You are not logged in.

#1 2014-06-05 13:19:41

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

2016.05-1 archboot "2k16-R1" ISO hybrid image released

Hi Arch community,

Arch Linux (archboot creation tool) 2016.05-1 "2k16-R1"  has been released.

Homepage and for more information on archboot:
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Archboot

Please get it from your favorite arch linux mirror:
https://downloads.archlinux.de/iso/archboot/2015.09
<yourmirror>/iso/archboot/2016.05/

Further documentation can be found on-disk and on the wiki.
Thanks to all testers, who reported bugs in last release.
Have fun!

greetings
tpowa

Last edited by tpowa (2016-05-15 16:18:40)

Offline

#2 2014-06-05 13:29:01

steve___
Member
Registered: 2008-02-24
Posts: 439

Re: 2016.05-1 archboot "2k16-R1" ISO hybrid image released

Hey tpowa, just curious, did you include the package with shred?

Offline

#3 2014-06-05 13:52:21

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2016.05-1 archboot "2k16-R1" ISO hybrid image released

No shred is not included, cannot remember a request for it though.

Offline

#4 2014-06-05 14:33:21

steve___
Member
Registered: 2008-02-24
Posts: 439

Re: 2016.05-1 archboot "2k16-R1" ISO hybrid image released

Ah, I sent you an email via the forum about it a few weeks ago.  If the
binary doesn't require any libraries, I should be able to uncompress the
package and run it with /path/to/shred, right?

Offline

#5 2014-06-05 14:58:57

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2016.05-1 archboot "2k16-R1" ISO hybrid image released

yes right.

Offline

#6 2014-06-05 15:32:18

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2016.05-1 archboot "2k16-R1" ISO hybrid image released

Offline

#7 2014-06-23 15:54:00

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2016.05-1 archboot "2k16-R1" ISO hybrid image released

Updated ISO files to latest archboot version, now with full UEFI_MIX_MODE support, due to 3.15.x kernel series.

Offline

#8 2014-08-03 08:12:55

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2016.05-1 archboot "2k16-R1" ISO hybrid image released

Updated ISO files to 2014.08 version.

Offline

#9 2014-09-12 10:16:30

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2016.05-1 archboot "2k16-R1" ISO hybrid image released

Updated ISO files to 2014.09 version.

Offline

#10 2014-11-17 14:41:23

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2016.05-1 archboot "2k16-R1" ISO hybrid image released

Updated ISO files to 2014.11 version

Offline

#11 2014-11-17 14:48:15

steve___
Member
Registered: 2008-02-24
Posts: 439

Re: 2016.05-1 archboot "2k16-R1" ISO hybrid image released

Nice, thanks a lot.

Offline

#12 2015-01-15 06:54:38

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2016.05-1 archboot "2k16-R1" ISO hybrid image released

Updated ISO files to 2015.01 version.
Fixed a huge memory bug in kernel initramfs handling with a workaround.
If you want to avoid this on earlier versions you need to add rootfstype=ramfs on boot commandline.
This way you can boot the files again with 600 MB RAM and not 1000MB RAM.

Offline

#13 2015-02-22 12:22:15

huvber
Member
Registered: 2011-04-12
Posts: 42

Re: 2016.05-1 archboot "2k16-R1" ISO hybrid image released

Hi I'm trying to install arch with this image on Asus T100 but when it comes to install the packages it gives me this error

 error: target not found: ntfs-3g

and the installer failed. How can I manage to do it and if anybody knows how can i activate my wifi device in order to install it from network? Because if I see the network interfaces only lo it comes.
Thanks

Offline

#14 2015-02-24 14:14:08

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2016.05-1 archboot "2k16-R1" ISO hybrid image released

I guess you install a dual boot machine with an ntfs partitions and setup tries to add ntfs-3g due to this. You could edit setup script and remove the ntfs-3g parts or wait until i'll release a new fixed ISO.

Offline

#15 2015-02-24 15:40:39

huvber
Member
Registered: 2011-04-12
Posts: 42

Re: 2016.05-1 archboot "2k16-R1" ISO hybrid image released

Thanks for the reply. I exactly did that and I was able to install arch but not the bootloader.  I try to install arch on a hybrid PC (Asus T100) with UEFI and in dual boot with windows. Can I have some suggestion to how deal with it. Thanks

Offline

#16 2015-05-11 06:25:31

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2016.05-1 archboot "2k16-R1" ISO hybrid image released

Bumped to latest archboot code, finally systemd-219 mounting issues solved smile

Offline

#17 2015-05-12 17:50:45

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 274

Re: 2016.05-1 archboot "2k16-R1" ISO hybrid image released

Looks like there is a little problem with /etc/fstab generation. There is no root partition listed. On boot, you have to wait up to 90 seconds to get root partition to be mounted.

Offline

#18 2015-05-12 19:45:10

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2016.05-1 archboot "2k16-R1" ISO hybrid image released

Ok will look at it. Thx for reporting.

Offline

#19 2015-05-12 20:31:17

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 274

Re: 2016.05-1 archboot "2k16-R1" ISO hybrid image released

I noticed in configuration step, when looking at every single configuration file. Any idea of what is behind this bug ?

By the way, I was using automated partitioning with BIOS partition type. If it helps, of course !

Offline

#20 2015-05-13 07:21:15

huvber
Member
Registered: 2011-04-12
Posts: 42

Re: 2016.05-1 archboot "2k16-R1" ISO hybrid image released

I have a problem. After install the base group and go to configuration I notice that there is no etc folder in /install nor any other folder should be after installation (usr, bin, var) just some basic folder (root sbin...). Why ?

Offline

#21 2015-05-17 13:01:44

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2016.05-1 archboot "2k16-R1" ISO hybrid image released

fredbezies wrote:

Looks like there is a little problem with /etc/fstab generation. There is no root partition listed. On boot, you have to wait up to 90 seconds to get root partition to be mounted.

/ is never listed in /etc/fstab it's mounted automatically through initramfs systemd handover.
So no bug here.

Offline

#22 2015-05-17 13:02:40

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2016.05-1 archboot "2k16-R1" ISO hybrid image released

huvber wrote:

I have a problem. After install the base group and go to configuration I notice that there is no etc folder in /install nor any other folder should be after installation (usr, bin, var) just some basic folder (root sbin...). Why ?

Could be that your partitions were not mounted? Check if something is mounted on /install else it's difficult to guess what happened.

Offline

#23 2015-05-17 19:55:16

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 274

Re: 2016.05-1 archboot "2k16-R1" ISO hybrid image released

tpowa wrote:
fredbezies wrote:

Looks like there is a little problem with /etc/fstab generation. There is no root partition listed. On boot, you have to wait up to 90 seconds to get root partition to be mounted.

/ is never listed in /etc/fstab it's mounted automatically through initramfs systemd handover.
So no bug here.

So it's normal it takes up to 90 seconds to mount root partition ? Weird !

Thanks for the info.

Offline

#24 2015-05-18 06:18:22

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: 2016.05-1 archboot "2k16-R1" ISO hybrid image released

I wouldn't say it's normal, but is your / mounting not defined on bootloader commandline?

Offline

#25 2015-05-19 15:54:54

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 274

Re: 2016.05-1 archboot "2k16-R1" ISO hybrid image released

tpowa wrote:

I wouldn't say it's normal, but is your / mounting not defined on bootloader commandline?

I followed every single steps and use default settings for nearly all options. Besides tweaking locales and passwords. I will try again asap. I used network ISO, maybe it is important about this issue ?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB