You are not logged in.

#1 2004-09-30 18:44:56

wdemoss
Member
From: WV - USA
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 222

ABS: Testing PKGBUILDs

Is there a place that you can get the PKGBUILDs for packages in testing? The links of the package repos on the site don't link to anything and I haven't been able to find any information on this.

EDIT: I am speaking of the gnome 2.8 in particular.

-wd


Hobbes : Shouldn't we read the instructions?
Calvin : Do I look like a sissy?

Offline

#2 2004-09-30 21:01:44

apeiro
Daddy
From: Victoria, BC, Canada
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 771
Website

Re: ABS: Testing PKGBUILDs

Testing is kinda special.  It's not really a real cvs repository like the other ones.  It's just a special tag that can be used in any of the three official repos.  So, until I make abs smart enough to checkout Testing, you can do it manually like so:

1. Create the /etc/abs/supfile.testing file:

*default host=cvs.archlinux.org

*default release=cvs
*default delete
*default use-rel-suffix
*default compress
*default tag=TESTING

arch
extra

2. Run cvsup manually:

# mkdir /var/abs/testing
# cd /var/abs/testing
# cvsup -L 1 -r 0 -g -b /var/abs/testing -c .sup /etc/abs/supfile.testing

That should do it.

Offline

#3 2004-10-01 11:58:23

wdemoss
Member
From: WV - USA
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 222

Re: ABS: Testing PKGBUILDs

Thanks apeiro, that worked great.

-wd


Hobbes : Shouldn't we read the instructions?
Calvin : Do I look like a sissy?

Offline

#4 2005-03-19 09:51:38

Celti
Member
From: Phoenix, AZ, USA
Registered: 2004-02-28
Posts: 43
Website

Re: ABS: Testing PKGBUILDs

I'll just post it here.

---
I've managed to hack abs so it will sync testing. Here are the files:

/usr/bin/abs

#!/bin/bash

[ -f /etc/abs/abs.conf ] && source /etc/abs/abs.conf

usage() {
       echo "Arch Build System -- synchronization utility"
       echo "usage: $0 [repository1 [repository2 ...]]"
       echo
       echo "abs will synchronize PKGBUILD scripts from the CVS repository"
       echo "into $ABSROOT.  You can follow different package trees by"
       echo "editing /etc/abs/supfile.* files.  If no argument is given, abs "
       echo "will synchronize from supfiles specified in /etc/abs/abs.conf"
}

update() {
       cd $ABSROOT
       for sup in "${SUPFILES[@]}"; do
               if [ "$sup" != "testing" ]; then
                       if [ "$sup" = "${sup#!}" ]; then
                               cvsup -L 1 -r 0 -g -b $ABSROOT -c .sup
/etc/abs/supfile.$sup
                       fi
                       elif [ "$sup" = "testing" ]; then
                               if [ ! -d /var/abs/testing ]; then
mkdir /var/abs/testing; fi
                               cd $ABSROOT/testing
                               cvsup -L 1 -r 0 -g -b $ABSROOT/testing
-c .sup /etc/abs/supfile.testing
                               cd $ABSROOT
               fi
       done
}

if [ "$1" = "-h" ] || [ "$1" = "--help" ]; then
       usage
       exit 0
fi

if [ ! -w $ABSROOT ]; then
       echo "abs: no write permissions in $ABSROOT"
       exit 1
fi

if [ ! `type -p cvsup` ]; then
       echo "abs: cvsup was not found in PATH.  Install cvsup"
       exit 1
fi

if [ ! -d "$ABSROOT" ]; then
       echo "abs: directory $ABSROOT does not exist"
       exit 1
fi

if [ "$#" -ne "0" ]; then
       SUPFILES=("$@")
fi

update

exit 0

/etc/abs/supfile.testing

#
# /etc/abs/supfile
#

# this is the host containing the master ABS files
*default host=cvs.archlinux.org

*default release=cvs
*default delete
*default use-rel-suffix
*default compress
*default tag=TESTING

arch
extra

Whack those into their appropriate places, pop 'testing' into the supfiles array in abs.conf, and run abs. You should be golden.
---
Judd, you maybe wanna officially include it ABS? I've fiddled with it a bit and found no bugs, and I tried to make my changes as clean as possible.

~Celti


“A stupid person can make only certain, limited types of errors; the mistakes open to a clever fellow are far broader. But to the one who knows how smart he is compared to everyone else, the possibilities for true idiocy are boundless.”  —S.K.Z. Brust

Offline

#5 2005-06-01 18:35:35

lucke
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-11-30
Posts: 4,018

Re: ABS: Testing PKGBUILDs

Aw. Nice stuff, really. You should add this to bugtracker as a feature request.

Offline

#6 2006-02-22 15:34:11

patroclo7
Member
From: Bassano del Grappa, ITALY
Registered: 2006-01-11
Posts: 915

Re: ABS: Testing PKGBUILDs

Fine work, I really like to use the testing repo through abs. It is particularly useful when one does not want to use testing packages as a rule (and so is not willing to put testing in /etc/pacman.conf), but also a couple of specific packages through abs. I see that this has been posted as a feature request in the bugtracker. I vote for this feature smile


Mortuus in anima, curam gero cutis

Offline

#7 2006-02-23 09:08:38

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: ABS: Testing PKGBUILDs

Just a note, if you put testing in your pacman.conf, but underneath extra/current, it is considered a lower priority.

This means that pacman will not install from testing unless you explicitly tell it to, by doing pacman -S testing/ati-drivers

iphitus

Offline

#8 2006-02-23 10:06:29

brain0
Developer
From: Aachen - Germany
Registered: 2005-01-03
Posts: 1,382

Re: ABS: Testing PKGBUILDs

This script modification has been on the forums for almost a year now, and no one bothered to include it into the official abs script. Is there any particular reason for this?

Offline

#9 2006-11-22 22:23:31

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: ABS: Testing PKGBUILDs

Because I just noticed this?
I will add this asap - good work Celti

Offline

#10 2007-02-10 13:10:37

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,439
Website

Re: ABS: Testing PKGBUILDs

Did it get added?  I think not :S

Offline

#11 2008-01-04 14:46:26

jacko
Member
Registered: 2007-11-23
Posts: 840

Re: ABS: Testing PKGBUILDs

iphitus wrote:

Just a note, if you put testing in your pacman.conf, but underneath extra/current, it is considered a lower priority.

This means that pacman will not install from testing unless you explicitly tell it to, by doing pacman -S testing/ati-drivers

iphitus

Glad I read this thread, I will be more then willing to try out some packages in testing, but I never wanted everything in testing. This is the solution I was after. Wish I had read about this a long time ago.

Offline

#12 2008-01-04 14:58:24

dolby
Member
From: 1992
Registered: 2006-08-08
Posts: 1,581

Re: ABS: Testing PKGBUILDs

note that the only way you are supposed to use testing is to use all packages u have installed from it. meaning the repo being on top of pacman.conf.
otherwise there is big chance that at some point, especially if u dont use the repo with caution (whatever that means) , you are gonna break things & ask for help all over the place. then claim Arch sucks etc etc..
that is not always the case but consider yourself warned


There shouldn't be any reason to learn more editor types than emacs or vi -- mg (1)
[You learn that sarcasm does not often work well in international forums.  That is why we avoid it. -- ewaller (arch linux forum moderator)

Offline

#13 2008-01-05 17:32:40

Shaika-Dzari
Member
From: Québec, Canada
Registered: 2006-04-14
Posts: 436
Website

Re: ABS: Testing PKGBUILDs

Hello!

Can we safelly use ABS hack from Celti?
I also need to look into pkgbuild from testing... smile

I searched on bugs.archlinux.org but I did not see any feature request to include testing in ABS.


Thank!

Offline

#14 2008-01-05 17:36:30

shining
Pacman Developer
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 2,043

Re: ABS: Testing PKGBUILDs

Shaika-Dzari wrote:

Hello!

Can we safelly use ABS hack from Celti?
I also need to look into pkgbuild from testing... smile

I searched on bugs.archlinux.org but I did not see any feature request to include testing in ABS.


Thank!

Look at /etc/abs/* , testing is already there.


pacman roulette : pacman -S $(pacman -Slq | LANG=C sort -R | head -n $((RANDOM % 10)))

Offline

#15 2008-01-05 17:43:12

Shaika-Dzari
Member
From: Québec, Canada
Registered: 2006-04-14
Posts: 436
Website

Re: ABS: Testing PKGBUILDs

Great! big_smile

Thank you shining.

For other people like me, edit /etc/abs/abs.conf and remove the ! before testing in SUPFILES=().
Run abs as root and enjoy! big_smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB