You are not logged in.

#651 2014-09-25 04:33:31

mshan
Member
Registered: 2013-05-05
Posts: 105

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

I successfully flashed Johnlewis's custom firmware on my Acer C720 Aromebook (Arch+Chromebook = Aromebook smile)
Everything's fine, Thank Johnlewis.

But I have a very small weird thing that my Aromebook's lid switch doesn't normally work any more after flashing that custom firmware.
Aromebook usually turns up if I lid it up after completely shurtdown before flashing custom firmware.
But now, sometime it turns up and sometime it doesn't turn up after completely shutdown after flashing custom firmware.
Especially it turns up after long time of completely shutdown, I notice.
If it doesn't turns up I just need to press power button to turn it up.
Is there any way to fix it?

Last edited by mshan (2014-09-25 10:41:04)


Amazing !

Offline

#652 2014-09-25 13:30:00

dhead
Member
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 190

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

scot14 wrote:

Maybe you guys should file a bug report on freedesktop? I don't think you have IvyBridge either, even though that's what the log says.

The question is it really a fault with the graphic driver ?
I believe that on my system the error presented itself only when running both X and Wayland sessions.

I succeeded to reproduce the error by:
1. Starting a rootless X Gnome session on tty1 and on tty2 starting a Wayland Gnome session.
2. Go to the Wayland session and open and close an app (for example Nautilus).
3. The Wayland session will crash sometimes without the error and sometimes with the error:

kernel: [drm:ivybridge_set_fifo_underrun_reporting] *ERROR* uncleared fifo underrun on pipe A
kernel: [drm:ivb_err_int_handler] *ERROR* Pipe A FIFO underrun

Why I'm not sure that this a bug in the graphic driver ? because X apps are the ones that crashing the Wayland session and the backtrace is pointing to xwayland.
And to this added a bug in Gnome that if an X session is running then the Wayland session run all the apps through xwayland, so even if I'm on the Wayland session Gnome doesn't run Nautilus as a native Wayland app. Edit: It's not a bug, need to set "# export GDK_BACKEND=wayland"

Last edited by dhead (2014-09-28 15:31:15)

Offline

#653 2014-09-25 14:09:12

scot14
Member
Registered: 2014-06-02
Posts: 123

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

dhead wrote:

Why I'm not sure that this a bug in the graphic driver ? because X apps are the ones that crashing the Wayland session and the backtrace is pointing to xwayland.

I don't know, but I think filing it somewhere is a good start.

Offline

#654 2014-09-26 01:04:07

nariox
Member
Registered: 2014-03-19
Posts: 127

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

@dhead: how's the memory usage compared to X11? Pretty much the same? Do you feel that animations are smoother? I've tried it in an old desktop at the university, but it was too buggy (it had a 82Q35 chip, so I wasn't expecting much).

By the way, are any of you experiencing things like this?

[   69.385320] ata1.00: exception Emask 0x0 SAct 0x7fffffff SErr 0x0 action 0x6 frozen
[   69.385327] ata1.00: failed command: READ FPDMA QUEUED
[   69.385333] ata1.00: cmd 60/08:00:70:44:80/00:00:00:00:00/40 tag 0 ncq 4096 in
         res 40/00:01:00:00:00/00:00:00:00:00/00 Emask 0x4 (timeout)
[   69.385336] ata1.00: status: { DRDY }

I've bought a 128gb NGFF SSD from mydigitalssd.com, but I'm afraid it's failing ):
But maybe this is a bug in 3.17-rc6. Any ideas?

Last edited by nariox (2014-09-26 03:07:50)

Offline

#655 2014-09-26 11:43:59

dhead
Member
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 190

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

@nariox

I didn't saw much difference in memory usage but Wayland does feels much snappier.

Gnome on Wayland isn't ready for laptops as mouse and touchpad configuration is pretty limited:
* There's no tap-to-click support at all (1 finger tap == left click, 2 == right click, 3 == middle click), it looks like the devs forgot to add it or didn't cared and the response I received in bug I reported is that this won't come before 3.16 or 3.15.x.
* No disable while writing support.
* There's no replacement to xorg.conf.d files so you can't really control touchpad properties (not sure if synclient will work).
* Touchpad buttons didn't worked, not sure why.
* Not specific to laptops but mouse back/forward buttons didn't worked.

There're also some hiccup with X apps (I mainly care for Chromium) running through xwayland like slowdowns and the oocational freeze but this maybe not related to Gnome but to Wayland/ xwayland.

p.s.
I would recommend to backup the ssd immediately, mine already failed completely and I'm back to the stock ssd, I'm also on rc6 and I don't see this error.

Last edited by dhead (2014-09-26 12:54:50)

Offline

#656 2014-09-26 13:45:25

nariox
Member
Registered: 2014-03-19
Posts: 127

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

dhead wrote:

p.s.
I would recommend to backup the ssd immediately, mine already failed completely and I'm back to the stock ssd, I'm also on rc6 and I don't see this error.

@dhead: I don't know if this is too off-topic and whether I should PM you instead (although MyDigitalSSD were the first ones to start selling affordable SSDs for the C720, so I guess many people might experience this. Did you RMA the SSD? Was it covered in the warranty. They say the warranty is 3 years, but is this covered? Was the process easy, or problematic?

Offline

#657 2014-09-26 14:31:05

LeaveAThousand
Member
Registered: 2014-04-11
Posts: 34

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

mshan wrote:

I successfully flashed Johnlewis's custom firmware on my Acer C720 Aromebook (Arch+Chromebook = Aromebook smile)
Everything's fine, Thank Johnlewis.

But I have a very small weird thing that my Aromebook's lid switch doesn't normally work any more after flashing that custom firmware.
Aromebook usually turns up if I lid it up after completely shurtdown before flashing custom firmware.
But now, sometime it turns up and sometime it doesn't turn up after completely shutdown after flashing custom firmware.
Especially it turns up after long time of completely shutdown, I notice.
If it doesn't turns up I just need to press power button to turn it up.
Is there any way to fix it?

I experience the same. I told John, here's his response:

"Unfortunately, as I am not a C or firmware programmer, my options for “fixing” things are somewhat limited – I am mostly at the mercy of changes the coreboot devs make. Having said that, I can try different options. I can make a build using the firmware branch of ChromeOS coreboot which the HP Chromebook 14 was released with, test it doesn’t brick my device, and then let you try that?"

Offline

#658 2014-09-26 17:41:57

dhead
Member
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 190

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

@nariox

I bought my drive from Amazon, I opened a support request on mydigitaldiscount.com, it took about week to get response but the store sent me the RMA forms without putting any obstacles.
I didn't filled the RMA yet as I don't want to pay the extra international shipping fees (both ways) and VAT (again) so I'll be sending the SSD with a sibling visiting the US.

Last edited by dhead (2014-09-26 17:42:40)

Offline

#659 2014-09-27 18:03:25

dhead
Member
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 190

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

Can anyone else confirm that bluetooth is working ?

I started copying some firmware files but now it looks like I didn't had to.
I'm not sure what was wrong in my previous tests but after starting bluetooth.service, at least in Gnome (3.14) bluetooth audio and data (file transfer to Android) it seems like it's working great.

If anyone else want to do some tests with firmwares (though it doesn't look like it needed):
* I believe our device is Atheros AR9462.
* Debian firmware-atheros (included in Debian firmware-nonfree) https://packages.debian.org/wheezy/firmware-atheros
* open-ath9k-htc-firmware https://github.com/qca/open-ath9k-htc-firmware
* AUR ath9k-htc-firmware https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/ath9k-htc-firmware/

Offline

#660 2014-09-27 21:50:30

nariox
Member
Registered: 2014-03-19
Posts: 127

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

dhead wrote:

Can anyone else confirm that bluetooth is working ?

I never had to install any firmware packages to get bluetooth working, all I needed was to enable bluetooth on systemd with:

# systemctl enable bluetooth
# systemctl start bluetooth

but I thought this was needed for any platform.

Offline

#661 2014-09-28 15:10:42

dhead
Member
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 190

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

scot14 wrote:
dhead wrote:

Why I'm not sure that this a bug in the graphic driver ? because X apps are the ones that crashing the Wayland session and the backtrace is pointing to xwayland.

I don't know, but I think filing it somewhere is a good start.

I didn't created a new bug report but as I couldn't get more details even when enabling i915.mmio_debug=1.
Instead, I updated the open issue that I know that exist with the C720 (and 2955U), I will let Intel developers to decide if it's related to the existing bug or not.

https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=80229#c32

Offline

#662 2014-09-30 20:19:56

hellfire[bg]
Member
Registered: 2012-06-08
Posts: 31

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

Hi guys,

I ordered an Acer C720 chromebook and I am going to receive it tomorrow. I have a couple of questions regarding running Arch on this laptop.

1. Can I completely remove Chrome from the laptop and use the whole hard drive for Arch? If I create a recovery image can I easily restore Chrome later if I decide to do so? Can I safely delete all preexisting partitions when I'm installing arch?

2. Can I still use 2013.10.1 iso for Arch Linux (due to the 64 bit installation bug) - unfortunately I won't be able to do the instructions for setting up an up-to-date 64 bit installation iso?

3. Should I expect any problems (like bugs) other than the non working touchpad?

Thanks in advance for the replies!

Offline

#663 2014-09-30 21:53:02

nariox
Member
Registered: 2014-03-19
Posts: 127

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

hellfire[bg] wrote:

Hi guys,

I ordered an Acer C720 chromebook and I am going to receive it tomorrow. I have a couple of questions regarding running Arch on this laptop.

1. Can I completely remove Chrome from the laptop and use the whole hard drive for Arch? If I create a recovery image can I easily restore Chrome later if I decide to do so? Can I safely delete all preexisting partitions when I'm installing arch?

2. Can I still use 2013.10.1 iso for Arch Linux (due to the 64 bit installation bug) - unfortunately I won't be able to do the instructions for setting up an up-to-date 64 bit installation iso?

3. Should I expect any problems (like bugs) other than the non working touchpad?

Thanks in advance for the replies!

1- Yes

2- Actually, I've tried with a more recent version of the ISO (I think it was the latest as of now) and it worked (although I had John Lewis' custom ROM installed too)

3- Soon the touchpad will be working (as of Linux 3.17). I was also having a few occasional GPU hiccups, but I'm not sure if it's just me, low memory, GNOME, mesa or i915's fault. They are not very frequent though.

Offline

#664 2014-09-30 22:13:21

scot14
Member
Registered: 2014-06-02
Posts: 123

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/40637 could be closed if anyone using stock firmware installs 64-bit from a recent installer. I can't try, myself, right now.

Offline

#665 2014-09-30 22:58:41

dhead
Member
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 190

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

@scot14

It still exist with 2014.09.03 and C720 stock firmware.

Offline

#666 2014-10-01 06:14:28

danij3l
Member
From: Osijek, Croatia
Registered: 2007-12-08
Posts: 36

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

can anyone please check if linux ck-haswell optimized build from Graysky's works on C720 Celeron 2955U? (since AVX/AVX2 are disabled on celerons)

Offline

#667 2014-10-01 10:04:57

hellfire[bg]
Member
Registered: 2012-06-08
Posts: 31

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

Thanks for the replies!

2- Actually, I've tried with a more recent version of the ISO (I think it was the latest as of now) and it worked (although I had John Lewis' custom ROM installed too)

https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/40637 could be closed if anyone using stock firmware installs 64-bit from a recent installer. I can't try, myself, right now.

I am going to try both the latest iso and the older one that will work and will report back. Do I have to use any kernel parameter for any of them? I think I have to use a memory related kernel parameter with the older iso.

3- Soon the touchpad will be working (as of Linux 3.17). I was also having a few occasional GPU hiccups, but I'm not sure if it's just me, low memory, GNOME, mesa or i915's fault. They are not very frequent though.

Yes, I'll use the additional kernel modules for several days until 3.17 is released and available in the Arch repos. I think I've seen the rcs in the Arch repos but I prefer to wait until the kernel is released.

3- Soon the touchpad will be working (as of Linux 3.17). I was also having a few occasional GPU hiccups, but I'm not sure if it's just me, low memory, GNOME, mesa or i915's fault. They are not very frequent though.

Can you describe your issues? I think I read earlier in this thread about graphics issues (the laptop hanging up) that seemed to be related to the option that removes the tearing in GNOME.

Offline

#668 2014-10-01 13:31:55

scot14
Member
Registered: 2014-06-02
Posts: 123

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

hellfire[bg] wrote:

I am going to try both the latest iso and the older one that will work and will report back. Do I have to use any kernel parameter for any of them? I think I have to use a memory related kernel parameter with the older iso.

Thanks! Is the 64-bit installer boot parameter "mem=1536m" required?

Last edited by scot14 (2014-10-01 13:33:32)

Offline

#669 2014-10-01 13:34:49

nariox
Member
Registered: 2014-03-19
Posts: 127

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

scot14 wrote:
hellfire[bg] wrote:

I am going to try both the latest iso and the older one that will work and will report back. Do I have to use any kernel parameter for any of them? I think I have to use a memory related kernel parameter with the older iso.

Thanks! Is the 64-bit installer boot parameter "mem=1536m" required?

With the custom rom, I didn't need to. It booted correctly. But I can't do much testing, since my SSD is now kapputt. Thanks to dhead for recommending a backup.

Offline

#670 2014-10-01 17:24:17

scot14
Member
Registered: 2014-06-02
Posts: 123

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

parchedas wrote:

At the moment, the only difference between linux-chromebook and linux-mainline-chromebook is the mainline version doesn't have the default console log level changed. dhead is correct, I will next update mainline when 3.17rc1 is released.

What are your plans for linux-chromebook and linux-mainline-chromebook?

Offline

#671 2014-10-02 14:11:53

SolarBoyMatt
Member
From: Columbus, Ohio
Registered: 2012-01-07
Posts: 258
Website

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

If parchedas is currently MIA, I wouldn't mind building those packages in the mean time, but for linux-mainline-chromebook, remind me, which patches should be kept, and which should be discarded? Are the Dell 11 backlight and C720p touchscreen patches are still needed? The only one I use anymore is the tpm patch, but I want to be certain.

Last edited by SolarBoyMatt (2014-10-02 14:13:44)

Offline

#672 2014-10-02 16:32:36

scot14
Member
Registered: 2014-06-02
Posts: 123

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

SolarBoyMatt wrote:

If parchedas is currently MIA, I wouldn't mind building those packages in the mean time, but for linux-mainline-chromebook, remind me, which patches should be kept, and which should be discarded? Are the Dell 11 backlight and C720p touchscreen patches are still needed? The only one I use anymore is the tpm patch, but I want to be certain.

I think the C720P patch is in 3.17, the Dell backlight patch is orphaned, https://patchwork.kernel.org/patch/4971571/ may be in 3.18 and https://patchwork.kernel.org/patch/4975201/ is in linux-next and should also be in 3.18.

Offline

#673 2014-10-02 22:28:16

dhead
Member
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 190

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

John Lewis posted about adding some i915 module options to the kernel cmdline.
I had a really bad week with more than 10 system freezes (somehow Empathy was instantly generating a freeze) so I already trying this.

https://johnlewis.ie/tentative-fixwork- … gpu-hangs/

Edit: It seems like it's working quite fine.

XBMC devs trying to figure out which of the i915 option is making the difference and they are also testing with "i915.enable_rc6=0", I recommend following the bug report.

Last edited by dhead (2014-10-03 13:31:16)

Offline

#674 2014-10-03 17:22:22

hellfire[bg]
Member
Registered: 2012-06-08
Posts: 31

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

Thanks! Is the 64-bit installer boot parameter "mem=1536m" required?

I installed Arch on my chromebook a couple of days ago. Unfortunately 64 bit installation with the newest 2014.10.01 doesn't work and the "mem=1536m" kernel parameter doesn't make a difference. I used the older iso and it worked only after I applied the parameter. Unfortunately I experienced severe issues with the Wi-Fi connection during the install - it frequently disconnected and overal it took me maybe 5 times more time to download the packages. I don't know if it was authentication issues (I was using WPA-PSK with wpa_supplicant) or maybe the driver in the 3.11 was not reliable enough. Anyway I eventually downloaded the packages and the installation proceeded without a hitch. After I rebooted into Arch I experienced no issues whatsoever with the wi-fi. I still applied the recommended kernel parameters in the wiki just to be sure. I am now doing the final fine tuning of my System and KDE is working beutifully on this machine. To be frank I was afraid that the hardware may not be enough to run a full composited DE fluidly but I'm very happy with how KDE runs and I'm also very happy with the laptop itself. Can't waiy for KDE SC to transition to 5, I may try kde frameworks 5 when I have some free time.

I'll post any issues I experience here. So far the list is (pretty much the same as the issues described in the Arch wiki):
    - the 64 bit installation doesn't work with up-to date images. One of the workarounds is to use older media, the other (more complicated but possibly better) is to prepare a special install media and is described in the Arch wiki.
    - the wi-fi connection was very unreliable during the installation using the older install media with kernel 3.11. I didn't bother with it as I wasn't in a hurry to get the installation done. Possible solutions would be to play with the ath9k module options or to use the newer installation media.
    - the touchpad didn't work after the default installation. I followed the instuctions in the wiki to build the necessary kernel module. Another option is to use a custom kernel from AUR. Shouldn't be a problem after kernel 3.17 is released and uploaded to the Arch mirrors.

Last edited by hellfire[bg] (2014-10-03 17:24:56)

Offline

#675 2014-10-03 21:59:06

zeig
Member
Registered: 2014-10-03
Posts: 2

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

I spent some time determining these values (while working on getting hibernate to work).

The most important ones are:
- enable_ppgtt (it set to 2 as default in my driver, playing a video using Xv extension will crash the server)
- use_mmio_flip (activating this option prevent memory corruption wiht my setup)
- powersave (if not set, it won't survive an hibernate/resume cycle)
- enable_cmd_parser (if not set, less stable... this option is obscure to me at this time)
- enable_psr (Linus set it to 0 by default in 3.17-rc1, previously it was on by default. It did not work with his notebook but it works fine with mine)

Also, as I'm working on stabilizing my HP ChromeBook 14, it looks like a good idea to disable "glamor" extension (because of the Xorg server, not i915 module) and to prevent any use of glx-tls in Mesa (load forced by glamor). It looks like there are stabilities issue with it and glamor accel is never used as SNA is the new default one.
My Xorg (with SNA accel) is now stable since I have recompiled Mesa without glx-tls and disabled glamor.

dhead wrote:

John Lewis posted about adding some i915 module options to the kernel cmdline.
I had a really bad week with more than 10 system freezes (somehow Empathy was instantly generating a freeze) so I already trying this.

https://johnlewis.ie/tentative-fixwork- … gpu-hangs/

Edit: It seems like it's working quite fine.

XBMC devs trying to figure out which of the i915 option is making the difference and they are also testing with "i915.enable_rc6=0", I recommend following the bug report.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB