You are not logged in.

#1 2004-02-12 05:40:25

snoopy
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 25

ripperX

hello, the only musik program I have problems with permisssion is ripperX
It's ok when I'm "root" but in users I've got this message

Make sure an audio disc is in the drive and that you are either running ripperX as root, are a member of the "cdrom" group, or other wise have appropriate permissions to access the CDROM device
Error: cdparanoia complains:
Unable to open cdrom drive

do I have to make a group "cdrom" and set the permissions in /etc/devfsd.conf ??
or something else...
thanx for the help

Offline

#2 2004-02-12 12:31:36

andy
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 374

Re: ripperX

AFAIR I did not have to do anything like that. Are you sure that you told cdparanoia the correct CD device ?

Offline

#3 2004-02-12 17:38:47

snoopy
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 25

Re: ripperX

yes it should be the correct device because it's working under "root" privilege
and everything else is working fine in users mode (k3b, cd player, xmms, totem...)

Offline

#4 2004-02-12 18:54:16

jlvsimoes
Member
From: portugal
Registered: 2002-12-23
Posts: 392
Website

Re: ripperX

do a simlink of the  cdplayer dev to /dev/cdrom


-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version: 3.1
GU/ d- s: a- C L U P+ L+++ E--- W+
N 0+ K- W-- !O !M V-- PS+ PE- V++ PGP T 5 Z+ R* TV+ B+
DI-- D- G-- e-- h! r++ z+ z*
------END GEEK CODE BLOCK------

Offline

#5 2004-02-12 21:39:10

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: ripperX

i think you can also just change the device path in the config files.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#6 2004-02-13 18:50:30

jlvsimoes
Member
From: portugal
Registered: 2002-12-23
Posts: 392
Website

Re: ripperX

yikes


-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version: 3.1
GU/ d- s: a- C L U P+ L+++ E--- W+
N 0+ K- W-- !O !M V-- PS+ PE- V++ PGP T 5 Z+ R* TV+ B+
DI-- D- G-- e-- h! r++ z+ z*
------END GEEK CODE BLOCK------

Offline

#7 2004-02-13 19:34:59

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,442

Re: ripperX

anything solved so far?  8)


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

#8 2004-02-13 19:35:31

snoopy
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 25

Re: ripperX

thank you I've tried with no result
I'm checking my fstab right now, everything seems ok
may be I will try with another ripper to see if it's the solution
thanks again

Offline

#9 2004-02-13 20:10:03

snoopy
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 25

Re: ripperX

just installed sound-juicer and got the same problem
root everything is ok, 
user: could not extract this cd, couldn't open device, could not seek the tracks,
but cddb information is ok?

Offline

#10 2004-02-13 21:07:17

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: ripperX

it really sounds like your fstab is buggered up in some way. you mentioned that you use k3b...that has been know to create entries in your fstab that can cause problems. if youpost your fstab then perhaops we can go from there.

(k3b may have also created an new group as well ... damn invasive software that it is)


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#11 2004-02-14 00:09:10

snoopy
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 25

Re: ripperX

here my fstab

/dev/sd/c1b0t0u0p1   /mnt/usbstick   vfat              defaults,ro,user,noauto,unhide  0  0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0  /dvdrom          udf,iso9660   defaults,ro,user,noauto,unhide  0  0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom1  /cdrom            udf,iso9660   defaults,ro,user,noauto,unhide  0  0
/dev/floppy/0              /mnt/floppy     vfat               user,noauto,unhide     0  0
none                          /proc               proc               defaults   0   0
none                          /dev/shm         tmpfs             defaults   0   0
tmpfs                        /tmp                 tmpfs             size=2G,nr_inodes=10k  0  0

/dev/discs/disc0/part3 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/discs/disc0/part2 / reiserfs defaults 0 0
/dev/discs/disc0/part1 /boot reiserfs defaults 0 0
/dev/discs/disc0/part5 /usr reiserfs defaults 0 0
/dev/discs/disc0/part6 /var reiserfs defaults 0 0
/dev/discs/disc0/part7 /home reiserfs defaults 0 0

here's my /etc/group

root::0:root
bin::1:root,bin,daemon
daemon::2:root,bin,daemon
sys::3:root,bin
adm::4:root,daemon
tty::5:
disk::6:root,snoopy
lp::7:daemon
mem::8:
kmem::9:
wheel::10:root
ftp::11:
mail::12:
smmsp::25:
nobody::99:
users::100:
slocate:x:21:
gdm:x:101:
sound:x:102:root,snoopy

hope it can help
thank you sarah31
smile
p.s. what program should I use to burn cd to replace k3b?

Offline

#12 2004-02-14 10:28:29

mico
Member
From: Slovenia
Registered: 2004-02-08
Posts: 239

Re: ripperX

If you are using scsi emulation for ide cd drive, check out this thread:
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?t=2418

Offline

#13 2004-02-14 18:18:51

snoopy
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 25

Re: ripperX

thanx mico & others, that was the solution
let's rock now 8)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB