You are not logged in.

#1 2006-03-20 21:21:09

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

how modular is too modular?

As i was recently recompiling my kernel, i started wondering if i should turn more of the thing i need into modules instead of buidling them into the kernel. I started trying to do this, but i found that there would be a crazy number of modules. Now i don't have the actual number of modules it would turn out to be, but here is the config from a 2.6.15.6 kernel with archck7
http://people.os-zen.net/shadowhand/sym_kernel/modular
here is the config i'm using right now
http://people.os-zen.net/shadowhand/sym_kernel/default

At what point does this become ridiculous? Can do anything to performance? Also this is on a laptop, so it theoretically shouldn't it save battery life? I haven't tried this kernel yet because i'm afraid that my system might not boot.

Offline

#2 2006-03-21 00:13:14

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: how modular is too modular?

i did it and know my keyboard doesn't work... I have a usb keyboard.

Offline

#3 2006-03-21 08:20:36

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: how modular is too modular?

modprobe usbhid

honestly, so long as you have all your hardware enabled ,it makes no difference whatsoever whether they are modules or inbuilt.

It's a matter of loading things when the kernel starts, or when you load modules at boot.

Seriously, if you're that worried, flip a coin.

echo 'import random; print random.choice(["heads","tails"])' | python

iphitus

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB