You are not logged in.

#1 2006-03-24 04:24:06

stingray
Member
From: Lima, Peru SA
Registered: 2006-03-24
Posts: 188

My Laptop will not shutdown... SOLVED!

I'm new to linux and Arch (And Loving It!)  Learning more every day. 

My laptop does not "shutdown" when I shut it down.  It goes all the way through rc.shutdown with out any problem, Displays " > POWER OFF", in color, then displays "Power Off." (I think) in grey, and just sits there.  At wich point I have to push my power button to power down.

No big deal, but...

Here is my rc.shutdown:

#!/bin/bash
#
# /etc/rc.shutdown
#

. /etc/rc.conf
. /etc/rc.d/functions

# avoid staircase effect
/bin/stty onlcr

echo " "
printhl "Initiating Shutdown..."
echo " "

if [ -x /etc/rc.local.shutdown ]; then
    /etc/rc.local.shutdown
fi

if [ "$PREVLEVEL" = "3" -o "$PREVLEVEL" = "5" ]; then
    # Shutdown daemons
    let i=${#DAEMONS[@]}
    while [[ i -ge 0 ]]; do
        if [[ `echo ${DAEMONS[$i]} | grep '^[^!]' | wc -l` -eq 1 ]]; then
            /etc/rc.d/${DAEMONS[$i]#@} stop
        fi
        let i=i-1
    done
    # find any leftover daemons and shut them down
    if [ -d /var/run/daemons ]; then
        for daemon in `ls /var/run/daemons`; do
            /etc/rc.d/$daemon stop
        done
    fi
fi

# Terminate all processes
stat_busy "Sending SIGTERM To Processes"
/sbin/killall5 -15 &> /dev/null
/bin/sleep 5
stat_done

stat_busy "Sending SIGKILL To Processes"
/sbin/killall5 -9 &> /dev/null
/bin/sleep 1
stat_done

stat_busy "Saving Random Seed"
/bin/dd if=/dev/urandom of=/var/run/random-seed count=1 bs=512 2> /dev/null
stat_done

stat_busy "Saving System Clock"
if [ "$HARDWARECLOCK" = "UTC" ]; then
    /sbin/hwclock --utc --systohc
else
    /sbin/hwclock --localtime --systohc
fi
stat_done

# Write to wtmp file before unmounting
/sbin/halt -w

stat_busy "Deactivating Swap"
/sbin/swapoff -a
stat_done

stat_busy "Unmounting Filesystems"
/bin/umount -a
stat_done

if [ "$USELVM" = "yes" -o "$USELVM" = "YES" ]; then
    if [ -f /etc/lvmtab -a -x /sbin/vgchange ]; then
        stat_busy "Deactivating LVM1 groups"
        /sbin/vgchange -a n
        stat_done
    elif [ -d /etc/lvm -a -x /sbin/lvm ]; then
        /bin/mount -n -t sysfs none /sys 2>/dev/null
        if [ -d /sys/block ]; then
            stat_busy "Deactivating LVM2 groups"
            /sbin/lvm vgchange --ignorelockingfailure -a n
            stat_done
            umount /sys
        fi
    fi
fi

stat_busy "Remounting Root Filesystem Read-only"
/bin/mount -n -o remount,ro /
stat_done

# Power off or reboot
if [ "$RUNLEVEL" = "0" ]; then
    printsep
    printhl "${C_H2}POWER OFF"
    /sbin/poweroff -d -f -h -i
else
    printsep
    printhl "${C_H2}REBOOTING"
    /sbin/reboot -d -f -i
fi

# End of file
# vim: set ts=2 noet:

I have tired "# sudo shutdown -h now" same thing, just sits there.

No problem rebooting....

Thanks for your help!

Offline

#2 2006-03-24 05:48:50

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: My Laptop will not shutdown... SOLVED!

Install acpid:
# pacman -S acpid

Then add acpid to the DAEMONS array of /etc/rc.conf
That should made your laptop turn off after shutting down. It'll work on the next boot up unless you start the daemon now with:
# /etc/rc.d/acpid start

Offline

#3 2006-03-24 05:49:10

_Gandalf_
Member
Registered: 2006-01-12
Posts: 735

Re: My Laptop will not shutdown... SOLVED!

Try booting your laptop with acpi=off, if you donno what i mean, then if you're using Grub, edit /boot/grub/menu.lst and add to the line that says kernel /boot/vmlinuz26 ... acpi=off
if you're using lilo i leave the answer then to another member as i never used lilo...

Good luck and Welcome to Linux smile

Offline

#4 2006-03-24 16:01:27

stingray
Member
From: Lima, Peru SA
Registered: 2006-03-24
Posts: 188

Re: My Laptop will not shutdown... SOLVED!

Snowman wrote:

Install acpid:
# pacman -S acpid

Then add acpid to the DAEMONS array of /etc/rc.conf
That should made your laptop turn off after shutting down. It'll work on the next boot up unless you start the daemon now with:
# /etc/rc.d/acpid start

ok, I installed acpid, and when I run it, I get the following:

# /etc/rc.d/acpid start
acpid: can't open /proc/acpi/event: No such file or directory

So I installed acpi "pacman -S acpi" and tried again, same thing.

_Gandalf_ wrote:

Try booting your laptop with acpi=off, if you donno what i mean, then if you're using Grub, edit /boot/grub/menu.lst and add to the line that says kernel /boot/vmlinuz26 ... acpi=off
if you're using lilo i leave the answer then to another member as i never used lilo...

Good luck and Welcome to Linux smile

Then I tried this: Here is my menu.lst now.

# Config file for GRUB - The GNU GRand Unified Bootloader
# /boot/grub/menu.lst

# DEVICE NAME CONVERSIONS 
#
#  Linux           Grub
# -------------------------
#  /dev/fd0        (fd0)
#  /dev/hda        (hd0)
#  /dev/hdb2       (hd1,1)
#  /dev/hda3       (hd0,2)
#

#  FRAMEBUFFER RESOLUTION SETTINGS
#     +-------------------------------------------------+
#          | 640x480    800x600    1024x768   1280x1024
#      ----+--------------------------------------------
#      256 | 0x301=769  0x303=771  0x305=773   0x307=775
#      32K | 0x310=784  0x313=787  0x316=790   0x319=793
#      64K | 0x311=785  0x314=788  0x317=791   0x31A=794
#      16M | 0x312=786  0x315=789  0x318=792   0x31B=795
#     +-------------------------------------------------+

# general configuration:
timeout   0
default   0
color light-blue/black light-cyan/blue

# boot sections follow
# each is implicitly numbered from 0 in the order of appearance below
#
# TIP: If you want a 1024x768 framebuffer, add "vga=773" to your kernel line.
#
#-*

# (0) Arch Linux
title  Arch Linux
root   (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/hda3 ro acpi=off
initrd /initrd26.img

But still no shut down.  It still says

 > POWER OFF
Power Down.
 

Thanks again for your help!

Offline

#5 2006-03-24 16:12:21

_Gandalf_
Member
Registered: 2006-01-12
Posts: 735

Re: My Laptop will not shutdown... SOLVED!

For Snowman idea, make sure you start acpid before hal & dbus in rc.conf, look at mine

DAEMONS=(gensplash @syslog-ng acpid dbus hal @network @networkmanager @ntpdate @netfs @crond @portmap @alsa @laptop-mode @cpudyn @powersaved @freepopsd)

Offline

#6 2006-03-24 18:06:59

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: My Laptop will not shutdown... SOLVED!

I answered to similar problem today on Polish archlinux forums. Perhaps this is your problem too. Read this guide under "Reboot issues with notebook".

BTW Next time, please, post your laptop model and read tuxmobile guides first.

Offline

#7 2006-03-25 03:19:52

stingray
Member
From: Lima, Peru SA
Registered: 2006-03-24
Posts: 188

Re: My Laptop will not shutdown... SOLVED!

Hey guys, thanks for all your help, and patience  with all the Newbies like me!
Wow, this is great, learning more every day.

Ok, my problem is not a show stopper or very important, more of a learning opportunity for me.

_Gandalf_ wrote:

For Snowman idea, make sure you start acpid before hal & dbus in rc.conf, look at mine

DAEMONS=(gensplash @syslog-ng acpid dbus hal @network @networkmanager @ntpdate @netfs @crond @portmap @alsa @laptop-mode @cpudyn @powersaved @freepopsd)

Hey, I didn't have dbus or hal in my DEAMONS, and I didn't have acpid before it was suggested (again Newbie...).  So added them and read up on them a little to get a feel for what they are.  (dbus & hal were installed, just not in my deamons) Now I have

DAEMONS=(syslog-ng acpid dbus hal network netfs crond !archstatsrc alsa cups !kdm !gdm)

I still get this with acpi tries to load:

acpid: can't open /proc/acpi/event: No such file or directory

So I'm going to try to get acpi working on my computer.  I have removed the acpi=off from my "kernel" line in menu.lst, and also tried acp=force to try to start it.  I'm searching the forums for info about "acpi" now.

While searching I ran across this:
Acpi Problem, Arch won't Shutdown SOLVED
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … acpi+event

phoinix wrote:

Acpi Problem, Arch won't Shutdown SOLVED
Well Problem SOLVED!!!  8)  8)  8)  8)

http://iphitus.loudas.com/archck.php

I applied the 2.6.13-archck5 patch and it worked!

I have looked at archck and would like to give it a try, but I think that is still a little beyond my abilities at the moment. I'll have to work through the documentation about patching kernels, abs, makepkg, etc...  So once I get to that point this shutdown problem may go away.

Thanks again!

Offline

#8 2006-03-25 03:20:54

stingray
Member
From: Lima, Peru SA
Registered: 2006-03-24
Posts: 188

Re: My Laptop will not shutdown... SOLVED!

lanrat wrote:

I answered to similar problem today on Polish archlinux forums. Perhaps this is your problem too. Read this guide under "Reboot issues with notebook".

BTW Next time, please, post your laptop model and read tuxmobile guides first.

Thanks for your help!

I'm using a SAGER notebook computer, I think the model is SAGER NP8550, it has no model on it anywhere, it's about 4 or 5 years old. Still works great, and now even better on Linux!

I checked out the guide you suggested, and played around with the "reboot=b" and found info about it in the other link you provided.  Thanks for the link! I looked up all kinds of stuff and am learning more and more every day about Linux.

But my reboot works, it's shutdown that does not work, and I didn't find any info on a "shutdown=?" thing for appending to the kernal line in menu.lst.

Thanks again for all your help!

Offline

#9 2006-03-25 04:39:32

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: My Laptop will not shutdown... SOLVED!

Try with acpi=on

Maybe your laptop use apm instead of acpi. Probably google will give you that information. In that case, use apm=on

Offline

#10 2006-03-25 13:43:44

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: My Laptop will not shutdown... SOLVED!

Since your notebook is a few years old you should try apm as Snowman suggested.

And try searching dmesg output for some information about acpi/apm.

You can read about boot options in this document.

The `reboot=' Argument

This option controls the type of reboot that Linux will do when it resets the computer (typically via /sbin/init handling a Control-Alt-Delete). The default as of v2.0 kernels is to do a `cold' reboot (i.e. full reset, BIOS does memory check, etc.) instead of a `warm' reboot (i.e. no full reset, no memory check). It was changed to be cold by default since that tends to work on cheap/broken hardware that fails to reboot when a warm reboot is requested. To get the old behaviour (i.e. warm reboots) use reboot=w or in fact any word that starts with w will work.

Other accepted options are `c', `b', `h', and `s', for cold, bios, hard, and SMP respectively. The `s' takes an optional digit to specify which CPU should handle the reboot. Options can be combined where it makes sense, i.e. reboot=b,s2

Offline

#11 2006-03-25 14:02:56

The_Nerd
Member
From: Syracuse, NY / Baltimore, MD
Registered: 2005-11-30
Posts: 134
Website

Re: My Laptop will not shutdown... SOLVED!

"apm=power-off" minus the quotes, and appended onto the end of my kernel boot line works just peachy for me. i didnt have to mess with the acpi stuff or anythign else, just some buggy bios's will respond to apm calls but not acpi for whatever reason.. good luck!

Offline

#12 2006-03-25 14:17:47

stingray
Member
From: Lima, Peru SA
Registered: 2006-03-24
Posts: 188

Re: My Laptop will not shutdown... SOLVED!

Snowman wrote:

Try with acpi=on

Maybe your laptop use apm instead of acpi. Probably google will give you that information. In that case, use apm=on

Ok, gave that a try, same thing. I'll google for Linux on a SAGER NP8550 and see what I can find. 

Thank you for the help!

Offline

#13 2006-03-25 17:07:59

stingray
Member
From: Lima, Peru SA
Registered: 2006-03-24
Posts: 188

Re: My Laptop will not shutdown... SOLVED!

The_Nerd wrote:

"apm=power-off" minus the quotes, and appended onto the end of my kernel boot line works just peacy for me. i didnt have to mess with the acpi stuff or anythign else, just some buggy bios's will respond to apm calls but not acpi for whatever reason.. good luck!

That did it!   big_smile  Adding "apm=power-off".

Thanks for all the help!  Do I mark this thread as Solved, or does someone else?

Also, I asume that "acpi" does not work becasue my laptop is older, would I need to keep "dbus" and "hal" in my DEAMONS?

Offline

#14 2006-03-25 17:28:19

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: My Laptop will not shutdown... SOLVED!

If you want to mark the thread as solved, just edit your initial post.

You can comment out ( put a ! in front) the  dbus and hal daemon. I assume you don't use any apps that needs them.

Offline

#15 2006-03-25 17:36:47

stingray
Member
From: Lima, Peru SA
Registered: 2006-03-24
Posts: 188

Re: My Laptop will not shutdown... SOLVED!

Snowman wrote:

If you want to mark the thread as solved, just edit your initial post.

You can comment out ( put a ! in front) the  dbus and hal daemon. I assume you don't use any apps that needs them.

Ok, good, thank you!

Offline

#16 2006-03-26 21:57:04

The_Nerd
Member
From: Syracuse, NY / Baltimore, MD
Registered: 2005-11-30
Posts: 134
Website

Re: My Laptop will not shutdown... SOLVED!

glad i could help ya

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB