You are not logged in.

#1 2006-03-22 20:57:38

soloport
Member
Registered: 2005-03-01
Posts: 442

Arch repository 'current' and 'extra' moved?

Arch repository for 'current' and 'extra' has apparently moved.

Mirror cron job:
rsync -az --delete rsync.archlinux.org::current <local_path_to_current>
rsync -az --delete rsync.archlinux.org::extra <local_path_to_extra>

Results in:
@ERROR: Unknown module 'current'
rsync error: error starting client-server protocol (code 5) at main.c(1171)
@ERROR: Unknown module 'extra'
rsync error: error starting client-server protocol (code 5) at main.c(1171)

Updated cron job (needed to add 'ftp/'); Also updated wiki:
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Local_Mirror
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/How … me_Network

FYI -- since the change was not announced (anywhere I could see)

[EDIT] Apparently 'current' is now a soft-link, so one has to add the -L option to rsync...  roll

Updated the wiki *again*:
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Local_Mirror
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/How … me_Network

:?

Offline

#2 2006-03-24 17:17:57

zezaz
Member
From: Bordeaux, France
Registered: 2004-04-26
Posts: 80
Website

Re: Arch repository 'current' and 'extra' moved?

Hi soloport,

I have the same problem here, and unfortunately the -L flag does not help:

$ /usr/bin/rsync -avz -L --delete rsync.archlinux.org::current /home/ftp/archlinux/current
@ERROR: Unknown module 'current'
rsync error: error starting client-server protocol (code 5) at main.c(1171)

Any idea?

[EDIT] Oops, i hadoverlooked the ftp/ prefix. Sorry!  :oops:

Offline

#3 2006-03-27 16:33:37

kozaki
Member
From: London >. < Paris
Registered: 2005-06-13
Posts: 671
Website

Re: Arch repository 'current' and 'extra' moved?

soloport wrote:

Apparently 'current' is now a soft-link, so one has to add the -L option to rsync...  roll

Updated the wiki *again*:
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Local_Mirror
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/How … me_Network

Thanks a lot soloport big_smile
Have 5 boxes to upgrade here & haven't figured out what was happening to current & extra repos as I did not see any notice of that changes somewhere.
When I tried with ftp/ first it did not work, as i tried it first manually on current only hmm


Seeded last month: Arch 50 gig, derivatives 1 gig
Desktop @3.3GHz 8 gig RAM, linux-ck
laptop #1 Atom 2 gig RAM, Arch linux stock i686 (6H w/ 6yrs old battery smile) #2: ARM Tegra K1, 4 gig RAM, ChrOS
Atom Z520 2 gig RAM, OMV (Debian 7) kernel 3.16 bpo on SDHC | PGP Key: 0xFF0157D9

Offline

#4 2006-03-27 18:47:01

soloport
Member
Registered: 2005-03-01
Posts: 442

Re: Arch repository 'current' and 'extra' moved?

Since 'rsync rsync.archlinux.org::ftp/' doesn't show what 'current' is soft-linked to, I looked for it empirically (diff) and found:
$ rsync rsync.archlinux.org::ftp/current/os/i686/
matches:
$ rsync rsync.archlinux.org::ftp/0.8/os/i686/

So, apparently 'released' (the other soft link) links to 0.7.1 and 'current' links to 0.8 -- interesting...

(So, for example, if you don't feel like using rsync with the '-L' option, you *could* change your mirror script to point to 0.8  Of course, you'd have to change your script again in the future.  roll )

Just another FYI.

Offline

#5 2006-03-27 18:53:07

_Gandalf_
Member
Registered: 2006-01-12
Posts: 735

Re: Arch repository 'current' and 'extra' moved?

here's a little *incomplete* script i did very fast today before i re-installed, it works good

#!/bin/sh

# General Configs
LOCK_FILE="/var/lock/mirror_repo.lock"
LOG_FILE="/var/log/mirror_repo.log"
BASE_DIR="/home/wael/Files/Repo" # Without Trailing / !!
USER="wael"
GROUP="wael"
PROGRAM_NAME=`dirname $0`

function quit_script()
{
    rm -f $LOCK_FILE
    if [[ "$1" != "" ]]; then
        exit $1
    else
        exit 0
    fi
}
    
function usage()
{
    echo "Usage :"
}

function sync_repo()
{
    if [ "$1" == "" -o "$2" == "" ]; then
        echo "Must specify source and destination"
        return 1
    fi
    echo "Syncing $1 with $2" >> $LOG_FILE
    rsync -avuzL --delete --progress $1 $2 >> $LOG_FILE 2>&1
}

function current()
{
    sync_repo "rsync.archlinux.org::ftp/current" "$BASE_DIR/"
    chown -R $USER.$GROUP $BASE_DIR/current >> $LOG_FILE 2>&1
}

function extra()
{
    sync_repo "rsync.archlinux.org::ftp/extra" "$BASE_DIR/"
    chown -R $USER.$GROUP $BASE_DIR/extra >> $LOG_FILE 2>&1
}

function testing()
{
    sync_repo "rsync.archlinux.org::ftp/testing" "$BASE_DIR/"
    chown -R $USER.$GROUP $BASE_DIR/testing >> $LOG_FILE 2>&1
}

function unstable()
{
    sync_repo "rsync.archlinux.org::ftp/unstable" "$BASE_DIR/"
    chown -R $USER.$GROUP $BASE_DIR/unstable >> $LOG_FILE 2>&1
}

function community()
{
    sync_repo "rsync.archlinux.org::ftp/community" "$BASE_DIR/"
    chown -R $USER.$GROUP $BASE_DIR/community >> $LOG_FILE 2>&1
}

# Are we root or not?
if [ `whoami` != "root" ]; then
    echo "Only root can run this script"
    exit 1
fi

# Are we already running ?
if [[ -f $LOCK_FILE ]]; then
    echo "$PROGRAM_NAME already running, if you're sure that it's not running"
    echo "Please remove $LOCK_FILE"
    exit 1
else
    echo "Repo Mirroring started at `date`" >> $LOG_FILE
    touch $LOCK_FILE
fi

if [[ ! -x /usr/bin/rsync ]]; then
    echo "Please install rsync..."
    quit_script 1
fi
    
if [[ "$1" == "" ]]; then
    sync="all"
else
    sync="$1"
fi

# TODO case

community
current
extra
testing
unstable

quit_script 0

Offline

#6 2006-03-28 21:56:15

apeiro
Daddy
From: Victoria, BC, Canada
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 771
Website

Re: Arch repository 'current' and 'extra' moved?

Sorry, a misconfiguration on my part.  The original targets (::current) should work now.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB