You are not logged in.

#1 2015-02-01 12:08:10

IMBJR
Member
From: INDCMPLX
Registered: 2014-03-16
Posts: 88

Trying to build pacman ...

... but makepkg is struggling to download the source, even though I can easily do it via web browser.

So, after extrating the source, and realising that I can now do:

makepkg -e

I then get:

==> Making package: pacman 4.2.0-6 (Sun  1 Feb 11:59:34 GMT 2015)
==> Checking runtime dependencies...
==> Checking buildtime dependencies...
==> WARNING: Using existing $srcdir/ tree
==> Removing existing $pkgdir/ directory...
==> Starting build()...
/home/imbjr/projects/pacman/PKGBUILD: line 47: cd: pacman-4.2.0: No such file or directory
==> ERROR: A failure occurred in build().

The cd into the source directory is failing despite the fact that ls -l shows its there:

[imbjr@pc pacman]$ ls -l
total 2912
-rw-r--r--  1 imbjr users    5869 Jan 31 23:06 makepkg.conf
drwxr-xr-x 12 imbjr users    4096 Dec 19 04:35 pacman-4.2.0
-rw-r--r--  1 imbjr users   11737 Jan 31 23:06 pacman-4.2.0-roundup.patch
-rw-r--r--  1 imbjr users 2934713 Feb  1 11:53 pacman-4.2.0.tar.gz
-rw-r--r--  1 imbjr users    2638 Jan 31 23:06 pacman.conf.i686
-rw-r--r--  1 imbjr users    2862 Jan 31 23:06 pacman.conf.x86_64
d---------  2 imbjr users    4096 Feb  1 11:59 pkg
-rw-r--r--  1 imbjr users    2975 Feb  1 11:59 PKGBUILD
drwxr-xr-x  2 imbjr users    4096 Feb  1 11:53 src

What am I doing wrong?

-- mod edit: replaced quote tags with code tags.  Trilby --

Offline

#2 2015-02-01 12:11:14

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 10,597
Website

Re: Trying to build pacman ...

rm -rf src pkg
makepkg -s

CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#3 2015-02-01 12:14:13

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 11,845
Website

Re: Trying to build pacman ...

The PKGBUILD is looking in src for the extracted sources. You don't need to use -e anyway, once you have the unextracted source tarball in the same directory as the PKGBUILD, it will no longer try to download them. Just run 'makepkg'.


What problem were you having when trying to download the sources?


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MAG X570S TORPEDO MAX // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#4 2015-02-01 12:17:57

IMBJR
Member
From: INDCMPLX
Registered: 2014-03-16
Posts: 88

Re: Trying to build pacman ...

@WorMzy The download process just sits there with zero progress.

@graysky I've done that, but as you can see there's no download progress.

Offline

#5 2015-02-01 12:19:49

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 10,597
Website

Re: Trying to build pacman ...

IMBJR wrote:

@WorMzy The download process just sits there with zero progress.

@graysky I've done that, but as you can see there's no download progress.

man makepkg wrote:

-e, --noextract
           Do not extract source files or run the prepare() function (if present); use whatever source already exists in the
           $srcdir/ directory. This is handy if you want to go into $srcdir/ and manually patch or tweak code, then make a
           package out of the result. Keep in mind that creating a patch may be a better solution to allow others to use
           your PKGBUILD.

So you're saying `makepkg -s` doesn't pull down the source tarballs?  If true, are you behind a proxy or firewall?  You will need to setup /etc/pacman.conf if this is the true to make it aware of the proxy.

Last edited by graysky (2015-02-01 12:21:05)


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#6 2015-02-01 12:21:06

IMBJR
Member
From: INDCMPLX
Registered: 2014-03-16
Posts: 88

Re: Trying to build pacman ...

With 'makepkg -s' the download sits there with zero progress, Time Spent ticks upwards and nothing more.

Offline

#7 2015-02-01 12:30:04

IMBJR
Member
From: INDCMPLX
Registered: 2014-03-16
Posts: 88

Re: Trying to build pacman ...

Just tried this:

curl "ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/other/pacman/pacman-4.2.0.tar.gz" -o pacman-4.2.0.tar.gz

and that shows no progress too. I noticed when I did it via web browser it was painfully slow, getting about 15K/s.

Offline

#8 2015-02-01 13:12:04

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: Trying to build pacman ...

Offline

#9 2015-02-01 13:19:57

IMBJR
Member
From: INDCMPLX
Registered: 2014-03-16
Posts: 88

Re: Trying to build pacman ...

Even with the source, I was not able to build. The build script failed cd into the source directory even though it existed.

Offline

#10 2015-02-01 13:38:01

fsckd
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2009-06-15
Posts: 4,173

Re: Trying to build pacman ...

Moving from Programming & Scripting to Creating & Modifying Packages.


aur S & M :: forum rules :: Community Ethos
Resources for Women, POC, LGBT*, and allies

Offline

#11 2015-02-01 17:16:55

falconindy
Developer
From: New York, USA
Registered: 2009-10-22
Posts: 4,111
Website

Re: Trying to build pacman ...

One has to wonder why you're trying to build pacman, especially if you're unfamiliar with makepkg and the build process. Care to enlighten us as to what your actual goal is here?

Offline

#12 2015-02-01 17:31:12

maggie
Member
Registered: 2011-02-12
Posts: 255

Re: Trying to build pacman ...

falconindy wrote:

One has to wonder why you're trying to build pacman, especially if you're unfamiliar with makepkg and the build process. Care to enlighten us as to what your actual goal is here?

To build the package from ABS.

 cd . && /bin/sh /scratch/packages/pacman/trunk/src/pacman-4.2.0/build-aux/missing automake-1.14 --foreign Makefile
/scratch/packages/pacman/trunk/src/pacman-4.2.0/build-aux/missing: line 81: automake-1.14: command not found
WARNING: 'automake-1.14' is missing on your system.
         You should only need it if you modified 'Makefile.am' or
         'configure.ac' or m4 files included by 'configure.ac'.
         The 'automake' program is part of the GNU Automake package:
         <http://www.gnu.org/software/automake>
         It also requires GNU Autoconf, GNU m4 and Perl in order to run:
         <http://www.gnu.org/software/autoconf>
         <http://www.gnu.org/software/m4/>
         <http://www.perl.org/>
Makefile:849: recipe for target 'Makefile.in' failed
make: *** [Makefile.in] Error 127
==> ERROR: A failure occurred in build().
    Aborting...

Offline

#13 2015-02-01 18:04:24

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 11,845
Website

Re: Trying to build pacman ...

To build from ABS you should have base-devel installed.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ar … tall_tools


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MAG X570S TORPEDO MAX // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#14 2015-02-01 18:07:53

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 11,544

Re: Trying to build pacman ...

WorMzy wrote:

To build from ABS you should have base-devel installed.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ar … tall_tools

Base devel isn't the issue. The dist tarball was generated with automake 1.14, so that's what it's looking for. We're on automake 1.15 now. Related bug report: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/43655

Offline

#15 2015-02-02 14:25:42

IMBJR
Member
From: INDCMPLX
Registered: 2014-03-16
Posts: 88

Re: Trying to build pacman ...

@falconindy Pure curiosity. I was interested to examine how the alpm library is used and decided to attempt a build first.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB