You are not logged in.

#1 2015-02-10 23:08:25

emraldinho
Member
Registered: 2015-02-10
Posts: 7

uname vs real arch linux system

Hi,

I just installed arch and trying to compile something. I get this error:

$ make
make -C /lib/modules/3.14.29-1-lts/build M=/home/emre/homeworks/hw2/part1 modules
make[1]: *** /lib/modules/3.14.29-1-lts/build: No such file or directory.  Stop.
Makefile:3: recipe for target 'all' failed
make: *** [all] Error 2

I tried the following:

'$ uname -r'  command gives me: '3.14.29-1-lts' but my actual module is in '3.14.32-1-lts'

so I guess my uname is wrong? How can I change it? or Is my system broken?

Thank you for help!

Best

Offline

#2 2015-02-10 23:12:44

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 29,669
Website

Re: uname vs real arch linux system

I suspect you simply haven't rebooted since your last kernel upgrade.  The modules installed match the kernel installed, but uname reports the currently running kernel.


To Be A Dev: propose idea; invite feedback; mock, ridicule, and ostracize any critical feedback; but be warm and kind to those who kiss your ring.

Offline

#3 2015-02-10 23:13:58

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 19,876

Re: uname vs real arch linux system

Stop.

What is the output of pacman -Qi linux   ?
It might be you have not rebooted since you updated your kernel.  It might also be that your boot partition had not been mounted when you last updated your kernel.

Edit:  Snaked by Trilby. smile

Last edited by ewaller (2015-02-10 23:14:39)


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#4 2015-02-10 23:19:01

emraldinho
Member
Registered: 2015-02-10
Posts: 7

Re: uname vs real arch linux system

yes, I don't think I have rebooted:

$ pacman -Qi linux 
Name           : linux
Version        : 3.18.6-1
Description    : The Linux kernel and modules
Architecture   : i686
URL            : http://www.kernel.org/
Licenses       : GPL2
Groups         : base
Provides       : kernel26=3.18.6


it gives me a whole different version though. I have installed yaourt and been playing with that. I wonder if that has something to do with this?

Offline

#5 2015-02-10 23:24:38

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 19,876

Re: uname vs real arch linux system

Okay, do reboot.   Then let's compare the versions returned by uname -a and by pacman -Qi linux
Once those agree, we can worry about the correct way to build modules.   (Hint, let's try to not use make by hand).

BTW, can you post your /etc/fstab file?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#6 2015-02-10 23:26:40

jpgg
Member
Registered: 2014-01-15
Posts: 43

Re: uname vs real arch linux system

He seems to be using the linux-lts kernel. So, he should instead use the command pacman -Qi linux-lts.

Offline

#7 2015-02-10 23:28:06

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 19,876

Re: uname vs real arch linux system

jpgg wrote:

He seems to be using the linux-lts kernel. So, he should instead use the command pacman -Qi linux-lts.

Good catch  -- Thanks.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#8 2015-02-10 23:35:59

Xyne
Administrator/PM
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,965
Website

Re: uname vs real arch linux system

emraldinho wrote:

it gives me a whole different version though. I have installed yaourt and been playing with that. I wonder if that has something to do with this?

If you have updated your system with yaourt then yes.


You can compare the last boot time to the installation time of the kernel with the following commands (use "linux" instead of "linux-lts" if you're using the normal kernel):

last -x | sed -n '/boot/{p;q;}'
pacman -Qi linux-lts | grep 'Install Date'

My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#9 2015-02-10 23:54:12

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: uname vs real arch linux system

I use 'uptime -s' instead of last + sed.

Offline

#10 2015-02-23 19:50:10

Xyne
Administrator/PM
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,965
Website

Re: uname vs real arch linux system

karol wrote:

I use 'uptime -s' instead of last + sed.

*makes note*

Nice smile


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#11 2015-03-05 12:05:35

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 4,092

Re: uname vs real arch linux system

derp, posted in wrong thread, too many open tabs!

Last edited by Mr.Elendig (2015-03-05 12:06:14)


Evil #archlinux@libera.chat channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB