You are not logged in.

#1 2014-10-25 21:30:35

theblackdog
Member
Registered: 2014-08-23
Posts: 14

[SOLVED]Booting into Arch after installation.

Good evening,

after getting a new harddrive (SSD) I've decidet to do a fresh install of Arch (it was already installed on the HDD I've used before).
The only difference made while installing is that I'm using a GPT-table and that I've configured grub for EFI.

After selecting Arch linux from the Grub menue I've get the message that there is a startup job running for sdb1, sdb2 and sdb3.

My Partition table:

gdisk -l /dev/sda
GPT fdisk (gdisk) version 0.8.8

Partition table scan:
  MBR: protective
  BSD: not present
  APM: not present
  GPT: present

Found valid GPT with protective MBR; using GPT.
Disk /dev/sda: 246162672 sectors, 117.4 GiB
Logical sector size: 512 bytes
Disk identifier (GUID): 6C1A58C8-7F1C-4E26-BD81-AB4BFB99F930
Partition table holds up to 128 entries
First usable sector is 34, last usable sector is 246162638
Partitions will be aligned on 2048-sector boundaries
Total free space is 2831 sectors (1.4 MiB)

Number  Start (sector)    End (sector)  Size       Code  Name
   1            2048         4196351   2.0 GiB     EF00  Boot
   2         4196352       239871182   112.4 GiB   8300  System
   3       239872000       246162638   3.0 GiB     8200  Swap

and here my grub.cfg

#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
insmod part_gpt
insmod part_msdos
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  load_env
fi
if [ "${next_entry}" ] ; then
   set default="${next_entry}"
   set next_entry=
   save_env next_entry
   set boot_once=true
else
   set default="0"
fi

if [ x"${feature_menuentry_id}" = xy ]; then
  menuentry_id_option="--id"
else
  menuentry_id_option=""
fi

export menuentry_id_option

if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}

function load_video {
  if [ x$feature_all_video_module = xy ]; then
    insmod all_video
  else
    insmod efi_gop
    insmod efi_uga
    insmod ieee1275_fb
    insmod vbe
    insmod vga
    insmod video_bochs
    insmod video_cirrus
  fi
}

if [ x$feature_default_font_path = xy ] ; then
   font=unicode
else
insmod part_gpt 
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,gpt2'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt2  13b889fb-a445-493a-afc7-2e342f381012
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 13b889fb-a445-493a-afc7-2e342f381012
fi
    font="/usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2"
fi

if loadfont $font ; then
  set gfxmode=1366x768
  load_video
  insmod gfxterm
  set locale_dir=$prefix/locale
  set lang=en_US
  insmod gettext
fi
terminal_input console
terminal_output gfxterm
insmod part_gpt 
insmod fat
set root='hd0,gpt1'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt1 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt1  14A9-1329
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 14A9-1329
fi
insmod gfxmenu
loadfont ($root)/grub/themes/Duet/SegoeWP-20.pf2
loadfont ($root)/grub/themes/Duet/SegoeWP-22.pf2
loadfont ($root)/grub/themes/Duet/SegoeWP-24.pf2
insmod jpeg
insmod png
set theme=($root)/grub/themes/Duet/theme.txt
export theme
if [ x$feature_timeout_style = xy ] ; then
  set timeout_style=menu
  set timeout=5
# Fallback normal timeout code in case the timeout_style feature is
# unavailable.
else
  set timeout=5
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Arch Linux' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-13b889fb-a445-493a-afc7-2e342f381012' {
	load_video
	set gfxpayload=keep
	insmod gzio
	insmod part_gpt 
	insmod fat
	set root='hd0,gpt1'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt1 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt1  14A9-1329
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 14A9-1329
	fi
	echo	'Loading Linux linux ...'
	linux	/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=13b889fb-a445-493a-afc7-2e342f381012 rw  quiet
	echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
	initrd	/initramfs-linux.img
}
submenu 'Advanced options for Arch Linux' $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-advanced-13b889fb-a445-493a-afc7-2e342f381012' {
	menuentry 'Arch Linux, with Linux linux' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-linux-advanced-13b889fb-a445-493a-afc7-2e342f381012' {
		load_video
		set gfxpayload=keep
		insmod gzio
		insmod part_gpt 
		insmod fat
		set root='hd0,gpt1'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt1 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt1  14A9-1329
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 14A9-1329
		fi
		echo	'Loading Linux linux ...'
		linux	/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=13b889fb-a445-493a-afc7-2e342f381012 rw  quiet
		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
		initrd	/initramfs-linux.img
	}
	menuentry 'Arch Linux, with Linux linux (fallback initramfs)' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-linux-fallback-13b889fb-a445-493a-afc7-2e342f381012' {
		load_video
		set gfxpayload=keep
		insmod gzio
		insmod part_gpt 
		insmod fat
		set root='hd0,gpt1'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt1 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt1  14A9-1329
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 14A9-1329
		fi
		echo	'Loading Linux linux ...'
		linux	/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=13b889fb-a445-493a-afc7-2e342f381012 rw  quiet
		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
		initrd	/initramfs-linux-fallback.img
	}
}

### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f  ${config_directory}/custom.cfg ]; then
  source ${config_directory}/custom.cfg
elif [ -z "${config_directory}" -a -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/60_memtest86+ ###
### END /etc/grub.d/60_memtest86+ ###

I'm a bit confused because in one point of the wiki it says that the efi partition is the /boot partition and on another it says that it only has to be about 1M big (but a kernel is a lot bigger (especially because I want to create some custom kernel's)).

I'm sorry if someone already asked something similar but I didnt find anything.

Thank's for the support in advance ^^.

Last edited by theblackdog (2014-10-25 22:28:49)

Offline

#2 2014-10-25 21:42:42

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 7,771
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Booting into Arch after installation.

Did you mount /boot to the EFI system partition?
Post the output of:

lsblk -f

And the content of /etc/fstab plz.

EDIT: Also, it looks like the grub.cfg is identifying root as "hd0,gp1" which is your ESP...
Did you run `grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg`?

Sorry all: the gpt partitions are numbered from "0"...

Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick (2014-10-25 23:30:38)

Offline

#3 2014-10-25 21:46:46

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 29,827
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Booting into Arch after installation.

The problem is most likely in your fstab, please post that file.

As for the 1MB partition, there are a lot of 'ifs' with it.  If you are booting in BIOS compatibility mode, and if something else, then you will need this extra partition (this is not /boot).  The kernel does not live there.


"UNIX is simple and coherent" - Dennis Ritchie; "GNU's Not Unix" - Richard Stallman

Offline

#4 2014-10-25 22:04:43

theblackdog
Member
Registered: 2014-08-23
Posts: 14

Re: [SOLVED]Booting into Arch after installation.

Output of lsblk:

NAME            MAJ:MIN RM   SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
sda               8:0    0 117.4G  0 disk 
├─sda1            8:1    0     2G  0 part /mnt/boot
├─sda2            8:2    0 112.4G  0 part /mnt
└─sda3            8:3    0     3G  0 part 

sdb               8:16   0   7.5G  0 disk 
├─sdb1            8:17   0   559M  0 part /run/archiso/bootmnt
└─sdb2            8:18   0    31M  0 part 
sr0              11:0    1  1024M  0 rom  
loop0             7:0    0 241.3M  1 loop /run/archiso/sfs/airootfs
loop1             7:1    0    32G  1 loop 
└─arch_airootfs 254:0    0    32G  0 dm   /
loop2             7:2    0    32G  0 loop 
└─arch_airootfs 254:0    0    32G  0 dm   /

Contents of /etc/fstab:

# 
# /etc/fstab: static file system information
#
# <file system>	<dir>	<type>	<options>	<dump>	<pass>
# UUID=13b889fb-a445-493a-afc7-2e342f381012
/dev/sdb2           	/         	ext4      	rw,relatime,data=ordered	0 1

# UUID=f094290d-4114-4ba1-9afc-c96858ab99a6
/dev/sdb1           	/boot     	ext4      	rw,relatime,data=ordered	0 2

# UUID=bd37b9d2-865a-4b19-aee9-7ff14cc7f959
/dev/sdb3           	none      	swap      	defaults  	0 0

Let me guess my UUID's don't match?

Offline

#5 2014-10-25 22:07:30

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 29,827
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Booting into Arch after installation.

UUIDs are irrelevant as they are commented out, but I suspect they don't match.  More obvious, though, is the fact that your fstab points to sdb not sda.  Fix that.


"UNIX is simple and coherent" - Dennis Ritchie; "GNU's Not Unix" - Richard Stallman

Offline

#6 2014-10-25 22:23:47

theblackdog
Member
Registered: 2014-08-23
Posts: 14

Re: [SOLVED]Booting into Arch after installation.

*Head meets desk*
*Wood on wood that hurts*

Thank You.
After generating my fstab again it worked perfectly fine~

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB