You are not logged in.

#1 2006-04-05 14:18:38

riwa
Member
From: Lund, Sweden
Registered: 2006-04-04
Posts: 214

Setting up /etc/hosts (SOLVED)

How can I do that. Every time I launch Xfce4 I get a message about adding my name to the file. I add it like:

213.112.235.47 wilma.bredbandsbolaget.se wilma

And the message disappears but some programs dont work. Any suggestions?


If you must have must. Have must.
- DKE supporters about this wonderful swedish soda.

Offline

#2 2006-04-05 14:48:39

Chman
Member
Registered: 2006-01-31
Posts: 169
Website

Re: Setting up /etc/hosts (SOLVED)

/etc/hosts already have a line like this :

127.0.0.1    localhost.localdomain    localhost 

Simply add the same line (do not remove the first) and change "localhost" and "localdomain" by your domain & host name... 127.0.0.1 is the local IP, you shouldn't change it. For exemple, here's mine :

127.0.0.1    a11w.hiddenbox        a11w

My host is a11w and my domain is hiddenbox.

smile

Offline

#3 2006-04-05 14:53:32

riwa
Member
From: Lund, Sweden
Registered: 2006-04-04
Posts: 214

Re: Setting up /etc/hosts (SOLVED)

Im not sure that my localdomain is bredbandbolaget. How can I verify that?


If you must have must. Have must.
- DKE supporters about this wonderful swedish soda.

Offline

#4 2006-04-05 18:28:54

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,322

Re: Setting up /etc/hosts (SOLVED)

Just put the hostname you use in etc/rc.conf at the end of the line with localhost in /etc/hosts and you'll be fine.
The code below shows the way i have set it up.

networking part of etc/rc.conf

#
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# NETWORKING
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
#
HOSTNAME="julius"
#

/etc/hosts

#
# /etc/hosts: static lookup table for host names
#

#<ip-address>    <hostname.domain.org>    <hostname>
127.0.0.1        localhost.localdomain    localhost julius
# End of file

Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#5 2006-04-05 18:32:04

riwa
Member
From: Lund, Sweden
Registered: 2006-04-04
Posts: 214

Re: Setting up /etc/hosts (SOLVED)

Yeah, I already solved it. Sorry for not posting. Thanks anyway!


If you must have must. Have must.
- DKE supporters about this wonderful swedish soda.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB