You are not logged in.
cant compile cairo:
creating libcairotest.la
(cd .libs && rm -f libcairotest.la && ln -s ../libcairotest.la libcairotest.la)
/bin/sh ../libtool --tag=CC --mode=link gcc -march=pentium-m -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -falign-functions=64 -mmmx -msse -msse2 -o imagediff imagediff.o libcairotest.la ../src/libcairo.la -lglitz-glx -lX11 -lGL -lpthread -lglitz -lm -lpthread -lm
gcc -march=pentium-m -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -falign-functions=64 -mmmx -msse -msse2 -o .libs/imagediff imagediff.o ./.libs/libcairotest.a ../src/.libs/libcairo.so -lXrender -lpng12 -lfontconfig -lfreetype -lz -lglitz-glx -lX11 -lGL -lglitz -lpthread -lm
gcc: ../src/.libs/libcairo.so: No such file or directory
make[2]: *** [imagediff] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/abs/local/xgl/cairo-cvs/src/cairo-build/test'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/abs/local/xgl/cairo-cvs/src/cairo-build'
make: *** [all] Error 2
==> ERROR: Build Failed. Aborting...
[root@estergon cairo-cvs]#
Anyway, I have the 2 weeks older cvs version of cairo, and it works with that.
One thing I havent got with xgl is direct rendering.. dri works with xorg 7.0 but not with xgl. anyone any ideas? I get like 230 fps with xgl.. Is there anyone but me running xgl on a GMA900( i915 ) vga?
The ultimate Archlinux release name: "I am your father"
Offline
I don't have this problem with latest cairo-cvs. But if you have older cairo-cvs which works for you, then use it, there aren't changes in latest cairo-cvs related to compiz.
Btw. you can't have direct rendering in Xgl, this is by design (in Xgl you have accelerated indirect rendering). You only must have working direct rendering in your real X server (Xgl server uses your real X server for OpenGL rendering). But i810 and i915 aren't fully supported now. There are some problems with these drivers which make it slow (but these drivers should be fixed in future).
Offline
Can anyone give me some info on how i can get XGL to run with KDE?
~HP ZV6000 Series CTO~
-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 2.0GHz
-1.5GB RAM
-128MB ATI Mobility Radeon X200m
-80GB 5400RPM HD
[img]http://imagegen.last.fm/scarface/recenttracks/mtrivs.gif[/img]
Offline
got it owrking with shadowhands files:
first i wanted to use it with kde [put startkde in startxgl script instead of gnome-session] but there are some major thing that don't work here (task-bar etc)
runs smoothly on gnome but playing videos is very choppy - anyone knows a workaround ?
Offline
OK got xgl running in both gnome as well as KDE, both run, but only for a few minutes. After that bot freeeze my system. I am also haveing the same problem as most people are with the taskbar in KDE.
Is there anyone else who has the same problem as me (constant freezeing)?
~HP ZV6000 Series CTO~
-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 2.0GHz
-1.5GB RAM
-128MB ATI Mobility Radeon X200m
-80GB 5400RPM HD
[img]http://imagegen.last.fm/scarface/recenttracks/mtrivs.gif[/img]
Offline
Hi, I just tried installing your newest xgl-abs-overlay and i came up with an error when compiling mesa-cvs:
gcc -c -I. -I../../../include -I../../../include/GL/internal -I../../../src/mesa/main -I../../../src/mesa/glapi -I../../../src/mesa/drivers/dri/common `pkg-config --cflags libdrm` -I/usr/X11R6/include -Wall -Wmissing-prototypes -march=i686 -O2 -pipe -m32 -D_POSIX_SOURCE -D_POSIX_C_SOURCE=199309L -D_SVID_SOURCE -D_BSD_SOURCE -D_GNU_SOURCE -DPTHREADS -DUSE_EXTERNAL_DXTN_LIB=1 -DIN_DRI_DRIVER -DGLX_DIRECT_RENDERING -DHAVE_ALIAS -DDEFAULT_DRIVER_DIR='"/opt/mesa-cvs/lib/xorg/modules/dri"' -DXF86VIDMODE -D_REENTRANT -UIN_DRI_DRIVER -DUSE_X86_ASM -DUSE_MMX_ASM -DUSE_3DNOW_ASM -DUSE_SSE_ASM -std=c99 -ffast-math -D_POSIX_SOURCE -D_POSIX_C_SOURCE=199309L -D_SVID_SOURCE -D_BSD_SOURCE -D_GNU_SOURCE -DPTHREADS -DUSE_EXTERNAL_DXTN_LIB=1 -DIN_DRI_DRIVER -DGLX_DIRECT_RENDERING -DHAVE_ALIAS -DDEFAULT_DRIVER_DIR='"/opt/mesa-cvs/lib/xorg/modules/dri"' -DXF86VIDMODE -D_REENTRANT -UIN_DRI_DRIVER glcontextmodes.c -o glcontextmodes.o
/bin/sh: pkg-config: command not found
gcc -c -I. -I../../../include -I../../../include/GL/internal -I../../../src/mesa/main -I../../../src/mesa/glapi -I../../../src/mesa/drivers/dri/common `pkg-config --cflags libdrm` -I/usr/X11R6/include -Wall -Wmissing-prototypes -march=i686 -O2 -pipe -m32 -D_POSIX_SOURCE -D_POSIX_C_SOURCE=199309L -D_SVID_SOURCE -D_BSD_SOURCE -D_GNU_SOURCE -DPTHREADS -DUSE_EXTERNAL_DXTN_LIB=1 -DIN_DRI_DRIVER -DGLX_DIRECT_RENDERING -DHAVE_ALIAS -DDEFAULT_DRIVER_DIR='"/opt/mesa-cvs/lib/xorg/modules/dri"' -DXF86VIDMODE -D_REENTRANT -UIN_DRI_DRIVER -DUSE_X86_ASM -DUSE_MMX_ASM -DUSE_3DNOW_ASM -DUSE_SSE_ASM -std=c99 -ffast-math -D_POSIX_SOURCE -D_POSIX_C_SOURCE=199309L -D_SVID_SOURCE -D_BSD_SOURCE -D_GNU_SOURCE -DPTHREADS -DUSE_EXTERNAL_DXTN_LIB=1 -DIN_DRI_DRIVER -DGLX_DIRECT_RENDERING -DHAVE_ALIAS -DDEFAULT_DRIVER_DIR='"/opt/mesa-cvs/lib/xorg/modules/dri"' -DXF86VIDMODE -D_REENTRANT -UIN_DRI_DRIVER clientattrib.c -o clientattrib.o
/bin/sh: pkg-config: command not found
In file included from glxclient.h:82,
from clientattrib.c:38:
../../../include/GL/internal/dri_interface.h:42:17: error: drm.h: No such file or directory
In file included from glxclient.h:82,
from clientattrib.c:38:
../../../include/GL/internal/dri_interface.h:188: error: syntax error before 'drm_context_t'
../../../include/GL/internal/dri_interface.h:200: error: syntax error before 'drm_drawable_t'
../../../include/GL/internal/dri_interface.h:215: error: syntax error before 'drm_clip_rect_t'
make[3]: *** [clientattrib.o] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/josh/xgl/mesa-cvs/src/Mesa-build/src/glx/x11'
make[2]: *** [subdirs] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/josh/xgl/mesa-cvs/src/Mesa-build/src'
make[1]: *** [default] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/josh/xgl/mesa-cvs/src/Mesa-build'
make: *** [linux-dri-x86] Error 2
==> ERROR: Build Failed. Aborting...
can someone please help me? i feel like i'm pretty close to getting this (and it looks like it'll be amazing!), but i'm just running into this one error.
thanks in advance!!
System Specs: Arch 0.7.1 (Noodle); Kernel=2.6.15-ARCH; Gnome; xorg-7.0 (w/3D!!)--Xgl ; Dual Athlon MP 1800+; Asus A7M266-D mobo; 40GB (ATA 133); Audigy 2 Platinum; Radeon 9800 Pro (3D included )
Registered Linux user number 395691
Offline
Hi,
after getting DRI working with ati firegl driver, I wanted to get XGL started. I formerly achieved to install with shadowhand´s packages on a computer with an NVIDIA FX5200. No problem. Now I have an ATI Firegl 8800 which I want to use with firegl drivers.
What´s the first thing I did, well I ran startxgl without any option.
=> X started, but then I got a faulty screen I could recognize the gnome picture which seems to have transformed to 100% of the screens, mixed with faulty lines and pixel. Well something must have gone wrong
So back to the forum => startxgl 1 gnome ati
Well, X starts, I get a black screen and my mouse appears in the middle of it. That´s it, nothing happens then.
So could anyone tell me please how to get XGL run with those firegl drivers ?
thanks
Kin
Update: I googled a little. FOund the gentoo wiki. According to them this is a known non fixable problem with firegl drivers:
http://gentoo-wiki.com/XGL#Whole_distortion
http://impurity.org/~stalyn/fuxed.png
Update2> After Removing firegl drivers and using ATI, I got dri working. After starting XGL, either with or no options, I got it working.
But this is damn slow. All applications are so slow. The whole acceleration is reallz slow at all. On my computer with NVIDIAs FX5200 card everything is running rather fast. So it seems that NVIDIA cards have some better drivers for XGL than ATI for now...
Offline
josolanes:
# pacman -S pkgconfig libdrm
Offline
josolanes:
# pacman -S pkgconfig libdrm
that worked 8)
thanks a lot!
System Specs: Arch 0.7.1 (Noodle); Kernel=2.6.15-ARCH; Gnome; xorg-7.0 (w/3D!!)--Xgl ; Dual Athlon MP 1800+; Asus A7M266-D mobo; 40GB (ATA 133); Audigy 2 Platinum; Radeon 9800 Pro (3D included )
Registered Linux user number 395691
Offline
anything i can do to get a better perfomance watching videos?
Offline
I don't know what did it, but now when I try to start Xgl with the ./startxgl script I get this and Xgl does not load:
==> Starting XGL at display :1
_XSERVTransSocketOpenCOTSServer: Unable to open socket for inet6
_XSERVTransOpen: transport open failed for inet6/avlap:1
_XSERVTransMakeAllCOTSServerListeners: failed to open listener for inet6
Could not init font path element /usr/share/fonts/OTF, removing from list!
Could not init font path element /usr/share/fonts/CID/, removing from list!
FreeFontPath: FPE "/usr/share/fonts/misc/" refcount is 2, should be 1; fixing.
Well, it does load but the window manager and compiz doesn't even start as the Xgl command hangs there.
It might have been the ATi driver update, but I'm not sure.
Offline
is it normal not to be able to play 3D games (UT2003)?
(EDIT: tuxracer works though....:?)
also, my window switcher plugin in gnome is tiny....very very small. and when i go into its options i can only choose to have 1 workspace, but when i do CTRL+ALT+LEFT (or RIGHT) i have 4 available. i'd like 6 though
also, i can't successfully exit Xgl (gnome). it just hangs after the panels close. any way to fix this?
and, in gnome again, all of my keyboard shortcuts work except for the print screen one (i set it to the PRINT button). i can clikc "Desktop" --> "Take Snapshot..." though
any help would be nice . this is amazing and a lot of fun and thank you all for your contributions on getting it to work. i'm very impressed with the sheer power it has....i was able to have 3 videos running simultaneously with diffferent translucency settings and make the cube go on a corner. i really want to be able to take a screenshot of that though...this is the reason i want to figure out how to get the shortcut key working
EDIT: i also found that if i try "fglrxinfo" in a terminal (to see if my ati radeon 9800 pro is working) it just hangs for a while. but if i type "fglrxinfo -display :1" than it shows that it's working. any idea why this is or if this is normal/a problem?
System Specs: Arch 0.7.1 (Noodle); Kernel=2.6.15-ARCH; Gnome; xorg-7.0 (w/3D!!)--Xgl ; Dual Athlon MP 1800+; Asus A7M266-D mobo; 40GB (ATA 133); Audigy 2 Platinum; Radeon 9800 Pro (3D included )
Registered Linux user number 395691
Offline
josolanes:
i believe this is normal due to the way xgl is setup at this point in time. if you were to start a new, normal x server, 3d should be working as fast as it usually does. i havent actually tried it myself but that is my recollection from looking into xgl as of late. the window switcher problem i have also had and i do not know if it has any rhyme or reason to it because i know on a few of my computers with xgl running the switcher works/looks fine, and i believe on one of them it looks like yours. logging out is again a problem i have had and not had. i run 3 or 4 arch boxes and i setup xgl on all of them to try it out. i believe on my older boxes i have had the problems you mention (the ones i had to upgrade to xorg7, etc) but the boxes that i do a clean install from the 7.1cd with i believe work fine.
Avenger:
does normal X work fine? i'm pretty sure i've seen those errors before and yet xgl still works fine for me. try re-installing xgl and if that doesnt work post a more detailed log if you can.
sorry about the vagueness of the post, i'm on my windows box currently :oops: but i wanted to make sure i said something so that you guys know your not the only ones whose xgl isnt working perfectly
Offline
josolanes:
i believe this is normal due to the way xgl is setup at this point in time. if you were to start a new, normal x server, 3d should be working as fast as it usually does. i havent actually tried it myself but that is my recollection from looking into xgl as of late. the window switcher problem i have also had and i do not know if it has any rhyme or reason to it because i know on a few of my computers with xgl running the switcher works/looks fine, and i believe on one of them it looks like yours. logging out is again a problem i have had and not had. i run 3 or 4 arch boxes and i setup xgl on all of them to try it out. i believe on my older boxes i have had the problems you mention (the ones i had to upgrade to xorg7, etc) but the boxes that i do a clean install from the 7.1cd with i believe work fine.
Avenger:
does normal X work fine? i'm pretty sure i've seen those errors before and yet xgl still works fine for me. try re-installing xgl and if that doesnt work post a more detailed log if you can.
sorry about the vagueness of the post, i'm on my windows box currently :oops: but i wanted to make sure i said something so that you guys know your not the only ones whose xgl isnt working perfectly
thanks a lot for the reply . that makes me feel better...atleast i know that i installed it properly now. these things, imo, are worth the trouble. i'm really impressed by Xgl 8)
System Specs: Arch 0.7.1 (Noodle); Kernel=2.6.15-ARCH; Gnome; xorg-7.0 (w/3D!!)--Xgl ; Dual Athlon MP 1800+; Asus A7M266-D mobo; 40GB (ATA 133); Audigy 2 Platinum; Radeon 9800 Pro (3D included )
Registered Linux user number 395691
Offline
i have the systray working in KDE:
first start Xgl
then KDE
then compiz
then gnome-window-decorator
The only problem i found by now is that when i open amarok konqueror does not open, and that amarok is not able to connect to radio stations
Offline
yea thats how i feel josolanes. its obviously got a long way to go before its fully usable but really for it being so young in development, it looks VERY promising.
Offline
The_Nerd: yeah, normal X workes fine. I'm trying to start Xgl from backbox atm.
EDIT: I got it to work after using the latest PKGBUILDs
Offline
hey hello!
@cebit i saw xgl in real-life and so i decided to test it also on my notebook. i installed everything - no problem. but how i can use it with e17? is this possible? plz help, because i do not want to use gnome. the man at the cebit said, that xgl is possible with every wm or de (theoretical).
thx, mfg
iggy
sorry for my bad english
Offline
Maybe it's time to write HOWTO install xgl and compiz for GNOME/KDE in Arch Linux wiki? That would be nice
"god@heaven$ emerge world"
~ Genesis on Gentoo
Offline
Maybe it's time to write HOWTO install xgl and compiz for GNOME/KDE in Arch Linux wiki? That would be nice
There's no need for a howto (Thanks to Shadowhand for his care of course)
add
[shadowhand]
Server = http://arch.os-zen.net/pkg/shadowhand
to your /etc/pacman.conf and then do
pacman -S xgl-cvs compiz-cvs mesa-cvs cairo-cvs
then Take a look at /usr/bin/startxgl, you may need to edit it to suit ur taste, Turn off any existing X server and <code>startxgl</code>
[My Blog] | [My Repo] | [My AUR Packages]
Offline
Well that is simple I will try as soon as I will sit by Arch machine. As I am a Gentoo user. I'm using Gentoo for about a year and now I'm planing to go back to ArchLinux (I used ArchLinux half-year)
"god@heaven$ emerge world"
~ Genesis on Gentoo
Offline
I wrote a mini how to in ArchLinux wiki. Take a look:
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xgl
Maybe I did't some mistakes
"god@heaven$ emerge world"
~ Genesis on Gentoo
Offline
How would I slide a window from one desktop to another?
I've tried clicking/holding the window with the mouse while doing CTRL+ALT+LEFT/RIGHT but the window moves a tiny bit to each side (like the keyboard takes the mouse's role)
Does anyone know how to do this?
Thanks in advance!
(or better yet, does anyone have a site with all the Xgl controls listed?)
System Specs: Arch 0.7.1 (Noodle); Kernel=2.6.15-ARCH; Gnome; xorg-7.0 (w/3D!!)--Xgl ; Dual Athlon MP 1800+; Asus A7M266-D mobo; 40GB (ATA 133); Audigy 2 Platinum; Radeon 9800 Pro (3D included )
Registered Linux user number 395691
Offline
Snagged these from somewhere:
Default plugin keyboard shortcuts
* Switch windows = Alt + Tab
* Arrange and View All Windows = F12 turns on or off; clicking a window will zoom it to the front
* Switch desktops on cube = Ctrl + Alt + Left/Right Arrow
* Switch desktops on cube - with active window following = Ctrl + Shift + Alt + Left/Right Arrow
* Rotate cube manually = Ctrl + Alt + left-click
* Make window translucent/opaque = currently only possible with the "transset" utility
* Zoom-in once = Super-key right-click
* Zoom-in manually = Super-key + wheel mouse up
* Zoom-out manually = Super-key + wheel mouse down
* Move window = Alt + left-click
* Snap Move window (will stick to borders) = Ctrl + Alt + left-click
* Resize window = Alt + right-click
Offline
Snagged these from somewhere:
Default plugin keyboard shortcuts * Switch windows = Alt + Tab * Arrange and View All Windows = F12 turns on or off; clicking a window will zoom it to the front * Switch desktops on cube = Ctrl + Alt + Left/Right Arrow * Switch desktops on cube - with active window following = Ctrl + Shift + Alt + Left/Right Arrow * Rotate cube manually = Ctrl + Alt + left-click * Make window translucent/opaque = currently only possible with the "transset" utility * Zoom-in once = Super-key right-click * Zoom-in manually = Super-key + wheel mouse up * Zoom-out manually = Super-key + wheel mouse down * Move window = Alt + left-click * Snap Move window (will stick to borders) = Ctrl + Alt + left-click * Resize window = Alt + right-click
wow..thanks a lot!
there are a lot more than i thought there were....a lot of very useful ones too (i really like F12!)
System Specs: Arch 0.7.1 (Noodle); Kernel=2.6.15-ARCH; Gnome; xorg-7.0 (w/3D!!)--Xgl ; Dual Athlon MP 1800+; Asus A7M266-D mobo; 40GB (ATA 133); Audigy 2 Platinum; Radeon 9800 Pro (3D included )
Registered Linux user number 395691
Offline