched to 'breeze,' but remedied that after reading:
http://blog.martin-graesslin.com/blog/2 … ecoration/

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB