You are not logged in.

#751 2014-11-05 16:44:24

melkir
Member
Registered: 2014-10-21
Posts: 28

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

Strange bug on IntelliJ and CLion, the selection with shift+arrow doesn't work, I've try with usb keyboard too. (it works on my other laptop same OS and same version of the software)


Asus K73SD : ArchLinux | W8 ~ Acer  C720P : ArchLinux | ChromeOS

Offline

#752 2014-11-11 03:34:45

mshan
Member
Registered: 2013-05-05
Posts: 105

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

It was third time as far as I remember in 6 or 7 months.
I use Arch + openbox on Acer C720. (Ram 2 GB).
Last night the computer froze at all when I am using mariadb, sql commands in terminal, libreoffice calc and thunar file manager at the same time on it.
I couldn't move around mouse. No key available to press. Even I couldn't do Ctrl+Alt+F2 to go to next virtual console so that I can execute any command.
So I had to wait until battery run out at all and poweroff.
Then I recharged and reopened computer again. It was ok. Everything was running as nothing happened before.
What cause of it may be?
Is there any way to poweroff or power cut without removing back cover at the time of happening like that above?
I can easily remove battery if it is normal laptop.
But this is chromebook with battery built in under back cover.


Amazing !

Offline

#753 2014-11-11 04:05:03

nariox
Member
Registered: 2014-03-19
Posts: 127

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

mshan wrote:

Is there any way to poweroff or power cut without removing back cover at the time of happening like that above?.

Yes. Try pressing the refresh button (F3) + power button. This should reset the C720.

Offline

#754 2014-11-11 04:24:10

mshan
Member
Registered: 2013-05-05
Posts: 105

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

Yes. Try pressing the refresh button (F3) + power button. This should reset the C720.

yes it reset C720. this means reboot the machine.
I would do it and check it works or not when I have last night problem next time.
thank you!


Amazing !

Offline

#755 2014-11-11 05:23:53

n8henrie
Member
From: Shiprock, NM
Registered: 2014-03-30
Posts: 27
Website

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

I've had a few freezes, and just holding down the power button for 15 seconds or so seems to do the trick as well.

Offline

#756 2014-11-11 06:37:41

dhead
Member
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 190

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

And I was started thinking I was the only one troubled with full system freezes.

I can't remember if it was mentioned in the manual, but AFAIK:
* Refersh (F3) + Power == Reboot.
* ESC + Power == Power Off.    <-- I'm not sure if I remembering this correctly, but after powering on your machine Chrome OS may try to look for some restore media.

Last edited by dhead (2014-11-11 06:42:24)

Offline

#757 2014-11-11 08:30:41

mshan
Member
Registered: 2013-05-05
Posts: 105

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

dhead wrote:

* ESC + Power == Power Off.    <-- I'm not sure if I remembering this correctly, but after powering on your machine Chrome OS may try to look for some restore media.

Really!, it will look for restore media even if I removed write protect screw and installed custom firmware?
If so, it's not safe so that someone else who don't know about it freely test key combinations on my machine in case of accidentally press ESC+Power.
Then I possibly lose my Arch installed on it.

Last edited by mshan (2014-11-11 08:39:51)


Amazing !

Offline

#758 2014-11-11 22:12:09

melkir
Member
Registered: 2014-10-21
Posts: 28

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

Can someone confirm that I'm the only one with this bug ?
Shit + Left (or Right) on Gedit/QtCreator/CLion/Nautilus doesn't work but on Chromium/SublimeText no problem... I don't really understand why :-(
I'm using Gnome environnement.

Last edited by melkir (2014-11-11 22:12:21)


Asus K73SD : ArchLinux | W8 ~ Acer  C720P : ArchLinux | ChromeOS

Offline

#759 2014-11-12 05:42:51

hckr
Member
Registered: 2014-05-03
Posts: 12
Website

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

So I am trying to figure out whether this is a hardware failure or not.

I have booted two different live Linux OSes and neither are detecting the 128GB SSD anymore after the chromebook froze during a system update (pacman -Syu). Yikes. This is not a good sign, is it?

I'm going to take out the 128GB SSD and put the 16GB back in, and if that's detected, then I will need to RMA the 128GB. Sigh.

Offline

#760 2014-11-14 06:25:58

n8henrie
Member
From: Shiprock, NM
Registered: 2014-03-30
Posts: 27
Website

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

Just wanted to report that I had a bad crash a few days ago and ended up having to start over from scratch again, so this time I tried going with syslinux (since GRUB configuration and trying to figure out boot partitions and ef02 and all that mess was always the most confusing part for me).

First try didn't work for some reason, but second try worked like a charm, though to be honest I'm not sure what I did differently. Just included syslinux and gptfdisk on my pacstrap installation, and ran syslinux-install_update -i -a -m, changed the devices to UUIDs in the config file, and it worked.

I saw that @danij3l was able to get it working a few pages back, which prompted me to keep trying [ https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 9#p1464779 ]. I didn't have to do anything special like he did.

Also wanted to ask -- is there any way to search *within* a specific thread here? I wanted to search for all mentions of syslinux in the Acer C720 thread, and ended up having to resort to a bash script.

for page in {1..31}; do curl -s "https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=173418&p=$page" | ack syslinux && echo $page; done

Offline

#761 2014-11-16 03:57:56

mshan
Member
Registered: 2013-05-05
Posts: 105

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

I have system freezes if I use  firefox and libreoffice these days. How can I fix it. Especially system freezes if I scroll down and up in firefox and libreoffice.


Amazing !

Offline

#762 2014-11-16 07:33:15

dhead
Member
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 190

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

@mshan

Have you read thewiki ?
What seems to affect the most is i915.semaphores=0 but when I tested it with no other parameter I had trouble to resume from suspend (but I'm not sure it's related).
You might also want to try adding drm.vblankoffdelay=1 to the list.

Offline

#763 2014-11-19 08:56:11

mcno
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2014-11-19
Posts: 1

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

@mshan

I had the same problem. After some research I found out that Bluetooth and Wlan might freeze the system. Firefox and Libreoffice are the programs I use everytime the freeze happens.

The wiki dhead mentioned did not help.

I have changed the settings for bluetooth disabling the powersaving:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ac … Chromebook


 /etc/modprobe.d/ath9k.conf

options ath9k btcoex_enable=1 ps_enable=0 bt_ant_diversity=1

Since two days I have no freezing.

Offline

#764 2014-11-19 10:02:04

dhead
Member
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 190

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

@mcno

Seriously ? until now I blamed Intel's gpu for any unrecoverable system freezes so I though it might be better to wait to see the current issue resolved.
Maybe this is a general USB module issue ? one time my system froze immediately after I connected a flash usb drive (nothing was wrong with it, worked perfect next boot).

Another fun fact, on three occasions, just after I rebooted (and didn't powered off) the system due to a freeze, the system froze again when X was loaded (Gnome desktop finished loading), of course journal logs were corrupted and nothing in syslog (syslog-ng) so nothing to report.

Offline

#765 2014-11-20 06:44:05

mshan
Member
Registered: 2013-05-05
Posts: 105

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

mcno wrote:

The wiki dhead mentioned did not help

yes, what wiki mentioned did not help.

by the way, I have tested key bindings on system freezes.
***Refresh (F3) + Power = reboot
***holding down Power key for 20 or more seconds = Poweroff
***ESC + Power = nothing happens
so, don't worry about this

mshan wrote:
dhead wrote:

   * ESC + Power == Power Off.    <-- I'm not sure if I remembering this correctly, but after powering on your machine Chrome OS may try to look for some restore media.

Really!, it will look for restore media even if I removed write protect screw and installed custom firmware?
If so, it's not safe so that someone else who don't know about it freely test key combinations on my machine in case of accidentally press ESC+Power.
Then I possibly lose my Arch installed on it.

And after updating to Linux-3.17.3, I experience very lesser system freeze than before. It is even rarely.
I am using openbox + Arch. I use firefox, libreoffice and some others.


Amazing !

Offline

#766 2014-11-24 21:21:24

zeig
Member
Registered: 2014-10-03
Posts: 2

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

Hibernate/Resume on HP ChromeBook 14 with Fedora 21 + Kernel 3.17.4
After several hours (if not days) figuring out what was causing FS corruptions & unstable hibernate/resume cycles, I came out with this:

In /etc/grub2.cfg (and also /etc/default/grub), add these options:
drm.debug=0 nomodeset tpm_tis.interrupts=0 modprobe.blacklist=i915
rdblacklist=i915 rd.driver.blacklist=i915

It prevents i915 from being loaded at boot time. Also disabling splash
screen (removing "splash" option) might be a good idea as it looks like
there are some issues with it and i915.

Create /etc/modprobe.d/i915.conf:
options i915 semaphores=0 modeset=1 use_mmio_flip=0 powersave=1
enable_ips=1 disable_power_well=1 disable_display=0 enable_hangcheck=0
enable_cmd_parser=0 fastboot=1 enable_fbc=0 enable_ppgtt=1 reset=0
lvds_use_ssc=0 enable_psr=0 lvds_downclock=0

The i915 module will be loaded with these options after boot.

In the directory /usr/lib/systemd/system-sleep/, just create the file
"chromebook-suspend.sh":
#!/bin/bash

case $1/$2 in
  pre/*)
    /sbin/modprobe -r cyapa
    ;;
  post/*)
    /sbin/modprobe cyapa
    ;;
esac

Last edited by zeig (2014-11-24 21:22:18)

Offline

#767 2014-11-24 21:33:58

dhead
Member
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 190

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

If anyone want to try, I built x86_64 3.17.4 kernel with the patch backported by Hugh Greenberg.
From a quick testing it does look like there aren't any hangs anymore.

Be aware that this "patch" is a huge diff from Intel's developer development branch that is very experimental so use at your own risk.

http://d-h.st/lab
5184756777855fdd78fc935fe3dac9a5

Edit: and I should add that except i915.modeset=1 I don't have any drm or i915 parameter sent to the kernel.

Last edited by dhead (2014-11-24 21:50:11)

Offline

#768 2014-12-01 23:33:25

moesi
Member
Registered: 2014-02-27
Posts: 48

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

Hi!

I have nearly finished installing arch 32bit, kernel 3.17.4-1 with xfce4. I used the standard kernel becouse it says that with 3.17 it should work out of the box.
I can start X but the cursor cant be moved with the touchpad. It is in the middle of the screen and left/right-clicks working fine. When i use a mouse, it works fine too!
(i tried with linux-archbook kernel as well!)

greetings
moesi

Offline

#769 2014-12-02 00:14:57

serh
Member
Registered: 2011-08-16
Posts: 20

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

moesi wrote:

Hi!

I have nearly finished installing arch 32bit, kernel 3.17.4-1 with xfce4. I used the standard kernel becouse it says that with 3.17 it should work out of the box.
I can start X but the cursor cant be moved with the touchpad. It is in the middle of the screen and left/right-clicks working fine. When i use a mouse, it works fine too!
(i tried with linux-archbook kernel as well!)

greetings
moesi

Did you apply the xorg touchpad fixes in the C720 article?

Last edited by serh (2014-12-02 00:17:53)

Offline

#770 2014-12-02 00:36:25

dhead
Member
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 190

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

@moesi

install xf86-input-synaptics

Offline

#771 2014-12-02 20:01:19

moesi
Member
Registered: 2014-02-27
Posts: 48

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

dhead wrote:

@moesi

install xf86-input-synaptics

Yess! That worked! Thank you!

Offline

#772 2014-12-03 08:59:23

dhead
Member
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 190

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

You're welcome!

Last edited by dhead (2014-12-03 08:59:35)

Offline

#773 2014-12-05 02:57:55

hckr
Member
Registered: 2014-05-03
Posts: 12
Website

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

mcno wrote:

@mshan

I had the same problem. After some research I found out that Bluetooth and Wlan might freeze the system. Firefox and Libreoffice are the programs I use everytime the freeze happens.

The wiki dhead mentioned did not help.

I have changed the settings for bluetooth disabling the powersaving:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ac … Chromebook


 /etc/modprobe.d/ath9k.conf

options ath9k btcoex_enable=1 ps_enable=0 bt_ant_diversity=1

Since two days I have no freezing.

Nice. thanks for sharing this. I haven't experienced freezes since adding those lines to ath9k.conf.

Anybody using kernel 3.17.4? Are the system freezes/hangups fixed in your experience for that kernel version?

Offline

#774 2014-12-05 07:36:20

mshan
Member
Registered: 2013-05-05
Posts: 105

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

hckr wrote:

Anybody using kernel 3.17.4? Are the system freezes/hangups fixed in your experience for that kernel version?

I am using kernel 3.17.4. Since I have got kernel 3.17.4 update, I haven't had system freeze at all yet.
I didn't do any fix or patch but I am not using gnome or chromium.
I use openbox, firefox, libreoffice and etc...


Amazing !

Offline

#775 2014-12-05 09:04:29

dhead
Member
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 190

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

I've been testing wifi for a while and it looks like when power saving enabled for ath9k (ps_enable=1) there are dropouts every few minutes (test by running a ping in the background).

I'm not sure if disabling power saving also disappearing system freezes, I encounter only one system freeze since I disable it, and unlike other system freezes I encountered in the past it was preceded by a gpu hang, maybe I was a bit impatient and hurried to reboot the system.

p.s.
I'm still on a patched kernel based on Chris Wilson's development branch and I only saw one hang since starting to use it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB