You are not logged in.

#1 2015-07-08 23:49:56

dockland
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2015-06-06
Posts: 861

x2go - Headless - Change screen resolution

I installed and configured x2go @ 1024*768 and shut the computer down, and started it in another room, no monitor, no keyboard or mouse.
Now the resolution is stuck @ 1024*768 regardless changing it in x2go client. How do i change that back to 1920*1200 @ 60Hz?
And how do i kill xfce "remote" if i press CTRL ALT F2 it will killx on my local computer i presume?

I have restarted both my computer and the remote one.
I tried to log on via shell but every change i did there gave me the answer e.g:

$ xrandr --newmode "1920x1080_60.00" 148.35 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
Can't open display 

I possess a device, in my pocket, that is capable of accessing the entirety of information known to man.
I use it to look at funny pictures of cats and to argue with strangers.

Offline

#2 2015-07-09 15:47:22

teckk
Member
Registered: 2013-02-21
Posts: 519

Re: x2go - Headless - Change screen resolution

Something like:

xrandr --output VGA-1 --mode 1920x1080

Look at the examples in man xrandr

And how do i kill xfce "remote" if i press CTRL ALT F2 it will killx on my local computer i presume?

ssh into remote machine and kill whatever you want to. Look at man ssh

Maybe tell some more about what you are trying to do.

Offline

#3 2015-07-09 16:54:08

dockland
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2015-06-06
Posts: 861

Re: x2go - Headless - Change screen resolution

teckk wrote:

Something like:

xrandr --output VGA-1 --mode 1920x1080

Look at the examples in man xrandr

And how do i kill xfce "remote" if i press CTRL ALT F2 it will killx on my local computer i presume?

ssh into remote machine and kill whatever you want to. Look at man ssh

Maybe tell some more about what you are trying to do.

I'm trying to change the native resolution on my headless server. Changing the resolution in x2go application [The connection settings] only changes the application window size, not the resolution.
The options is unavalible due to error "No monitor detected" when i try to use any xradr -output commands. As in xfce-settings. The display option doesnt show anything, nor giving me any values to change, which is logical o to the fact it doesn't have any monitor plugged in.

Last edited by dockland (2015-07-09 16:59:58)


I possess a device, in my pocket, that is capable of accessing the entirety of information known to man.
I use it to look at funny pictures of cats and to argue with strangers.

Offline

#4 2015-07-09 17:29:33

teckk
Member
Registered: 2013-02-21
Posts: 519

Re: x2go - Headless - Change screen resolution

I've never used x2go.
You'll need to read it's docs. See man x2go
http://code.x2go.org/doc/x2goclient/man … ent.1.html

I'm trying to change the native resolution on my headless server.

ssh into it and change it.

 ssh 192.168.0.1

Then find what resolutions are available

xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 4096 x 4096
VGA-1 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 531mm x 298mm
   1920x1080     59.93*+
   1600x1200     60.00  
   1680x1050     59.95  
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02  
   1440x900      74.98    59.89  
   1152x864      75.00  
   1024x768      75.08    70.07    60.00  
   800x600       72.19    75.00    60.32    56.25  
   640x480       75.00    72.81    60.00  
   720x400       70.08

Change it to what you want.

xrandr --output VGA-1 --mode 720x400

You can forward X with something like

ssh 192.168.0.1 -XY rox

see man ssh

Looks like x2go uses ssh so you'll need ssh working. If you can change resolution on the remote machine with above, then ssh is working ok.

I installed and configured x2go @ 1024*768 and shut the computer down, and started it in another room, no monitor, no keyboard or mouse.
Now the resolution is stuck @ 1024*768 regardless changing it in x2go client. How do i change that back to 1920*1200 @ 60Hz?

See above, either hook a monitor to the server or ssh into it and change it.

Offline

#5 2015-07-09 17:51:49

dockland
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2015-06-06
Posts: 861

Re: x2go - Headless - Change screen resolution

teckk wrote:

I've never used x2go.
You'll need to read it's docs. See man x2go
http://code.x2go.org/doc/x2goclient/man … ent.1.html

I'm trying to change the native resolution on my headless server.

ssh into it and change it.

 ssh 192.168.0.1

Then find what resolutions are available

xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 4096 x 4096
VGA-1 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 531mm x 298mm
   1920x1080     59.93*+
   1600x1200     60.00  
   1680x1050     59.95  
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02  
   1440x900      74.98    59.89  
   1152x864      75.00  
   1024x768      75.08    70.07    60.00  
   800x600       72.19    75.00    60.32    56.25  
   640x480       75.00    72.81    60.00  
   720x400       70.08

Change it to what you want.

xrandr --output VGA-1 --mode 720x400

You can forward X with something like

ssh 192.168.0.1 -XY rox

see man ssh

Looks like x2go uses ssh so you'll need ssh working. If you can change resolution on the remote machine with above, then ssh is working ok.

I installed and configured x2go @ 1024*768 and shut the computer down, and started it in another room, no monitor, no keyboard or mouse.
Now the resolution is stuck @ 1024*768 regardless changing it in x2go client. How do i change that back to 1920*1200 @ 60Hz?

See above, either hook a monitor to the server or ssh into it and change it.

My output:

[nuc@nuc ~]$ xrandr
Can't open display 
[nuc@nuc ~]$ 

I possess a device, in my pocket, that is capable of accessing the entirety of information known to man.
I use it to look at funny pictures of cats and to argue with strangers.

Offline

#6 2015-07-09 17:57:10

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 30,424
Website

Re: x2go - Headless - Change screen resolution

This is to be expected: X isn't running on the remote machine...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#7 2015-07-09 18:03:14

dockland
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2015-06-06
Posts: 861

Re: x2go - Headless - Change screen resolution

jasonwryan wrote:

This is to be expected: X isn't running on the remote machine...

But. If i connect with x2go it will in fact show my local desktop, with all the icons and background and so on. Not a "default" Xfce4 session, so to speak. And if i do plug in a monitor, all the display options is again accessible. I was just curios if it's possible to solve "headless"
If it's not possible, then i guess i have to attach a monitor to the nuc and change whatever i need and restart it. But it's a bit complicated. I was hoping to not have to do that.


I possess a device, in my pocket, that is capable of accessing the entirety of information known to man.
I use it to look at funny pictures of cats and to argue with strangers.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB