You are not logged in.

#1 2014-10-10 10:30:11

Arch-Hoochie
Member
Registered: 2014-09-23
Posts: 75

[fixed] Re-installing on an SSD after failing to install correctly.

Okay this is really confusing I never had an issue with installing the "default" shall we call it of Arch. Here is what commands I used.

sgdisk --zap-all /dev/sda

cgdisk /dev/sda give the boot drive code EF02

30g [boot sda1]
5g ish [set type to 82 swap]
rest of disk [sda3]
mkfs.ext4 /dev/sda1
mkfs.ext4 /dev/sda3
mkswap /dev/sda2
swapon  /dev/sda2
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt
mkdir /mnt/home
mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/home

iw dev - [Lists device]
Wifi-menu (device name)
ip link show

ping -c 3 www.google.co.uk

pacstrap -i /mnt base base-devel
genfstab -U -p /mnt  :  sed 's/rw,realtime,data=ordered/defaults,realtime/' >> /mnt/etc/fstab 
arch-chroot /mnt
nano /etc/locale.gen [select your language]
locale-gen
echo LANG=en_GB.UTF-8 > /etc/locale.conf
export LANG=en_GB.UTF-8
in -s /usr/share/zonetime/England
mkinitcpio -p linux
passwd
useradd -m -g users -G wheel -s /bin/bash USERNAME
pacman -S grub-bios
pacman -S os-prober
grub-install /dev/sda
grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

But when I try to execute

grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

I get unable to execute.

Have I missed something critical in this setup? I know it's not the best but I usually do the rest in the GUI.

Any responses would be great.

Last edited by Arch-Hoochie (2014-10-11 09:47:29)

Offline

#2 2014-10-10 10:54:34

Arch-Hoochie
Member
Registered: 2014-09-23
Posts: 75

Re: [fixed] Re-installing on an SSD after failing to install correctly.

Just tried it again and now i am getting this contains no boot part so going to look into that sure I set it at the start

Offline

#3 2014-10-10 14:46:39

Arch-Hoochie
Member
Registered: 2014-09-23
Posts: 75

Re: [fixed] Re-installing on an SSD after failing to install correctly.

Okay tried a different boot loader to grub no errors and says no o/s installed when I try to boot.

However I noticed it say some firmware did not install :

Aic94xx & smsmdtv

Last edited by Arch-Hoochie (2014-10-10 15:06:26)

Offline

#4 2014-10-10 18:38:15

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 30,424
Website

Re: [fixed] Re-installing on an SSD after failing to install correctly.

Please stop bumping your thread: use the edit button.

Also, locale=gen is not going to do anything...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#5 2014-10-10 19:05:43

thiagowfx
Member
Registered: 2013-07-09
Posts: 586

Re: [fixed] Re-installing on an SSD after failing to install correctly.

jasonwryan wrote:

Also, locale=gen is not going to do anything...

In other words, use locale-gen.

Usually I don't simply use a grub-install /dev/sda, but https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Gr … ll_to_disk . You should also read the output of this command, it may contain something relevant.

Offline

#6 2014-10-10 19:09:00

Arch-Hoochie
Member
Registered: 2014-09-23
Posts: 75

Re: [fixed] Re-installing on an SSD after failing to install correctly.

Huh thanks for the info. Sorry but I wasn't doing to bump my post. My search says the firmware (stupid auto correcting phones) is to do with aur is that correct?

I'm really lost on this one seems it just doesn't want to boot of my ssd.

thiagowfx wrote:
jasonwryan wrote:

Also, locale=gen is not going to do anything...

In other words, use locale-gen.

Usually I don't simply use a grub-install /dev/sda, but https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Gr … ll_to_disk . You should also read the output of this command, it may contain something relevant.

Thanks for the correct. I will check out the link.

UPDATE: After 7 reinstalls I tried Syslinux instead of grub and it worked first time.

Last edited by Arch-Hoochie (2014-10-11 09:47:07)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB