You are not logged in.

#1 2014-10-28 22:25:39

ninjaaron
Member
Registered: 2010-12-10
Posts: 296

[SOLVED] Can't mount my root file system on boot!

Posting from an Ubuntu install on the same machine.

So, my root partition, labeled "arch", is ext4 on /dev/sda5. My home partition is btrfs on /dev/sda1.

When I boot, I get this error:
http://imgur.com/mzmLIZH

Not sure what to do from there. I can mount everything and chroot into arch from my ubuntu installation, so I think the FS is ok.

[edit]
here is the fstab:

tmpfs         tmp tmpfs   nodev,nosuid  0      0 
LABEL=arch    /     ext4    rw,relatime,discard,noatime   0      1 
LABEL=home    /home btrfs   rw,relatime,discard,noatime   0      2

Last edited by ninjaaron (2014-10-29 18:32:12)

Offline

#2 2014-10-29 04:01:54

fantab
Member
From: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Registered: 2011-06-07
Posts: 152

Re: [SOLVED] Can't mount my root file system on boot!

IMO using LABELS is a bad idea, try using UUIDS or partitions, /dev/sda1.


"Evolution is the nature's way of issuing upgrades".
__________________________________________________________
Arch_x64-Gnome-Shell ~ Arch-lts_x64-Xfce ~ LMDE_x64-Cinnamon

Offline

#3 2014-10-29 04:29:13

ninjaaron
Member
Registered: 2010-12-10
Posts: 296

Re: [SOLVED] Can't mount my root file system on boot!

I've never heard that. I'd heard labels were better than device names because device names can change.

Anyway, I switched my fstab to uuids, but the error message at boot is the same.

Offline

#4 2014-10-29 04:58:37

branch
Member
Registered: 2014-03-16
Posts: 209

Re: [SOLVED] Can't mount my root file system on boot!

From the prompt after you get the error, what is the output of "cat /proc/cmdline"?

The bootloader you are using and the contents of its config file may also help, as may the contents of /etc/mkinitcpio.conf

Offline

#5 2014-10-29 05:10:41

ninjaaron
Member
Registered: 2010-12-10
Posts: 296

Re: [SOLVED] Can't mount my root file system on boot!

bootloader is grub2. Here is /boot/grub/grub.cfg:

#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
insmod part_gpt
insmod part_msdos
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  load_env
fi
if [ "${next_entry}" ] ; then
   set default="${next_entry}"
   set next_entry=
   save_env next_entry
   set boot_once=true
else
   set default="0"
fi

if [ x"${feature_menuentry_id}" = xy ]; then
  menuentry_id_option="--id"
else
  menuentry_id_option=""
fi

export menuentry_id_option

if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}

function load_video {
  if [ x$feature_all_video_module = xy ]; then
    insmod all_video
  else
    insmod efi_gop
    insmod efi_uga
    insmod ieee1275_fb
    insmod vbe
    insmod vga
    insmod video_bochs
    insmod video_cirrus
  fi
}

if [ x$feature_default_font_path = xy ] ; then
   font=unicode
else
insmod part_msdos 
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos5'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5  ecfcae91-5f9e-4e23-be7d-9381f4a0fbb4
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root ecfcae91-5f9e-4e23-be7d-9381f4a0fbb4
fi
    font="/usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2"
fi

if loadfont $font ; then
  set gfxmode=auto
  load_video
  insmod gfxterm
  set locale_dir=$prefix/locale
  set lang=en_US
  insmod gettext
fi
terminal_input console
terminal_output gfxterm
if [ x$feature_timeout_style = xy ] ; then
  set timeout_style=menu
  set timeout=5
# Fallback normal timeout code in case the timeout_style feature is
# unavailable.
else
  set timeout=5
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Arch Linux' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-ecfcae91-5f9e-4e23-be7d-9381f4a0fbb4' {
	load_video
	set gfxpayload=keep
	insmod gzio
	insmod part_msdos 
	insmod ext2
	set root='hd0,msdos5'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5  ecfcae91-5f9e-4e23-be7d-9381f4a0fbb4
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root ecfcae91-5f9e-4e23-be7d-9381f4a0fbb4
	fi
	echo	'Loading Linux linux ...'
	linux	/boot/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=ecfcae91-5f9e-4e23-be7d-9381f4a0fbb4 rw  quiet i915.modeset=1 acpi_backlight=vendor
	echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
	initrd	/boot/initramfs-linux.img
}
submenu 'Advanced options for Arch Linux' $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-advanced-ecfcae91-5f9e-4e23-be7d-9381f4a0fbb4' {
	menuentry 'Arch Linux, with Linux linux' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-linux-advanced-ecfcae91-5f9e-4e23-be7d-9381f4a0fbb4' {
		load_video
		set gfxpayload=keep
		insmod gzio
		insmod part_msdos 
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd0,msdos5'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5  ecfcae91-5f9e-4e23-be7d-9381f4a0fbb4
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root ecfcae91-5f9e-4e23-be7d-9381f4a0fbb4
		fi
		echo	'Loading Linux linux ...'
		linux	/boot/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=ecfcae91-5f9e-4e23-be7d-9381f4a0fbb4 rw  quiet i915.modeset=1 acpi_backlight=vendor
		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
		initrd	/boot/initramfs-linux.img
	}
	menuentry 'Arch Linux, with Linux linux (fallback initramfs)' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-linux-fallback-ecfcae91-5f9e-4e23-be7d-9381f4a0fbb4' {
		load_video
		set gfxpayload=keep
		insmod gzio
		insmod part_msdos 
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd0,msdos5'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5  ecfcae91-5f9e-4e23-be7d-9381f4a0fbb4
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root ecfcae91-5f9e-4e23-be7d-9381f4a0fbb4
		fi
		echo	'Loading Linux linux ...'
		linux	/boot/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=ecfcae91-5f9e-4e23-be7d-9381f4a0fbb4 rw  quiet i915.modeset=1 acpi_backlight=vendor
		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
		initrd	/boot/initramfs-linux-fallback.img
	}
}

### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
menuentry 'Ubuntu Utopic Unicorn (development branch) (14.10) (on /dev/sda6)' --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-gnulinux-simple-8432f995-66bc-42f8-b240-02adeef5f9af' {
	insmod part_msdos 
	insmod ext2
	set root='hd0,msdos6'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos6 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos6 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos6  8432f995-66bc-42f8-b240-02adeef5f9af
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 8432f995-66bc-42f8-b240-02adeef5f9af
	fi
	linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.16.0-9-generic root=UUID=8432f995-66bc-42f8-b240-02adeef5f9af ro quiet splash $vt_handoff
	initrd /boot/initrd.img-3.16.0-9-generic
}
submenu 'Advanced options for Ubuntu Utopic Unicorn (development branch) (14.10) (on /dev/sda6)' $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-gnulinux-advanced-8432f995-66bc-42f8-b240-02adeef5f9af' {
	menuentry 'Ubuntu (on /dev/sda6)' --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-gnulinux-/boot/vmlinuz-3.16.0-9-generic--8432f995-66bc-42f8-b240-02adeef5f9af' {
		insmod part_msdos 
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd0,msdos6'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos6 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos6 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos6  8432f995-66bc-42f8-b240-02adeef5f9af
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 8432f995-66bc-42f8-b240-02adeef5f9af
		fi
		linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.16.0-9-generic root=UUID=8432f995-66bc-42f8-b240-02adeef5f9af ro quiet splash $vt_handoff
		initrd /boot/initrd.img-3.16.0-9-generic
	}
	menuentry 'Ubuntu, with Linux 3.16.0-9-generic (on /dev/sda6)' --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-gnulinux-/boot/vmlinuz-3.16.0-9-generic--8432f995-66bc-42f8-b240-02adeef5f9af' {
		insmod part_msdos 
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd0,msdos6'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos6 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos6 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos6  8432f995-66bc-42f8-b240-02adeef5f9af
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 8432f995-66bc-42f8-b240-02adeef5f9af
		fi
		linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.16.0-9-generic root=UUID=8432f995-66bc-42f8-b240-02adeef5f9af ro quiet splash $vt_handoff
		initrd /boot/initrd.img-3.16.0-9-generic
	}
	menuentry 'Ubuntu, with Linux 3.16.0-9-generic (recovery mode) (on /dev/sda6)' --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-gnulinux-/boot/vmlinuz-3.16.0-9-generic--8432f995-66bc-42f8-b240-02adeef5f9af' {
		insmod part_msdos 
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd0,msdos6'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos6 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos6 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos6  8432f995-66bc-42f8-b240-02adeef5f9af
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 8432f995-66bc-42f8-b240-02adeef5f9af
		fi
		linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.16.0-9-generic root=UUID=8432f995-66bc-42f8-b240-02adeef5f9af ro recovery nomodeset
		initrd /boot/initrd.img-3.16.0-9-generic
	}
}

### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f  ${config_directory}/custom.cfg ]; then
  source ${config_directory}/custom.cfg
elif [ -z "${config_directory}" -a -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/60_memtest86+ ###
### END /etc/grub.d/60_memtest86+ ###

here is my /etc/mkinitcpio.conf

MODULES="btrfs"

BINARIES=""

FILES=""

HOOKS="base udev autodetect modconf block filesystems keyboard fsck btrfs_advanced"

I'll get back with you on the `cat /proc/cmdline` in a moment...

Last edited by ninjaaron (2014-10-29 05:11:56)

Offline

#6 2014-10-29 05:22:00

ninjaaron
Member
Registered: 2010-12-10
Posts: 296

Re: [SOLVED] Can't mount my root file system on boot!

`cat /proc/cmdline/`:

BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=ecfcae91-5f9e-4e23-be7d-9381f4a0fbb4 ro quiet i915.modset=1 acpi_backlight=vendor

That UUID is the correct root partition. acpi_backlight=vendor is just something for a wonky backlight issue with this laptop, and i've used that line with every distro as long as I've had this laptop (~2 yrs.)

Last edited by ninjaaron (2014-10-29 05:23:29)

Offline

#7 2014-10-29 05:42:30

branch
Member
Registered: 2014-03-16
Posts: 209

Re: [SOLVED] Can't mount my root file system on boot!

Try removing btrfs_advanced from the mkinitcpio HOOKS and regenerate the initramfs. The error seems to be related to this hook and since your root partition is ext4 you should not need it.

Offline

#8 2014-10-29 18:31:42

ninjaaron
Member
Registered: 2010-12-10
Posts: 296

Re: [SOLVED] Can't mount my root file system on boot!

branch wrote:

Try removing btrfs_advanced from the mkinitcpio HOOKS and regenerate the initramfs. The error seems to be related to this hook and since your root partition is ext4 you should not need it.

Winner winner, chicken dinner.

Thanks. I've been using the hook for quite some time, and this is the first problem I've had with it. strange.

all's well that ends well, I guess.

Funny thing is, I borked Ubuntu while mucking about, waiting for you guys to figure out my arch. It was a pre-beta daily of 14.10 from a while back and I tried to update it to the release, and it broke the graphics stack on me! Had to fix arch's boot image from a chroot in an ubuntu tty!

Now to see if I can fix 'buntu (or, as is more likely, nuke and pave... maybe I'll give Suse a try on that partition).

Last edited by ninjaaron (2014-10-29 18:38:12)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB